1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Odd problem when connected to PC

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by danomolis, Aug 29, 2010.

  1. danomolis

    danomolis Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I do not have or use and SD card...only the internal memory. When I'm not connected to a PC it recognizes this. All of my ringtones and notifications are present.

    When I connect to a PC, though, the phone seems to want to only use the SD memory. I can't see my custom tones, all applications want to use SD memory, and apps only want to download new info to a non-existent SD card.

    Is there a way to change this behavior? It's driving me nuts. When I'm connected to my PC and my phone rings...it uses a default tone. The first time it happened I had no idea what the sound was.
     

    Advertisement

  2. DT

    DT Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    783
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    783
    145
    93
    Owner, Senior Software Architect, V2N
    Vilano Beach, FL
    Howdy!

    Keep in mind that the internal, user storage is referred to as SDCARD. When you have an "external" SD card installed, it mounts under /sdcard as /sdcard/sd

    Once you've connected and chosen 'mount' from the notification menu, you should just see the phone mounted as a drive and have access to all the user storage, like /sdcard/media/audio/ which will have directories for notification and ringtone.
     
  3. Endoran

    Endoran Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    403
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    403
    24
    38
    SLC, Utah
    When you mount your internal SDcard to your computer your phone loses access to it. At least to certain aspects of it...like customized settings such as your ringtone. If you have a widget on your homescreen you'd notice that it returns to default settings (like skins etc) when you plug it into your computer. When you unplug, it all returns to normal though.

    I'm also confused by your post...when you say "the phone seems to only want to use..." are you referring to manipulating your phone via your PC or actually playing on your physical phone while it is connected to your PC?
     
  4. danomolis

    danomolis Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I see. I have it mounted when I don't want it mounted. I plug it into my PC just to charge it and I don't want/need the PC to have access to the storage. That makes sense.
     

Share This Page

Loading...