1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Nov. Maintenance OTA Update Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cartisdm, Nov 4, 2010.

  1. CGdroid

    CGdroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    43
    2
    16
    Found the following instructions somewhere and it can do the trick.

    "
    -Use "Root Explorer" from the market and make sure you're mounted as Read/Write
    -Navigate to /system and long press on build.prop, then select the "Open in text editor" option
    -Find the line that contains "FRF91/XXXXXX:user..." and replace that 6 digit number with 264707
    -Then hit Menu > Save and exit
    -Reboot

    The notification will probably still be in your notification bar. Bring it up and then hit the back button. Give it a little time and it will go away for good. I've rebooted and waited for about a half hour now and it's not coming back.

    "






     

    Advertisement

    Bulldog likes this.
  2. olbriar

    olbriar  
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,013
    Posts:
    19,936
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    19,936
    23,335
    2,013
    Male
    Land of Oz
    Has anyone experienced a degradation in 3g connection since the upgrade? I've always experienced solid 3g here at my office and since the upgrade it's been a hit and miss situation. I've also noticed I'm struggling to find a bird for the gps since the upgrade. Again, a new problem since the upgrade. My connections here have always been solid as a rock. Any thoughts, suggestions, or similar problems out there?
     
  3. XXXdc5

    XXXdc5 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    293
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    293
    29
    43
    i wasnt referencing you specifically i just saw it mentioned multiple times
     
  4. DC2_408

    DC2_408 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    38
    4
    16
    Bay Area, Ca
    loving the update! my battery doesn't suck, and charging is faster. That's all that really matters for me :D
     
  5. modelyacht

    modelyacht Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    59
    17
    18
    Yes, and I'm not pleased.
    Especially annoyed that the battery drains extra fast in those situations.
     
  6. lgm98

    lgm98 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    10
    0
    15

    I'm also having this problem, anyone know a solution?
     
  7. cbelcort

    cbelcort Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Chandler, AZ
    Since update periodically unable to recognize SD card. I then need to reboot and card is recognized. Anyone else with this problem?
     
  8. jreagan

    jreagan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    34
    5
    16
    Nicholasville KY
    Since the upgrade, I've received several forced closes on com.android.phone. I don't use many apps from the store. I haven't changed a thing on the phone. Whatever is doing it, it is the OTA or some interaction with the few things I use.

    Also the Backup Assistant hung once. I didn't try to use a task killer but just rebooted the phone to clear it. First time that BA gave me problems too.
     
  9. cartisdm

    cartisdm Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    327
    22
    58
    Configuration Specialist
    Charlotte, NC
    Unfortunately, I had this exact problem too. It effed up all the data on my 8gb card and the data wasn't recognized by my computer anymore afterward. I had to format it again :(

    (No problems since then)
     
    cbelcort likes this.
  10. rsarno

    rsarno Thank Me, Im Irish!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,675
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    1,675
    206
    143
    Westchester, NY
    So, is the update good or bad?? Every other post has different opinions and i cant read this entire thread

    Was going to make a new thread with a poll, but it would just be moved into this thread so there is no point in that
     
  11. DouglasMarston

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010

    Nov 4, 2010
    2
    1
    6
    Ummm.. Cisco VPN.. lets see THAT on stock
     
  12. Existence_Inc

    Existence_Inc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Updated this weekend (Sunday Morning, Southern Colorado). I factory reset my phone after the update and everything is running just as it did before. I haven't talked much on the phone so I can't speak to call quality. I notice that my 3G connection jumps a lot from 1x to 3G and back again, but it doesn't seem to affect updating or web browsing (that I have noticed).

    Battery charging is much faster for me, and on my first full charge following the reset and update I had 7.5 hours of awake time (8.5 hours up time), HEAVY usage on the stock battery. (Heavy being constant games, texting, music, market browsing, 3G hotspot usage, and playing around with the UI *Sense and Launcher PRO+*. I also use 3G exclusively and haven't ever use WiFi. Just thought I'd throw in my $0.02.

    ~Ex
     
  13. tmoney468

    tmoney468 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    I installed the update fine, but I lost all of my ringtones and notification sounds that I stored on my Inc...weird thing is that they're still on there, they just dont show up on the phone anymore. Has anyone experienced this problem at all? Anything I can try?
     
  14. incredible x4

    incredible x4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    136
    22
    38
    I've noticed something in the past few days. Whenever I get a text and the handcent notification comes up in the notification bar, there is a number in the symbol that tells me how many unread texts I have. The old way it used to work is if I had, for example, 2 unread texts there would be 2 symbols in the notification bar. Now it just puts a number there. I didn't notice this till after I installed the OTA. Was this part of the OTA or was it part of one of the 2 handcent updates there have been in the past week and I just never noticed? Whatever it is, I like it.
     
  15. mtollin

    mtollin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    92
    3
    16
    Interesting. This is how my mail always worked with Hotmail. No change here. My Exchange server still works perfect. Don't sync gmail, redirect it to my exchange account.
     
  16. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #11
    Points:
    2,013
    Posts:
    23,661
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    23,661
    11,415
    2,013
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    olbriar!! long time no see!! (it's nmayer, i had an identity crisis, lol)
    Having all kinds of problems with my yahoo account since ota. weird connection errors constantly so i deleted it and now it won't let me add it back. keeps telling my to check username and password(which I KNOW is right).
    pissing me off something fierce... not gonna use the yahoo app, i refuse
    Right:rolleyes:

    You could Pm a mod and ask if they can add a poll to this thread
     
  17. Bulldog

    Bulldog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    117
    10
    38
    **edit 2** THIS WORKS! Yay.

    **edit** I changed the number in the wrong location. Sorry. We'll give it a bit now and see what happens.


     
  18. cortecds

    cortecds Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    132
    13
    38
    I have to say when I got this my battery widget started dropping way down at first.
    And I worried my battery was draining faster. But I am now letting it ride to have it recalibrate the app. The widget currently says 0:00 time left and 1% after having been used normally for 24 hours (usually I only get 12 hours) granted that the last 8 I have been a sleep but still surprised. Also the led light is still not flashing and phones battery still shows about 1/5 battery left. As I was typing this the widget jumped to 8% and 0:55. So I am a believer that this update has improved battery usage.
     
  19. JA_Akins

    JA_Akins Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Maybe it's just me, or my phone, but I had an accident with my first Incredible which was an AMOLED my replacement is an SLCD. I didn't see a difference in battery life between the two but since recieving the new OTA update my battery life drops quickly. I used to bump charge with my previous phone, so I continue to do that with the update but it doesn't seem to help. I lose 10% battery within the first hour of my day with maybe an occasional check of Twitter (Seesmic app). I felt that I was lucky with the battery life before the update because I could help it out with bump charging, but now with the update I have to bump charge and still end up down to 20% after 8 hours...
     
  20. OneOleMan

    OneOleMan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    27
    1
    16
    Retired
    Seattle, WA
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by drewkelly [​IMG]
    Before the update, I could POP mail off my email account with my laptop and it would automatically delete it from my Incredible.

    Now, if I POP mail off my server using my laptop, or delete messages using the webmail interface, the mall STAYS on my phone - until I delete with the phone.

    Anybody know how I can go back to the pre-OTA way?

    Thanks...


    I just noticed the same thing but as far as I'm concerned it's a good deal. I prefer having the control over what gets deleted and what stays.
     
  21. Bulldog

    Bulldog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    117
    10
    38

    Success. No update prompts anymore it seems. BIG thanks!
     
  22. NAYo2002

    NAYo2002 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    151
    18
    38
    If you ever ran slacker make sure to exit the app using its menu options. I noticed the other day that unlike pandora, slacker runs in the background.
     
  23. pucrepeap

    pucrepeap Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    188
    25
    43
    Battery is killing me! When updated to FROYO I stood by this thing defending the battery life to the death, because it really wasn't as bad as people made it out to be. But after this new update there is no question that my Battery life is draining quickly. In 2 hours after unplugging it dropped 20%, in 5 hours 40%. I'm sitting at 60% 5 hours after I unplugged it whilst using my phone for nothing more than a couple texts. I used to get through my entire 9 hour work day playing games (yes at work), browsing the web, and using it moderately and still get home with more than 60%.

    Apps also shut down unexpectedly sometimes.
     
  24. cortecds

    cortecds Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    132
    13
    38
    Are you getting your battery info from the system or from a 3rd party app/widget?
    You may need to calibrate it.
     
  25. KB3MMX

    KB3MMX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    131
    5
    36
    Found out today that the max file size has been dropped to 5Mb by the November OTA !!
    Due to the drop in allowable size, it has rendered the HD video capability virtually useless if you want to send to anyone through email.
    The longest video that can now be sent in HD is only 3-4 seconds !!!
    USELESS !!
     

Share This Page

Loading...