1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Odin Blocked on new phones ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hroark13, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #49
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,288
    4,136
    483
    So far 2 people that have new phones that come pre-installed with Gingerbread were not able to use Odin (xuare and TCTTomT)


    My guess, and I predicted this, is that they are disabeling it.

    If so who is responsible Boost or Samsung. Samsung makes the Phones for Boost and we buy the Phone from Boost.

    They really dont want you to be able to run versions of their OS with CIQ removed


    Was it just a coincidence that they came out with the Gingerbread uodate shortly after CTMod and CM7 were released?



    My question for anyone that has a phone that came with Gingerbread installed

    Have you been able to use Odin
     

    Advertisement

    rm50 likes this.
  2. Kcsuper

    Kcsuper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011

    Nov 22, 2011
    189
    25
    43
    CT
    I bought the prevail in Nov. and it did come with Froyo. I bricked it like a month ago and returned it to walmart for a duplicate (I'm sure they've re-distributed by then). The new one did come with 2.3.5 and I have had no problems with Odin.
     
  3. thomasmbl

    thomasmbl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    480
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    480
    72
    53
    I used Odin to put cwm on their and I rooted my phone after they did the update
     
  4. TCTTomT

    TCTTomT Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    24
    1
    16
    I googled the odin problem that i am having and there were actually others who had the same problem so if you did have it work could you possibly post the exact steps you used CWM 5 is what I am trying to flash but i get this and the yellow box turns red and sais fail.

    <1> Added!!!
    <1> Detected!!!
    <1> odin mode.. check platform verification.
    <1> START!!!
    <1> odin mode.. do file mapping..
    <1> check download environment.
    <1> e - big partition size!!
    <1> Delete Comm3engine

    (this is the same place other peoples logs stopped)

    so if you have a prevail that gingerbread came preloaded on it please post exactly how you used odin successfuly so that any of us who are having trouble can make sure it is not user error.
     
  5. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    If Odin IS indeed blocked, what about making an app installer? (similar to ROM manager, but made for the prevail) If Koush could just 'add support' for our phone at a whim, wouldn't it be possible for one of our local genius' to make it? Or maybe add it as a feature to ACS updater? Just a thought...
     
  6. ninjarabbit

    ninjarabbit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    164
    28
    43
    Healthcare
    Sterling MI
    I was able to successfully use odin to flash CWM5 on a prevail that was bought somewhere at the end of November to the middle of December and had originally come with 2.3.5.
     
    hroark13 likes this.
  7. TCTTomT

    TCTTomT Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    24
    1
    16
    if you did not have a problem flashing clockwork could you please describe everything from which windows you used to wether you had your sd in or not that way we can all try what worked for you.

    also i was wondering if it is possible to either use an old update.zip file that was before they blocked odin

    -or-

    if it is possible to develop something similar to one click root except it would be like a one click clockwork

    please let me know i do not have the knowledge to do it myself however if we have people who could come up with what they have im sure it can be done one way or another

    I am more than happy to test if there is a developer willing to take on the challenge
     
  8. Kcsuper

    Kcsuper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011

    Nov 22, 2011
    189
    25
    43
    CT
    Sorry I've been babysitting all day. :eek:

    I really didn't do anything special. I downloaded the Odin - EJ06 package (link is down now), installed the driver it came with, unzipped it to my desktop, loaded Odin with it's appropriate .ops/.tar's, plugged usb into computer with phone just so I could hear the *ding, once driver successfully installed I turned phone off, (with sd card in) held vol.down/then camera, then power until I saw downloading..., now I pressed START and let it run and obviously it ran the whole process with no problem.:D

    BTW I used Windows 7 Ultimate.
     
  9. The~Skater~187

    The~Skater~187 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011

    Oct 20, 2011
    1,395
    460
    163
    Male
    Connecticut
    Just tried To Root my brothers Prevail, Odin definatly did not work for me. I got Delete Com1engine error.
     
  10. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #49
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,288
    4,136
    483

    were you able to root wirh Shabby script?
     
    The~Skater~187 likes this.
  11. Koumajutsu

    Koumajutsu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,444
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011

    My Hypothesis:

    Since Odin is, supposedly, Samsung's internal application for loading software into devices, and I'm apt to believe this as it is clearly made to batch load 8 devices simultaneously, here is what I think is going on.

    Samsung has probably noted a large volume of returns of phones that have failing USB ports on them (i.e. the famous phone charging when disconnected failure)

    This has probably led to them making a small change in the hardware/firmware of the phone to help resolve this issue.

    This has probably in turn made the phone incompatible with the version of Odin we have.

    If I'm right, an updated version of Odin may already be leaked, or will be eventually.

    If anyone knows anyone who works for Samsung, hound them for information :)

    Edit: a quick search found version 4.43 on megaupload. I have 4.42 in all my directories
    link: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=ALFLM6T0
    See if this gives any better results
     
  12. The~Skater~187

    The~Skater~187 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011

    Oct 20, 2011
    1,395
    460
    163
    Male
    Connecticut
    I'll give that a try.


    Edit: Script didn't work for me, but the new Odin did..
     
  13. ninjarabbit

    ninjarabbit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    164
    28
    43
    Healthcare
    Sterling MI
    yup... i did it the same exact way that Kcsuper did it... Except i was running it with Windows Vista home Basic...and I think i already had it in "downloading" mode before i plugged it in and opened Odin... But it prolly won't make much difference... I also used Odin version 4.42... thanks for the link to the updated Odin too... always good to have more tools in the toolbox...;)
     
  14. Flame3

    Flame3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    11
    1
    16
    if you are still having problems getting odin to recognize your phone take the battery and the sd card out and then go into download mode hope it helps.
     
  15. ron580

    ron580 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    159
    64
    53
    college student
    Speaking about new phones boost mobile added a new phone to there line up, the lg marquee also known as the lg black. specs:4.3" display, single-core 1GHz processor and 512MB of RAM. It also comes with a rear-facing 5mp camera that can record 720p video, a front-facing 2mp camera for video-calling and 4GB of internal storage. for a price of $279
     
  16. johnny424

    johnny424 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,501
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    1,501
    466
    183
    HVAC Sheetmetal Mechanic/ Service Tech
    Washington Dc
    im just glad to see boost steping their game up...good to know we are starting to have plenty of options to choose from.:D
     
  17. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    I agree, the specs look good, though I do wish it was 4.3 screen lol:)
     
  18. ninjarabbit

    ninjarabbit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    164
    28
    43
    Healthcare
    Sterling MI
    That's what I'm SCREAMIN'... lol
     
  19. ron580

    ron580 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    159
    64
    53
    college student
    oh sorry its a 4 inch NOVA display
     
  20. lMonsterl

    lMonsterl Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,313
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011

    Jul 18, 2011
    1,313
    602
    213
    Self-Employed
    U.S.
    nice, it can be rooted. too bad theres no development on it.
     
  21. Rally 517

    Rally 517 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,048
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    1,048
    112
    143
    michigan
    I bought my daughter one for Christmas. Hers came with gingerbread. I used what Kouma made rooted with cmr5. No prob. She's running CT Mod 2.4. Me and my girl is running cm7 b4
     

Share This Page

Loading...