1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Notify me when 4G is available

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by smkyle, Nov 12, 2012.

  1. smkyle

    smkyle Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012

    Nov 12, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    Hi, I recently downloaded tasker but I have no idea how to use it. I would like to create a profile that will notify me when I have a 4G signal. LTE is just now starting to deploy in my area, and I want to report to sensorly whenever I am connected.

    Phone: HTC Evo 4G LTE
    I am S-OFF and rooted
     

    Advertisement

  2. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #101
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    2,716
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    The status bar shows whether you are on 3G or 4G. Are you trying to get your phone to send that somewhere else?
     
  3. smkyle

    smkyle Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012

    Nov 12, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    Yea, sorry I wasn't very clear about what I meant by notify. I would like a vibration or ringtone
     
  4. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #101
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    2,716
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Profile: Anon (11)
    State: Mobile Network [ 2G:Off 3G:Off 3G - HSPA:Off 4G:On ]

    It's under Net.
     
  5. smkyle

    smkyle Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012

    Nov 12, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    Thank you for the response. I created a profile
    State>Net>Mobile Network

    Then I checked everything except for "invert"
    Then I created a task
    Alert>Vibrate

    To test, I switched into airplane mode and then out again, but nothing happened :-(
    Any suggestions?
     
  6. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #101
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    2,716
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    I don't think that's a good test. Did you turn Tasker on?
     
  7. smkyle

    smkyle Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012

    Nov 12, 2012
    5
    0
    5
    There is a switch that is on and I exited by pressing the green checkmark. In the notifications it says that my task is running. Can you think of a better test? I tried to make a basic alarm clock, but I failed at that too.
     
  8. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #101
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    2,716
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    The only real test I can think of is to take the phone to an area with 4G.
     

Share This Page

Loading...