1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Numbers and letters

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by medic, Jan 3, 2011.

  1. medic

    medic Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Is there a way to tell the Droid that when you are in a phone number slot or zip code slot to type numbers and not letters? I keep forgetting to hit the alt key when i type. On my BB, it was smart enough to know that places that need numbers to use the numbers on the key board.

    Help!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Welcome to the forums, medic.

    I remember that feature from my Blackberry days, and I miss it sometimes, too.

    I've gotten used to just hitting that number key.. but I'll bet some of the third party keyboard apps have the capability you're looking for. Perhaps a search in Market under "keyboard" will yield one with the feature you're looking for.
     
  3. google123

    google123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    133
    6
    36
    I believe part of it is that sometimes the apps themselves govern which characters are allowed in a field. For example, sometimes I forget to press the alt button and it enters numbers anyways but at other times I have to press alt.
     
  4. frankbonatelli

    frankbonatelli Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    203
    30
    43
    Globally employed
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    SO I just tested Frisco's theory regarding a different keyboard app and as I had purchased iTap for use with my Desire i tried it on the Droid pro too. So when I clicked into a text input field that is for numbers (my test was a new contact) and I clicked into the phone number box it auto magically switches to numbers only when I am using the Droid! Sweet discovery. Works for all number only input boxes as long as the developers code them as such.
    Very nice hint I was missing this as well.
    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...