1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Nov. Maintenance OTA Update Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cartisdm, Nov 4, 2010.

  1. liowik

    liowik Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Got update - worked, so good so far - things do seem zippier, no dup icons, battery now shows which apps are using what power (this for some reason didnt work seemingly since OTA froyo update).
     

    Advertisement

  2. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI
    I'm confused...why must the V Cast store REPLACE the Android Market? Can't you use BOTH, if you want too (personally I'm probably not going to use the VCast)?

    And it DOESN't RUN IN THE BACKGROUND. My phone has been up for 16 hours, and Slacker has used a grand total of 2s of CPU time. From when I signed into my slacker account last night.
     
  3. Shadowbandit

    Shadowbandit Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Computer Service Technician
    Been lurking these forums for a while now ever since I got my phone and I gotta say it's been a wealth of good information!:)

    Just figured I'd register today to post a couple things. First, I got this update a couple days ago while driving to a restaurant to have dinner with a friend. Second, I wanted to ask if anyone else charges their phone with a power inverter while driving and if they're having any problems now after the update?

    I normally use the USB port on my power inverter to charge my phone via a USB micro-B to A cable while I'm driving. It was working fine until I updated to the new OTA update and now if I plug my phone into the USB port of my inverter, it stops charging and causes my inverter to shut off. I didn't realize it was doing this until I was driving home that night while using the GPS and I noticed the little orange "charging" light wasnt on on the phone and that my inverter was powered off even though it was plugged in.

    The inverter works fine with other devices charging through the USB (I tried my PSP, my old cell phone, and even a PS3 controller for the hell of it), so the inverter isn't broken. I also tried charging various devices through the regular AC outlet of the inverter and it works fine. Even my Incredible charges with the USB to AC adapter. For some reason it just doesn't charge through USB anymore on the inverter.

    I'm not having any problems using the USB to AC adapter, but it's a bit of a hassle to have to keep that extra adapter on me and to not have that AC outlet available for other things to charge off of if I need to. This just seems like a strange thing to suddenly have broken with the OTA update, so I was wondering if it happened to anyone else.
     
  4. NAYo2002

    NAYo2002 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    151
    18
    38
    Wait, mine doesn't do that after the update... did anyone else not get this?
     
  5. jayochs

    jayochs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    672
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    672
    89
    78
    Critical Infrastructure Protection Bureau, Office
    Brick, NJ
    yeah mine does that now too haha with handcent...so i checked the settings in handcent, and apparently there's a setting for this to show the number. wild
     
  6. Joe Eris

    Joe Eris Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    342
    39
    53
    Male
    Logistics
    Riverside CA
    Wait i'm missing something, what is the wifi tether trick?
     
  7. callmeox

    callmeox Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    535
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    535
    317
    113
    Paid geek
    NE Ahia
    It's a way for you to steal service from VZW that your contract says you must pay for.

    If you look around I'm sure that you can find the details.
     
  8. crashnburn

    crashnburn Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    4
    1
    6
    VA
    It finally came through today. And the Verizon store DOESN"T WORK! I am OK with that though. Now if only it could be uninstalled without a root...
     
  9. hrbib21

    hrbib21 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    877
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    877
    34
    78
    Pro Desk Driver
    Myrtle Beach SC
    I found a very easy solution to the Vcast app store and Slacker "problem": Ignore them.
     
    HarleyChick likes this.
  10. jrowlings

    jrowlings Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    199
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    199
    18
    48
    Male
    San Francisco
    I am getting the little number on the notification icon. I'm getting it on the Touchdown icon, not the native mail icon. I think there was a TD update last week... I thought maybe it came with that and not the Nov update.

    As to my SD problem (previously posted)... I seem to have solved that by connecting to my PC and running error checking (set to auto repair) and defrag. I was able to eliminate false (or possibly false) SD notification errors once before doing this.
     
  11. gts24

    gts24 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    This comment alone (bold specifically) has made me decide to hold off. All I have done is unrevoked 3.21 , and installed titanium backup to freeze and/or stop SOME applications and installed the wifi tether application from here: android-wifi-tether - Project Hosting on Google Code

    If it's confirmed that this update screws up unrevoked 3.21 , should I simply WAIT for an updated unrevoked?

    (i'm sure i don't fully understand everything here, but I really like the way my phone is operating right now)
     
  12. JasonMCG

    JasonMCG Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    Motion/Graphic Designer
    I like that I can use the VCAST store to charge my account for paid apps, but the interface is a little clunky and God, it's s...l...o...w, so in my case I won't be using it at all. I'm accustomed to and just prefer the standard market. If you like the VCAST store, then by all means.

    As far as Slacker is concerned, whenever I check my running processes, Slacker (and Skype) are always among them. Agreed, it's a little n00bish to assume it's always running and I'm not checking their usage stats so I guess that's my fault.

    EDIT: gts, I'm not sure the unrevoked thing is confirmed, but word is that it's the case. I spent a good 3 or 4 hours on Friday trying to root my DInc after the update on both a PC and Mac. No dice, bro. Word around the internet says similar things. I'd hold off if I were you just to be safe.
     
  13. Deanski

    Deanski Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    55
    4
    16
    Only oddity for me after update was home screen moving to other screens while sitting on a granite countertop with no phone movement.

    Workaround was to recalibrate and problem gone.

    Since this is a work phone, do not use V Cast or whatever Slacker can be used for as I have Sirius anyway.

    Not noticing any charging change. Have the 1500 battery installed now.

    So far so good.

    Let's hope the Gingerbread update wll be smooth as well.

    Deanski
     
  14. Icon0clast

    Icon0clast Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Dish Network Technical Group
    Atlanta
    I'm rooted s-off with skyraider 3.3 and im still getting the update notification.. it's getting annoying
     
  15. Skittlez

    Skittlez Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    88
    3
    16
    911 Operator
    P. Pines, Fl
    I'm experiencing extremely good battery life with this update .20 hours with texting calling and angry birds and im at 30ish%. And the battery charged in about an hour and 45 minutes
     
  16. sforbes42

    sforbes42 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010

    Nov 14, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Just got my Droid Update for my HTC Incredible. After it completed, the phone did its reboot. It froze on the animation where it says "Droid". I waited for a while, then pressed a button to see if it would wake up. It came up with the screen that says swipe to unlock.

    After I unlocked it I had no interface. Just a wallpaper with no icons or any widgets. I rebooted the phone and they came back. 8 hours later, stuff starts crashing, and my phone reboots, and now constantly reboots in a cycle. It no longer works.

    I was happy with 2.1. Ever since I got 2.2, things have been down hill :(
     
  17. CarbineGuy

    CarbineGuy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    66
    6
    16
    my battery seems to be charging faster than it was before...so far...
     
  18. Joe Eris

    Joe Eris Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    342
    39
    53
    Male
    Logistics
    Riverside CA
    You know if you download launcher pro there is an option in the settings to " hide " / get rid of apps you don't use and don't want to look at I would be careful with that though as the android system requires certain apps to run properly. I once hid Facebook twitter and voice dialer and was not able to send gmail only recieve also couldn't find any way unhide the apps
     
  19. NAYo2002

    NAYo2002 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    151
    18
    38
    Did I miss something... didn't he say he was going to hide it?
     
  20. Joe Eris

    Joe Eris Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    342
    39
    53
    Male
    Logistics
    Riverside CA
    Yeah he said "in the end im going to hide VCast Apps "
     
  21. msjulie

    msjulie Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    87
    9
    16
    Just for clarity, I hadn't done the update yet.. but it does seem odd folks are reporting an issue at this time
     
  22. TheLurg1687

    TheLurg1687 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    214
    13
    38
    EMT
    NH

    im clueless...how?
     
  23. NAYo2002

    NAYo2002 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    151
    18
    38

    Sorry to hear about your issues... mine also seemed to be stuck on that Droid redeye screen but I left it alone. After about 10 mins it completed the update and everything worked perfectly. You might have interrupted a process. Have you tried factory reset?
     
  24. Joe Eris

    Joe Eris Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    342
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    342
    39
    53
    Male
    Logistics
    Riverside CA
    You know if you download launcher pro there is an option in the settings to " hide " / get rid of apps you don't use and don't want to look at I would be careful with that though as the android system requires certain apps to run properly. I once hid Facebook twitter and voice dialer and was not able to send gmail only recieve also couldn't find any way unhide the apps you'll understand once you get an android phone and get into the android market. Launcher Pro is a home replacement app
     
  25. NAYo2002

    NAYo2002 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    151
    18
    38
    That's what I don't get... why did you tell him how to hide something when he clearly already knows how.
     

Share This Page

Loading...