1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Now that the Froyo update is on hold...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jeephacker, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. Flaspeneer

    Flaspeneer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    207
    24
    38
    Male
    Writer, Studio Musician, Editor
    No question that was a compliment.

    The first part was addressed to people who keep recommending a clean install to people on stock Eclair who haven't backed up their phones, and people who keep mentioning Titanium Backup, which is useless unless the user's rooted. I can't suggest My Backup to stock users because, though it looks good, I haven't tried it, and you have to test any backup method before you can rely on it, let alone recommend it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. wizarddcc

    wizarddcc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I updated OTW, dowloading the zip file to my PC then copying it to the SD card. Put that back into the phone and pushed all the buttons and got it to install without too much trouble. The only hitch was that it hung up while searching for app updates. I had to click Cancel to get out of that. Checked my contacts and pics and email (after re-entering my password) and everything was thete. The only issue I currently have is with the Android keyboard. Glad to see that others have reported the same issue, gives me hope that they will find a fix.

    I had a stock phone without root, btw. The only thing i can think of is that adding new words to my dictionary may have confused the updated software. Maybe it just needs to be re-indexed or something?

    Other than that, I am happy I got the update before they pulled it...
     
  3. jasonamd

    jasonamd Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    84
    18
    18
    I believe the ONLY publicized launch date for Froyo was from Samsung who said "Before the end of the year."...as in 2010. All the other dates that went around on the internet were never officially announced by Sprint or Samsung. They may have been leaked internal documents or even faked internal documents or just store employees saying what they thought, but as far as an official release date, there was only the one from Samsung that I was aware of.

    If there were other dates that were officially publicized by Sprint they would have been on the Sprint support forums like the one for EB13 was.

    I think that's where a lot of anger that some people have comes from about this release...they think all these release dates were missed when in reality, there was only one missed date and that was the end of 2010.
     
  4. rogand

    rogand Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    OK, I'm a bit lost. When I go the community sprint page where the file is supposedly still at, and click on that link, I get a page that just shows a couple user manuals (choice of english or spanish)

    Is the file hosted or posted anywhere so a guy who didn't get the OTA can proceed? Seems most problems were just cache and sync issues, and it's not so much a problem of a bad release, but of inadequate Call-Center/Tech-Support, and Sprint getting overwhelmed, and panickedly pulling the plug.

    Jeez, these things are PCs now, which means there are pretty much an infinite variety of configurations, which means you really could never do a beta test big enough to capture every possible scenario. And certainly not in the time allotted by we rabid users clamoring: We want our Froyo, and make it yesterday.

    Anyway, would love a pointer to the file if it is hosted somewhere

    thanks
    roger
     
  5. droid newb

    droid newb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    399
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    399
    20
    38
    Fort Pierce, FL
    You're on the "manuals" page. Click "software" (next to manuals) and you'll see the mac OS .zip file :)
     
  6. psycho chicken

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I'm so glad that I kept reading all you guys posts. I tried to mount it last night, and had no luck. Did the download on the phone and BAM works like a charm.
     
  7. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    512
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    512
    38
    68
    Remember the update.zip problems when flashing DK28? uh HUH! I flashed the full TAR from XDA that rooted has CW3 deodexed and so forth, haven't had a problem.
     
  8. datruth

    datruth Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    im sorry i was really pissed when the epic didnt get the 2.2 update as fast as it should have but after dealing with 2.2 on the epic i would rather go back to 2.1...the phone on 2.1 was just faster and smooth, web browsing is a pain because you cant really pinch to zoom or scroll fast without getting the checker board effect and my data connection keep going on and off this never happened on 2.1.. and now i know why samsung didnt want to release 2.2 on this phone because they new it would be a piece of crap
     
  9. MacLaddy

    MacLaddy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    38
    8
    36
    Male
  10. mhzpookey

    mhzpookey Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Folks if you have time take it to a sprint store they will do the update for you, did it today its about an hour without your phone. EB13 is working fine and I rooted my phone when I got home. justy a bit of info for you all.
     
  11. iBleedBlackNgold

    iBleedBlackNgold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    367
    11
    38
    froyo sucks i.m.o. .... like many know it did nothing for the kb issue .. browser is laggy, has annoying checkerboards, cant scroll as good, cant use enter to select a link, sometimes can't load entire pages, it freezes ... battery life was worse .. i was using DI18 stock the whole time & now im back on it .. there were a few good things but the cons were heavier. I don't get why key features were removed ...
     
  12. SatterJ

    SatterJ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    San Jose, CA
    I'm quite dissappointed with the Froyo upsate. My Epic has worked flawlessly since I got it the first week it was available and have been anxiously waiting for the Froyo so I could watch Flash Video and moves apps onto the SD card. I downloaded the upgrade from Sprint, didn't want to wait for the OTA and upgraded my phone...wish I hadn't. Since the upgrading to Froyo I've had countless problems. I'm getting FC's left and right, the phone has locked up a few times and I've had to pull the battery, overall the performance of the phone has diminished considerably.
    I want to go back to 2.1 and I followed a link to the XDA guys to go back to 2.1, the instructions are clear enough but at the end it refers to Clockworkmod. "You will have to root / install ClockworkMod."
    What is that? I have no desire to root my phone, I just want it back the way it came out of the box.
     
  13. iBleedBlackNgold

    iBleedBlackNgold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    367
    11
    38
    go to that page & follow steps 1 thru 10 .. its easy & works which will have u back on the stock DI18 2.1 .. i know the link title states eb13 but just check it out

    http://briefmobile.com/how-to-update-your-samsung-epic-4g-to-official-eb13-android-2-2-1
     
  14. jander1023

    jander1023 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    18
    2
    16
    I did the 2.2 update and everything is working great! Now I'm able to use flash, which allows me to play Full Tilt poker! 2.2 doesn't appear more buggy than 2.1, IMO.
     
  15. ijeggert

    ijeggert Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Yeah... after a week of running the FROYO update, I'm not completely impressed with it. Battery life is down, 4G doesn't always wake up when it should, and not so hot on the whole bubble messaging and not being able to turn off the geotagging option. I'll likely try and flashback to stock this evening.
     
  16. Basshead89

    Basshead89 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    9
    0
    25
    Network Administrator
    Modesto, CA
    I have not had any issues with the manual update from the Samsung site... the phone appears to be more stable now.
     
  17. superdugge

    superdugge Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    michigan
    i updated mine 2 days ago from the samsung site followed all instruction and it worked like a charm. have not had any issues so far
     
  18. toyman317

    toyman317 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    92
    6
    16
    For those of you with no issues, how is the video in low light? My wife got her OTA and it has been great except for the video. My OTA never came so I am still on 2.1. I held the phones up together and compared the video and the 2.2 is garbage.
     
  19. itswaycool

    itswaycool Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    30
    3
    16
    I'm ready to give the manual upgrade a try. I noticed that the Samsung upgrade tool is for use with 32 bit versions of windows. I'm running 64 bit windows 7. Will the upgrade tool work with my PC? Was the 32 bit a minimum requirement?
     
  20. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,214
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,214
    389
    163
    I ran it just fine on Win7 Pro 64 bit.
     
    itswaycool likes this.
  21. itswaycool

    itswaycool Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    30
    3
    16
    Thanks. I'll give it a try.
     
  22. spuddy026

    spuddy026 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010

    Nov 25, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Question. Have the zip file on my sd card.

    In the instructions is says do a battery pull after putting the file on sd card. Does that mean pull that battery while the phone is still on before going into recovery mode or turn phone off, pull battery then go to recovery mode.
     
  23. jander1023

    jander1023 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    18
    2
    16
    It's my understanding that you need to pull the battery while the phone is on so the phone will boot into recovery mode upon restart. At least, that is what I did.
     
  24. jander1023

    jander1023 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    18
    2
    16
    Do you mean watching video or making video with the camera? My video playback is the same as b4.
     
  25. hayzooos

    hayzooos Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    Nov 9, 2010
    218
    45
    43
    IT BA
    Chicagoland, IL
    I pulled the battery with the phone still on. Don't know if it makes a difference or not, but something about resetting circuitry so I just did it with the phone on.

    Just pulling the battery will not cause the phone to go into recovery mode. Once you put the battery back in, hold down the volume down button, the camera button, and the power button (I did it in that order, again, not sure if it makes a diff, but I wouldn't hit power first ;) ) and that's what will put the phone into recovery mode.

    From there, scroll down (using the volume buttons) to the option with "update.zip" in the name. Hit the home button as your enter key and you're golden.
     

Share This Page

Loading...