1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Note 4 Update Issues

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Shane0524, Sep 13, 2016.

  1. Shane0524

    Shane0524 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016

    Sep 13, 2016
    8
    1
    16
    Male
    Hello, I'm trying to get 6.0 on my ATT note 4. When I go to the update screen it says software is up to date, try again in 667 hours, and does not let me proceed with the update. A few days ago I got the OTA update notification and downloaded it, but after it downloaded it disappeared and here I am stuck waiting 667 hours.

    please let me know what I can to to clear this time and get the update.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,933
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,933
    2,851
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    I have seen AT&T devices say to wait 24 hrs and check again. Yours is the first to say 667.
    If you continue to have update issues and happen to live near a Best Buy, the Samsung rep there can flash The OTA update for you.
    Only other thing I can think of to try would be a Cache partition wipe in recovery then reboot and try the Check for Updates again.
     
  3. Shane0524

    Shane0524 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016

    Sep 13, 2016
    8
    1
    16
    Male
    how do i do the cache wipe in recovery
     
  4. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,933
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,933
    2,851
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    With phone off, press and hold the power button + home + volume up until phone boots and you see blue "Recovery Booting" in upper left of screen then release power only. Continue holding the other two until it boots into Recovery.
    Use the volume down button to scroll to Wipe Cache then press the power button to select it.
    After you Wipe the cache partition, reboot.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  5. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,933
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,933
    2,851
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Are you currently on the AT&T network with a AT&T sim?
    AT&T often ties OTA updates to a active sim. If you use a AT&T device on a different network, it usually will not receive updates.
     
  6. Shane0524

    Shane0524 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016

    Sep 13, 2016
    8
    1
    16
    Male
    yes im on att currently, also the cache wipe made no difference to the time, but thanks for the info
     
  7. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,933
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,933
    2,851
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Mikestony likes this.
  8. Shane0524

    Shane0524 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016

    Sep 13, 2016
    8
    1
    16
    Male
  9. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,933
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,933
    2,851
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    You would need to know your current build, Settings-About Phone, to determine if you are missing any 5x updates
     
  10. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,933
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,933
    2,851
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Applying a update this way should not erase data.
    First part of the thread is about flashing stock 5.1
    You shouldn't need to do that part.
    Under Settings-ABOUT phone, what is listed for your build and baseband? They should be the same and need to know the last 3 characters
     
  11. Shane0524

    Shane0524 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016

    Sep 13, 2016
    8
    1
    16
    Male
    last three are DOI9 on both
     
  12. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,933
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,933
    2,851
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    All you would need is the last zip, PG7.
    The way I have did this is to download the zip file to my PC. Rename it "update.zip" without the quotes. Copy it to your SD card.
    Boot into recovery
    Select Apply Update from external storage
    Locate the update.zip file that you copied
    Press power to flash it.
     
  13. Shane0524

    Shane0524 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016

    Sep 13, 2016
    8
    1
    16
    Male
    ok ill try this later
     
    Jfalls63 likes this.
  14. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,933
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,933
    2,851
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
  15. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,933
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,933
    2,851
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    To be on the safe side, backup all your data just to be sure. I didn't loose data but you never know.

    It's also a good idea to do a factory reset after a large update. Most get by with just a cache wipe in recovery but I prefer to factory reset.
     
  16. Shane0524

    Shane0524 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016

    Sep 13, 2016
    8
    1
    16
    Male
    So I did a factory reset from 5.1.1 and got the over the air update to marshmellow. Now with the update my phone gets very glitchy and doesn't run so great. Also it burns through battery at an alarming rate. Will another factory reset from marshmellow help with these issues or amore I stuck with this?
     
  17. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,933
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    3,933
    2,851
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    I would factory reset again. Most can get by with a Cache wipe in recovery.
     
  18. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #42
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,399
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,399
    3,141
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    My Note 4 and my S5 both ran a bit slow for about 12 hours after the update to 6.x

    in both cases, a simple restart cleared it up faster...

    Neither one of them had any glitches, lost files or icons.
     

Share This Page

Loading...