1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Nougat update for zte zmax pro

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by boricuakiller, Oct 7, 2016.

  1. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
     #95
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,235
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,235
    316
    173
    NYC
    In all fairness, not even Zte knows - or at least sticks to their announced dates.
    My memory fails me a bit (can be looked up on their forums): zte announced patch stretched from coupla days to coupla months, combined with long stretches of radio silence & unanswered queries.
    I'm not dumping on ZTE. I believe Nougat will come, but by then we may want something else... Zmax Pro 2, Android 8...
     

    Advertisement

  2. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
     #95
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,235
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,235
    316
    173
    NYC
    Agreed.
    The problem with splurging on a flagship is one doesn't get the features one seeks AND gets unwanted stuff -
    fixed battery w/o the latest QC and /or wireless charging, maybe no SD and /or the latest usb, no NFC and/or IR, either storage or ram is lowish, ditto for screen size vs resolution...
    And starting next year new imperatives are the latest gen QC(5 hours@5 minutes) + multi band aggregation.

    Getting the latest flagship is worth it IF used for work / supplants lap/tab.
    But then, no one is manufacturing big phones ... and I don't mean only 6".

    So next year maybe there's two things worth splurging on - the latest QC & the Surface Phone.

    I don't get to use a phone until it breaks - usually it's until processor /ram /storage get maxed out.
     
  3. asianrocker

    asianrocker Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016

    Sep 8, 2016
    260
    148
    78
    Male
    Really? Why? It maybe just me but windows is only good for my pc or laptop. Period. Even there their updates kept messing up my pc/laptop. LOL. I just don't see microsoft have any future on phones. I just think they should stick with laptops/pc. Same way I don't see android as my pc/laptop OS. Android for my phone, Microsoft for my pc/laptop and that's that. And will stick to it through and through.
     
    Moxlon69 likes this.
  4. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
     #95
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,235
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,235
    316
    173
    NYC
    I'm hoping for one device for everything, work or play anywhere - no getting anchored anywhere, no being a walking electronics store.
    Android, Windows... I'm fickle and amoral - although I need to use some windows-only progs.

    Yes, Windows has sucked donkey on phones - but a phone with 8&512gb + wireless dock... Hopefully it won't just be 5.x" and 7-ish would be an ideal pipe dream.
     
  5. Seanpv561

    Seanpv561 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016

    Dec 8, 2016
    5
    2
    16
    Male
    I talked to zte support today and we are getting 7.0 very soon no fairytales
     
    horsecharles and 5318008 like this.
  6. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
     #95
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,235
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,235
    316
    173
    NYC
    Thanks.
    But, going by past performance, I bet July.
     
    colorrrs and yknujssab like this.
  7. drudrumauro

    drudrumauro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013

    Sep 26, 2013
    57
    12
    18
    Male
    I had just got an update and when I went to install it my phone reset and shown the green android it said was updating but then white letters popped up and looked similar to as tho it would after loading a new rom on to twrp on another phone from the past and it said there was a package mismatch and rebooted and then when it came on I went into the about phone settings and it said I couldn't install the update package because the phone is either rooted or incompatible mean while I never rooted my zte zmax pro and the system update was downloaded the standard way and yet my phone says it was updated, has anyone else experienced this issue?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Uncchaos33

    Uncchaos33 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016

    Dec 13, 2016
    1
    5
    16
    Okay everyone, I just got off the phone with zte. I told him my phones messing up and was wondering if there would be a update. He said it came out today, but they canceled the update. They did that because they had customers calling saying there's bugs. So the update is getting fixed by developers and will be out before christmas I hope this helps. By the way, I have metro.
     
  9. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #80
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    You seriously want a Windows phone? I love Windows 7 and that's it. MS ruined windows starting with 8 and now I feel Win10 is awful. I absolutely hate it, even more now because MS dropped most support for win7.

    Microsoft phones are getting better. I have a Lumia 540 that came with 8.1 Denim, which seemed fine. I upped it to 10 and wow. Crap lol. I'd stick with a Windows phone if only the Microsoft store wasn't so lacking in useful apps.

    Best buy may still be selling the 540s for $30.00 new, and worth it all day long. Edit ---- You still have to pay to unlock it though, it's parked on Cricket wireless
     
    horsecharles likes this.
  10. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
     #95
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,235
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,235
    316
    173
    NYC
    I'm wanting to avoid having to lug around tablet / lap for the windows - only progs.
     
  11. MigDaMusicMan

    MigDaMusicMan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015

    Jul 15, 2015
    56
    26
    33
    Male
    Las Vegas NV
    Do you remember what version it was? Was it BO12?
     
  12. drudrumauro

    drudrumauro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013

    Sep 26, 2013
    57
    12
    18
    Male
    I honestly dont remember what version the update had said it was and I was so anxious about receiving an update because I been waiting for one for so long to fix the bugs that I excitedly hit install and what I should have done was clicked a screenshot before the fact instead of after the fact, it was the weirdest standard update I have ever encountered and wasn't expecting to see a screen with white letters displaying similar things as tho I was installing a new rom on twrp but I think it may have been from what uncchaos33 posted saying they canceled the update from there being bugs and I guess that is why it wouldn't let me install it, that is the only explanation that makes any sense to me, it definitely did not seem like a regular dinky security patch update tho because the update package seemed pretty large, I think from here on out any time I ever get an update on any phone I'm going to screen shot it first before installing, I really wish I took a screen shot before Installing it and hope someone out there on here can take one and post it for everyone
     
  13. MigDaMusicMan

    MigDaMusicMan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015

    Jul 15, 2015
    56
    26
    33
    Male
    Las Vegas NV
    Ohh ok, I just wanted to see if it was possibly a new update (uncchaos got my hopes up :D) or if it was B12 because some people still haven't gotten that yet. Do you have the Metro or T-Mo variant?
     
  14. Odin89

    Odin89 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    330
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013

    Dec 22, 2013
    330
    224
    88
    Male
    Retail
    heart of tx
    Yep, we actually discontinued the 540 and do the 650 now, if you like windows phones i suppose, but i emulate and their just no good for emulating. (Not alot of people know, but of our cheap entry lvl droids under $50 its the only one with 16gb internal storage) ;) double the others under $50. Again thats if you like windows phones. I personally do not, forcrappy app store and huge lack of emulating compatibility. Cant wait for Android N!! Maybe we can find a rooting exploit in an early update!!!!!
     
  15. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #80
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    We, as in you work for Best Buy? I guess it depends on what you're emulating. Only emulator that I use is for old NES, and the one I found for my WinPhone in the app store works OK.

    The Lumia 640 I bought is an unbelievable bargain (I may have said 540) for only $30. Best phone for short money. HD resolution, decent camera, I love the rear housing design and it's interchangeability. Yeah the store blows, Win10 update kinda blah.

    My biggest issue with Windows phones is the desktop layout that you can't really customize to look like a typical Android or PC desktop. The live tile setup is fffffUGLY. Other than that, I don't mind it.
     
  16. drudrumauro

    drudrumauro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013

    Sep 26, 2013
    57
    12
    18
    Male
    I have the metro pcs variant of the phone and it's unlocked being used with atnt service, I'm looking forward to the update too I really like this phone and cant wait to get rid of the bugs, I'm also hoping the update gets rid of the random screen pixel flash scrambling and going haywire once in a while while watching youtube videos in HD, i had thought i got a defective phone but heard its just something that randomly happens with the phone and what is weird it doesn't happen all the time, i also am not digging not being able to root and put a custom recovery on this phone i been so spoiled with custom roms that it feels weird using a plain regular phone OS and i really wish phone manufacturers would take notes from custom roms and their customization features and just make them standard already but that prally wont ever happen tho especially on low cost phones
     
  17. cyanidekid

    cyanidekid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014

    Jun 25, 2014
    313
    180
    78
    Male
    None of your business.
    Harrisburg PA
    I manually updated to B12 and no bugs so far. I now have video calling and update from storage option.
     
  18. MrHerbDaily

    MrHerbDaily Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #238
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013

    Jan 16, 2013
    120
    26
    53
    Female
    ᴡᴡᴡ.mrherbdaily.tujej.ru
    I think if we don't get the update within Jan/Feb, you can pretty much forget about it.
     
  19. drudrumauro

    drudrumauro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013

    Sep 26, 2013
    57
    12
    18
    Male
    how can we update manually?
     
  20. DMedina559

    DMedina559 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    431
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012

    Nov 9, 2012
    431
    178
    78
    Male
    Android Enthusiast
    California
    Put the update.zip on your SD card then boot to recovery. There's an option to update from SD card there. Can also update from adb there too.
     
  21. Bing Crosbh

    Bing Crosbh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016

    Dec 19, 2016
    21
    3
    26
    Male
    I have good news and bad news for you. First the bad news I spoke with ZTE they said there has never been any talk about a nougat update for this phone. The good news is that the B12 update will be released very soon. They said they started releasing it to phones but they can't do it all at once
     
  22. Bing Crosbh

    Bing Crosbh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016

    Dec 19, 2016
    21
    3
    26
    Male
  23. DMedina559

    DMedina559 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    431
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012

    Nov 9, 2012
    431
    178
    78
    Male
    Android Enthusiast
    California
    I am 100% sure it's fake. The ROM is in 3parts and it says install cwm recovery which we don't have and ROM manager/ROM toolbox needs root which we also don't have.
     
  24. Bing Crosbh

    Bing Crosbh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016

    Dec 19, 2016
    21
    3
    26
    Male
    K thx
    Too good to be true
     
  25. Monster212

    Monster212 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014

    Feb 15, 2014
    40
    24
    18
    Male
    Disabled
    Michigan

    first off yes ZTE has confirmed nougat update for the phone, 2nd the B12 update has been released already. they stopped the updated as some people had issues with it ,so they will be re-releasing the b12 update. for the phones that had trouble updating it...
     
    MigDaMusicMan likes this.

ZTE Zmax Pro

ZTE Zmax Pro
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...