1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

odafone customers beware!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ulstersoldier, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. Mushhushshu

    Mushhushshu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    119
    24
    38
    Bristol, England
    Wow voda suck. First all the nonsense with their fair use internet bundle and how that was handled, and now this. Very sneaky. Glad I debranded as soon as I got the phone but I'll definately switch to a new network when my contract is up just because Voda seem determined to treat their customers like crap.
     

    Advertisement

  2. MF DROID

    MF DROID Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    80
    2
    16
    uk
    anyone had the problem with text messages all being duplicated after this VF update?
     
  3. freefall

    freefall Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    139
    3
    36
    How very cheeky! I updated thinking it was froyo. The internet was the same as normal and youtube converted videos by the YouTube app. Cheeky sods. Now it is full of their junk! I did choose not to install some 360 update though. Thank god for that
     
  4. wellibob

    wellibob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    147
    15
    38
    Northampton
    Bully74uk , please do, im getting hacked off , and although im very techy with computers, i dont want to bork my phone, instructions would be welcome :)
     
  5. Magicuk

    Magicuk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    125
    1
    36
    why dont u lot Root your phone then and put froyo on it with out having the vodafone stuff on there i am with vodafone i have rooted mine as i dotn want all the vodafone stuff on my phone
     
  6. MF DROID

    MF DROID Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    80
    2
    16
    uk
    please mate
     
  7. wellibob

    wellibob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    147
    15
    38
    Northampton
    i`d root in a second, but i really dont know the procedure, ie wot rom to put on, do i gold card, do i save my settings etc etc, whats on my sd card, not bothered, soon can put that back. I need my hand holding basically first time, then ill be fine :D
     
  8. Septian

    Septian Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    Thanks mate, that would be brilliant.
    I have tried a few guides. I think my SD card isn't good enough to "goldcard"? I used the one that came with the phone, However all the RUU's give me a error 140 about the bootloader *Shrugs*
     
  9. lawriejambo

    lawriejambo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Scotland
    Newbie here
    I updated my desire today to 1.24.161.3 and now have the vodafone sign at start-up .
    no other voda crap that I can see, any help getting rid of it would be great.
     
  10. LECTER

    LECTER Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,543
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    1,543
    233
    163
    Entrepreneur
    Over the hill and through the woods
    I wonder if this is why they pulled all the Desires from the German market as well...

    Would love to know how to unbrand it, Bully!
     
  11. Evil Genius

    Evil Genius Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    481
    87
    53
    standup comedian
    NL
    your "warning" is your other post is not relevant.

    if you had generic HTC firmware, you would have been prompted to updated to 2.2.

    only devices running vodafone firmware would be given the "option" to upgrade to 1.24.

    a generic desire would never be prompted to update with carrier firmware.
     
  12. denialnw10

    denialnw10 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I'm so happy I read this post! Thanks guys!

    Quite pissed off about this, after seeing an update and thinking it was 2.2. Luckily was waiting til I got home to download over WIFI.

    Think I will be checking out Bully's guide! Vodafone started so well... its all going wrong now. Not happy
     
  13. nafpez

    nafpez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    123
    18
    38
    Also really happy i read this post, SERIOUSLY pissed off with Vodasham that they do crap like this, i thought my Desire was unbranded and unlocked, its defo unlocked cos ive tried a Tmob sim and that worked fine, and also couldnt find any Vodafone rubbish on it, so come the weekend, like the whole of this forum (apart from those that have rooted and already had FroYo that is) i was franticly smashing the life out of that "update now" button only to be given the old chest nut "your phone is upto date" nonsense, so i started wondering "well what the sh1t yo? why arent i getting it and everyone else is?" a little digging led me to the vodafone "scene" under the menu button, i looked and alas...there was the dreaded voda scene, gutted, seriously gutted.

    In hindsite i spose its my own fault for not making sure it was unbranded, i naturally assumed it was due to it being from phones4u and not seeing any obvious signs.

    Anyway im gobbing away without actually getting to my point which is...Why? Why do they do this to people? i understand that they "have" to check the rom from google, cos well, one of the biggest companies in the world may get it wrong...Quite clearly a joke there, but fill the update with complete crap that no one wants? oh and make loyal customers wait (more than likely) a life time for said crap - filled update is beyond me, it just creates resentment and loathing for people like us (by that i mean people who actually give a sh1t about these kinds of things) Vodasham, get ya act together please, give customers what they actually want, not what they really dont.

    Come this evening i get home and try again at the "update now" button and see something other than "your phone is upto date" and thought "yeah bwoy, this is the one, it has to be, its gotta be...right?" but had a sudden urge to check this forum to see what other people are wording about it, which leads me here, saddened and very annoyed!

    For some people its ciggerettes, others its alcohol, and more others its drugs, well my addiction seems to be phones, and this one in particular, so when somethings sposed to come along to make your experience of said addiction even better, then you want it, and you wanted it 3 n half years ago, but you cant have it cos...... omg im gunna shut up, im pissing myself off nvm you lot.

    LOL this is my first post here, sooorry, apologies, i promise i wont go on this much from now on, just needed to vent, in a nut shell, Vodasham are all kindsa crap and rubbish poo and really need to sort out theyre dealings with important updates, im fairly certain im not alone in thinking that.

    Again sorry for the rant, ill just go be quiet now, toodles. :(
     
  14. freefall

    freefall Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    139
    3
    36
    Don't be sorry, vent your frustration! I actually jumped thinking it was FroYo, my wife laughed at me in the kitchen. Then I realised it wasnt and stopped it from installing the 360 crap but I still have some vodafone stuff on there. I only realised when I went onto Youtube and it defaulted to the HTC youtube player. I'm now debranding my phone and am going to hit the update button to get HTC's official 2.2 update.

    They were very cheeky in doing this. Stupid of them, they look like right snidey fools now.
     
  15. nafpez

    nafpez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    123
    18
    38
    Very much seconded mate, i was very dubious about debranding and figured i might aswell just wait for the official update, but im just gunna jump straight in and do it. Hopefuly Bully74uk's guide is simple enough to follow.
     
  16. kingdeacon

    kingdeacon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    the buggers got me to today, i was at work and thought it was 2.2, so downloaded the update over the voda network. Then it turned out to be this crap :(

    Please do a write up on how to de-brand a vodafone desire and get 2.2 from htc on
     
  17. matttye

    matttye Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,938
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    1,938
    379
    163
    Senior Legal Secretary
    Lincoln, England
    Haha you've got to laugh at the cheek of it!
     
  18. LECTER

    LECTER Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,543
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    1,543
    233
    163
    Entrepreneur
    Over the hill and through the woods
    kingdeacon likes this.
  19. denialnw10

    denialnw10 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Ok, did it!!!

    Was very simple and took about 30 mins, if that! Got Froyo 2.2 on my Voda, which is now running a generic HTC Android 2.2 OS. Bully's thread is great, and props to him for referring back to the original guide and giving credit where it is due! :D

    Vodafone have definitely lost a customer with this little fast one!
     
  20. malcster

    malcster Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    245
    59
    53
    Male
    Nottinghamshire
    As earlier asked.h
    ow do.we.skip this update and get the proper 2.2 when it.comes or.will.vodafone force their crappy. Update first
    Pissed off.as.I.am.on o2 but Vodafone handset with only a.Vodafone scene and no.other branding
     
  21. freefall

    freefall Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    139
    3
    36
    They appear to have forced their crap on us. Then it appears that those who did this update (believing it was FroYo) have ended up being locked into this software. You can't debrand and update to 2.2 OTA. You now have to wait on voafone to release 2.2...... forever we wait.
     
  22. STANNY

    STANNY Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010

    Aug 2, 2010
    22
    1
    16
  23. d.chatten

    d.chatten Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    104
    12
    38
    UK
    How is it not relevent, these people thought they had unbranded/generic phones/firmware from their network operator, and understandably they thought (wrongly) that they where getting a frirmware update to froyo, but what did they get instead, they got VF branded firmware, also, these people probably had no idea their phones where running VF specific firmware in the first place.

    The "warning" is there, but if you want to nit pic then go ahead.
     
  24. Evil Genius

    Evil Genius Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    481
    87
    53
    standup comedian
    NL
    nit picking? not really.

    you "warned" about this:

    ...all those people that have purchased a phone directly from their network operator that currently have generic firmware pre-installed may end up with a network branded phone after the update to Froyo.
    ..

    which would never happen because if you have generic firmware, you will get generic updates from HTC.

    what really happened is that Vodafone customers were looking out for FroYo 2.2 and Vodafone sneaked out an update to their own 2.1 firmware at the same time which caught people out.
     
  25. russforster

    russforster Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Has anyone managed to debrand (flash) their phone since the VF update?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...