1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Odin (Return phone to Stock/Factory)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hroark13, Jul 15, 2011.

  1. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,288
    4,132
    483

    which files did you flash, did you try a different wireless network at starbucks or dunkin donuts
     

    Advertisement

  2. carben24

    carben24 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    40
    0
    15
    when i start it says check images files ?
     
  3. theonewho

    theonewho Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    82
    32
    23
    I finally got odin to flash my phone :-D I just used the zip file for odin here on a fresh copy of Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit. I have no idea why the windows xp on two different machines didn't work, but I'm good to go now.

    Now I just need to block the updater from trying to install EE14 (I think I saw instructions for that here) because it seems to mess up my phone. With EE14 more times than not I can only hear ppl on my phone if it's on speaker phone. I'll give EE13 a few days to see if it still happens before I decide if I should exchange my phone for a new one.

    @Shabbypenguin - Is there a way to install shabbymod 0.9 without installing the EE14 modem? If not that's cool, I can just fiddle around and make my own mod or something.

    Thanks so much for all the help guys. You're all awesomes!!!
     
  4. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    623
    Male
    absolutely, i dont force the modem update on anyone
     
  5. theonewho

    theonewho Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011

    Jul 10, 2011
    82
    32
    23
    Okay. I thought part of the shabbymod install process was to install the updated modem. Thanks for the quick reply :)
     
  6. Theek

    Theek Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Trying to restore my wife's prevail but I keep getting a message saying cannot open usb serial port. Can anybody tell me what is going wrong?
     
  7. xtronwest

    xtronwest Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    40
    1
    16
    Male
    Tech
    New Jersey


    No i have a wireless router at home and ever since i had mess up my phone and recover it back from odin i can't get my wifi to work on my phone. I shut off my cable modem turn it back on and still giving me problem. I never had it this problem before so i wanted to make sure if anyone who has use odin try setting up there wifi to see if they wifi works without a problem. I also know when i stand by my pc where my cable modem is at i get a better connection when i move away from my cable modem i lose wifi connection lol this is crazy
     
  8. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,288
    4,132
    483

    flash all 3 tar files at the same time, then try wifi at home, if still have problem go to starbucks and try their wifi, if you still have problem most likely it is hardware failure
     
  9. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,288
    4,132
    483

    tell me everything you have and everything you did

    it sounds like you have another program using the com port, try rebooting
     
  10. xtronwest

    xtronwest Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    40
    1
    16
    Male
    Tech
    New Jersey
    Ok Thanks
     
  11. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
     #76
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,456
    413
    Jax Fl
    Do you see your home wifi ssid on the phone? have you got encrypted or mac filtering set up?
    Start with the basics does your phone pick up the wifi signal, even if it does not connect?
     
  12. Theek

    Theek Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Okay, she got it to work on her laptop which runs windows 7 instead of xp and it fixed most of the problems she had with the phone before (lag, glitches, and none of the bottom touch screen buttons working) but the home button and the menu button still don't work. I have no idea why that would happen but other then that its working. Anybody have a guess as to whats going on now and/or how to fix it?
     
  13. hroark13

    hroark13 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #58
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    3,288
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011

    Jul 15, 2011
    3,288
    4,132
    483

    flash all three tar files again, and then boot into recovery
    vol up, camera, power

    do a factory reset and wipe cache
     
  14. danielmike

    danielmike Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    155
    41
    43
    Male
    web developer
  15. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Thanks again hroark13 for Odin and the SPHM820.ops that came with . It is needed when flashing the Shabbykernel . PREESH !! :D
     
  16. Doyouwantaspoo

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011

    Jul 3, 2011
    48
    1
    16
    I had some severe issues with my Prevail - lagging, freezing, at any and all times. It would sometimes freeze when I would open an app, start or end a call, hit the lock button, plug the charger in, and on top of that, the battery would not charge when powered on. 8 hours plugged in, not charged at all, unless I powered down the phone before charging. I did this Odin recovery, using all three .tar files to completely restore it to stock, hoping this will fix it. I will post updates.
     
  17. trenchkato

    trenchkato Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    507
    127
    93
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Nice work... brought my brick back to life....
     
  18. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    I just wanted to jump in here and say that I used the Odin zip and that it works like a charm ! Nice work hroark !! :D
     
  19. Cheezee292

    Cheezee292 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    42
    8
    36
    cook
    Mesquite, Nevada
    Mods please sticky this up there with the rest. Please
     
    smith058 likes this.
  20. Doyouwantaspoo

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011

    Jul 3, 2011
    48
    1
    16
    My phone was so messed up it was freezing over 5 times a day, and after using the Odin recovery with all three files, it hasn't frozen for over a day and a half. I'm going to try to put shabbymod back on it and see if it will work this time, let's hope!
     
  21. Doyouwantaspoo

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011

    Jul 3, 2011
    48
    1
    16
    I have had shabbymod on my phone that I fixed with the odin recovery for like two days now, and it hasnt frozen even once. i really owe you guys a lot, i got my phone working because of your hard work and effort. thank you so much.
     
  22. TPMeader

    TPMeader Newbie
    Rank:
     #916
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011

    Jun 9, 2011
    24
    2
    36
    Just out of curiosity, how do you use odin?? I have tried a few times and can't get it to flash anything. It kills the process in the middle of the first tar on windows 7 64 bit. I have it booted into download and did everything the instructions say, but it won't flash any of the .tar files, seperately or all at once.
     
  23. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal

    You need to select the ops which comes w/ the recovery zip . Then you add the tar zips to the proper locations . I did mine all at the same time . An error msg may pop up , disregard it and hit start and just let it run . It may take up to 8 minutes to complete . Just let it run . When it's done it'll say something like PASS !!!!! then it will terminate . That's it .
     
  24. TPMeader

    TPMeader Newbie
    Rank:
     #916
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011

    Jun 9, 2011
    24
    2
    36

    I have done that. I mean the process all together ends. I let it sit for a good hour and nothing. That was with all three files in their proper place. [​IMG]

    I was In download mode as well.
     
  25. Stlouizsin

    Stlouizsin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    126
    19
    38
    I NEED HELP BADDDDDD! I did the Odin unroot. Now my BASEBAND VERISION and my HARDWARE VERSION is UNKNOWN. What can I do? Plus I cant get phone out of AIRPLANE MODE.
     

Share This Page

Loading...