• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Indrid Cold

May 3, 2010
North Texas
I'm new to this rooting thing and not sure what to do next...
Just installed and rooted my Droid X(2.2) with z4root by RyanZA. I then opened the Superuser app that was created. Now what??? The Superuser app has no menus, instructions, options, etc. I saw what looked like a list for apps. But there were none listed. So can I assume that I am supposed to populate this list some how??? Or is this Superuser app designed to work with another app or program? It seems to me that one would need access to the phone's file directory. Of course there are all kinds of root apps on the market...

Unfortunately I had a low battery when I downloaded z4root. The battery died on me almost immediately after I opened the app...so I really didn't get to

Welcome to the rooting club! :) Glad you're rooted. Easy answer...the superuser app works in the background. You install and go to run an app for root and it pops up asking you if you want to give that app superuser permissions. So, indeed the superuser app will and should be empty until you begin to populate it with root apps. Again, the root apps need to be opened first, then the superuser app will populate itself. Once you have apps in there, you can change permissions.

I hope this helps you! :)

Reactions: Indrid Cold
Upvote 0
Thanks again. I'm impatiently waiting on my phone to charge now. <grin> Will give it a shot then..

I have heard that Verizon is about to push 2.2.1. What have you heard about his froyo upgrade?

I wouldn't be surprised to find out that it's sole purpose is to kill root and add bloatware. Of course they will hide that fact by telling us it does something else...Perhaps us VZ guys should be leary of 2.2.1 huh?

Upvote 0
Thanks again. I'm impatiently waiting on my phone to charge now. <grin> Will give it a shot then..