1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Noticed Your X Being Slower?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kstuffer, Jul 26, 2010.

  1. kstuffer

    kstuffer Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    70
    2
    16
    I feel like the longer i have the phone, the slower it gets. the response time has a bit of lag now. anyone else experience this?

    also. any recommendations for a cpu monitoring app?
     

    Advertisement

  2. AlbinoGoldSheeP

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    36
    0
    15
    I had this problem but i installed launcher pro. Best choice ever. no lag what so ever but it takes a bit getting used to but its definitely worth it
     
  3. 10splaya22

    10splaya22 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    525
    51
    78
    Midlothian, Va
    +1 on the LauncherPro
     
  4. kkwan77

    kkwan77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    203
    1
    36
    By lag if you mean a major delay in input from the touchscreen then yes, I get this randomly on and off. (to the point where the touchscreen is unresponsive)
     
  5. ozzie2132

    ozzie2132 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I second this, use launcher pro it's much more cleaner and custimizable. Free in the market.
     
  6. Darkhan

    Darkhan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    122
    4
    36
    Also a system reboot every day or every other day seems to help.
     
  7. kstuffer

    kstuffer Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    70
    2
    16
    I have been using launcher pro as well. the lag happens sometimes when inputting text and opening/closing apps
     
  8. ctxx24

    ctxx24 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    623
    48
    68
    MID MICHIGAN
    Lets play a game called follow the leader.
     
  9. matty032

    matty032 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    302
    12
    48
    +1
     
  10. jangatang

    jangatang Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    98
    2
    16
    Student
    California & Kansas
    system reboot? by that, do you mean just power off the phone and turn it back on?

    and btw, my phone has the LauncherPro Plus installed and even with that it lags when I try to go from Text messaging back to the homescreen, it has considerable lag that i would like to fix..
     
  11. esn

    esn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    566
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    566
    48
    68
    construction
    South Jersey
    I have had lag from day one but it's not bad enough to worry about I am sure either 2.2 or some other update will fix the issues. The X is a great device not giving it up best phone I have had in years,
     
  12. xander66

    xander66 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    63
    6
    16
    Osmonitor is what I just downloaded today. it let's you see all processes and freeze individual processes. It also gives a handy little cpu usage indicator in the notification bar.
     
  13. ashykat

    ashykat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,076
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009

    Apr 27, 2009
    1,076
    127
    163
    Irvine, CA
    I rooted and use Autokiller. I've noticed less lag since.
     
  14. Darkhan

    Darkhan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    122
    4
    36

    Yes, just a simple power on/off seems to fix any lag for me.
     
  15. DrJD

    DrJD Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    109
    8
    36
    Did you change the memory settings for launcher pro? Once I did that, down to zero lag...
     
  16. gmandrew01

    gmandrew01 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    What did you change in the memory settings? what preset are you using? what individual settings did you change?
     
  17. EKG

    EKG Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    667
    103
    93
    Ummm...no? If anything my phone gets faster.
     
  18. teknonoob

    teknonoob Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    Firefighter
    Hawaii
    I noticed this issue when I used the widget for the Kayak app. Whenever I would wake my phone up and unlock the lock screen, the home screen would be unresponsive for 5-10 seconds so I just removed the widget and it fine now. BTW this is while using LP!
     
  19. dookie1

    dookie1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    236
    9
    36
    use a system info app to check cpu usage.

    i had the same problem and found that corporate directory (which i have no need for) was always at fault, trying up 80-90% of the cpu when i hadn't even started it. kill that task and voila...snappy as ever.

    so i rooted and removed it. haven't had lag since.
     
  20. butthead007

    butthead007 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    247
    28
    43
    I have to work?
    I noticed with the root done, it does use more processor time which contributes to lag. A reboot solves the issue.

    If you haven't rooted and still get lag, something else is taking up your processor cycles. You might benefit from a task killer.

    Use OSMonitor as one poster correctly stated. It's an awesome app and gives you a lot of information. You can kill apps and freeze them as well. Great app.

    BTW--if you do root, hit the /system/app directory from a terminal and type in ls. Motorola says there is no blur there? Umm.....bs.
     
  21. CyHawk

    CyHawk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    158
    8
    36
    Iowa
    I use System Panel Lite. Works nice.
     
  22. mysterygirl

    mysterygirl Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    33
    2
    16
    I also reboot each day--just power off and back on again. I started doing this when I had the Eris, which would suffer significant lag problems if I didn't. I don't think it's as necessary with the X (I don't seem to suffer much lag), but I do think it helps speed things up. It's the first thing I do with my phone each morning.
     
  23. dxflip

    dxflip Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    26
    7
    16
    I haven't had issues with mine, had it one for a few days, still smooth as ever maybe even smoother. I am using LauncherPro though.
     
  24. Mr.Manifesto

    Mr.Manifesto Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    36
    1
    16
    i use launcher pro and have rebooted every day (less than a week since i've had the X, granted) but so far so good.
     
  25. nofez

    nofez Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    31
    5
    16
    You guys with lag when you go to the Home screen, by any chance do you have QuickDesk installed? If so, try uninstalling it. It was giving me lag that got worse as the day progressed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...