1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Notification ringtone defaults

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Parshooter, Sep 13, 2012.

  1. Parshooter

    Parshooter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    228
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    228
    15
    58
    Home Health Aide supervisor
    Columbus OH
    I use a notification ringtone from Zedge. Now sometimes it defaults back to stock tone, and I have to reset the notification tone to the one from Zedge. Any idea of what's going on here? TIA
     

    Advertisement

  2. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,694
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,694
    34,075
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Are you setting the tone using the stock picker or with zedge?
     
  3. Parshooter

    Parshooter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    228
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    228
    15
    58
    Home Health Aide supervisor
    Columbus OH
    I've done both. Is one better than the other?
     
  4. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,694
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,694
    34,075
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Sometimes the when using the stock one this happens. Hmmm... let me go find an app for you that other users have had luck with. Be right back.
     
  5. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,694
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,694
    34,075
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Parshooter likes this.
  6. Parshooter

    Parshooter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    228
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    228
    15
    58
    Home Health Aide supervisor
    Columbus OH
    Thanks, I downloaded it and I'll give it a try.
     
  7. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,694
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,694
    34,075
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Let me know how it works out. If they start changing back again we'll look for something else.
     
  8. KENNECTED

    KENNECTED Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Question? Does this happen randomly or does this happen when your device is connected (or mounted if you use a mac) to your desktop?
     
  9. Parshooter

    Parshooter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    228
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    228
    15
    58
    Home Health Aide supervisor
    Columbus OH
    Randomly. I don't connect to my PC, but I do think it has happened after a charging sesion (wall outlet).
     
  10. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,694
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,694
    34,075
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Parshooter (wish I could say that about myself:D)

    I just noticed that this is in the Android Lounge which isn't a horrible place for it, but maybe this is a quirk with the Spectrum itself. If so, other device owners may have some thoughts on it.

    Would you like me to move this thread to the Spectrum forum?
     
  11. Parshooter

    Parshooter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    228
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    228
    15
    58
    Home Health Aide supervisor
    Columbus OH
    Sure, if you think it will help.
     
  12. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,694
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,694
    34,075
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Moved. I'll send a PM with a link in case you can't find it.:)
     
  13. death2all110

    death2all110 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #94
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1,996
    1,210
    313
    Male
    Systems Administrator Windows/Unix
    Illinois, US
    I've noticed this with multiple LG Devices, its an issue with LG's crap and its like it 'cant see' the sdcard, but at the same time, it still can. Its weird. Usually on the ally a reboot fixed it.
     
    Unforgiven likes this.
  14. finndo77

    finndo77 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    860
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    860
    107
    103
    Male
    Unix/VMware admin
    Richmond, VA
    I've noticed it before too, not sure if it happened before or after I moved my ringtones and notifications to the system partition.

    If you are rooted, give that a try as a fix.
    /system/media/audio/notifications
     
  15. jefboyardee

    jefboyardee Android Expert
    Rank:
     #68
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,526
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011

    Jan 18, 2011
    5,526
    1,785
    423
    I
     
  16. Parshooter

    Parshooter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    228
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    228
    15
    58
    Home Health Aide supervisor
    Columbus OH
    Well, just turned on my phone, checked my ringtones, and they are both set on the Verizon default tone. I re-set them using my Zedge app (which is where they originally came from) so I'll see what happens during the day (going to put it on the charger soon).
     
  17. scottfan81

    scottfan81 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    84
    18
    18
    I have the same issue
     
  18. Parshooter

    Parshooter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    228
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    228
    15
    58
    Home Health Aide supervisor
    Columbus OH
    I uninstalled Zedge but it's still happening. It switched itself yesterday without being charged or connected, but then it's ok this morning, after the phone has been off all night. Guess it's just a little inconvience I'll have to live with :rolleyes:
     
  19. death2all110

    death2all110 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #94
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1,996
    1,210
    313
    Male
    Systems Administrator Windows/Unix
    Illinois, US
    Its not app related. Seems to have to do with the SD card. But its not the card. Its the buggy OS. Move the notifications onto the system partition where the rest are and i bet it will be okay.
     
    Unforgiven likes this.
  20. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,694
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,694
    34,075
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    Can parshooter do this without being rooted?
     
  21. death2all110

    death2all110 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #94
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1,996
    1,210
    313
    Male
    Systems Administrator Windows/Unix
    Illinois, US
    I believe the \system\media\audio\notifications is writable even without root. However i could be wrong. I'm rooted, and on cm9 rom trying to get it to boot.
     
    Unforgiven likes this.
  22. Parshooter

    Parshooter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    228
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    228
    15
    58
    Home Health Aide supervisor
    Columbus OH
    I don't see anything that says "system". I have gone into settings/sounds/notifications, and reset it from there. Turned the phone off last night and this morning the notifications/ringtones are set correctly. Must be the "buggy os". Thanks for all the suggestions. :smokingsomb:
     
  23. MrB206

    MrB206 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,879
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    This is true. I have Go SMS installed and always use it to 'find' ringtones and music I want to apply for notifications... it always finds the files on my SD card, whereas stock is hit or miss.
     
  24. Parshooter

    Parshooter Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    228
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    228
    15
    58
    Home Health Aide supervisor
    Columbus OH
    Well, uninstalled Zedge, problem still exists. Installed Tonepicker, used it for a week, problem still exists. Uninstalled Tonepicker, re-installed Zedge, problem still exists. This morning, I got a text message and a completely different ring tone went off. Don't even know what it was. Guess I'll just have to live with this glitch. :(
     
  25. finndo77

    finndo77 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    860
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    860
    107
    103
    Male
    Unix/VMware admin
    Richmond, VA
    While testing the ics leak Rom, I reinstalled full stock v6 rooted and have been running it a couple of days now. I have this problem. I change my ringtone and notification sound everyday, and at some point during the day it goes back to the previous setting. What is most annoying about this is that it is using a 25 second sound for notifications, so every time I get a text or email my phone plays music for 25 seconds... also, in settings, none of the available sounds are selected, for either ringtone or notification.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...