1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Nov OTA failed, can't install manually,

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by c0dej0ckey, Dec 2, 2010.

  1. c0dej0ckey

    c0dej0ckey Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    17
    6
    16
    Hey everyone,
    I had been running the ROM version of the Nov OTA on my rooted Dinc, and my charge times were dramatically faster. However, my company just started supporting Android for their corporate mail, and to participate, I needed to unroot my phone (unfortunately, a company prerequisite). So, I reverted back to the official 2.2 install following these instructions:

    http://androidforums.com/incredible-all-things-root/181255-how-downgrade-official-2-2-a.html

    Note, I am still "s-off".

    As soon as I rebooted, I got the prompt for the Nov OTA, and accepted it. I said it was going to reboot and install, but just got stuck there for over an hour. I finally pulled the battery, and after reboot, it is still at the stock 2.2 and I have not been prompted to install the OTA again.

    I also grabbed the OTA from here:

    Installing OTA to Rooted Android

    and tried installing it from the SD card, but when I try to boot into recovery, I get a red triangle with a "!" in the middle of it.

    Any suggestions on how to get the OTA installed?

    Thanks!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. sequre

    sequre Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    182
    14
    38
  3. bluemsw

    bluemsw Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    90
    6
    16
    Tech
    so. cal
    I have installed the file like you said to do, everything seemed to go ok. but when I go back into hboot and try to go into recovery all i get is the black screen with white bars on the sides. I have also flashed the clockworkmod from rom manager and that took me to the same black screen with white bars.
     
  4. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
    That was the wrong version of clockwork.
    Go here to get it:
    doug piston
     

Share This Page

Loading...