1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Ofcom gives Orange/T-Mobile permission to start deploying 4G

Discussion in 'Orange' started by El Presidente, Aug 21, 2012.

  1. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,531
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,531
    22,970
    3,118
    Scotland

    Advertisement

    D-U-R-X likes this.
  2. dnapro

    dnapro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Just waiting for the 1st four cities to be turned on :)
     
  3. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    This is AWESOME... I am looking forward to being able to upgrade in March next year... by then there should be a bit of choice for 4G phones :)
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,531
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,531
    22,970
    3,118
    Scotland
    Not that I have a 4g phone, but any idea when it will be available in Inverness?
     
  5. dnapro

    dnapro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    No news yet I'll keep you all posted on the timelines when we have them, still gotta get past the other networks trying to block us from turning it on at all yet! LOL
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  6. dnapro

    dnapro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    The 1st Cities will be switched on Tuesday 30th October :) Woop Woop
     
    El Presidente and D-U-R-X like this.
  7. Craigie

    Craigie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    I wonder if anyone knows, will 'EE' combine the Orange/T-Mobile signals? At the moment it seems to drop Orange signal then roam a T mobile one for me, does anyone know if once EE comes in will they be treating it as one signal or still hiding behind two?
     
  8. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Yesterday I got a text from Orange telling me that the next time I turn my phone off and back on, it will no longer be showing "Orange" as my service provider, but "EE".

    I have since turned off and back on and can confirm that it does say "EE" and would imagine that members of both networks are going to get the same message, which means that you won't get it roaming from one to another, as it will all be branded as the same network :)
     
  9. Craigie

    Craigie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Ah thanks that's what I was hoping, I was getting a bit sick of Orange and the switch to roaming never seemed very reliable but if they can consistently use both sets of signals that might get some pretty nice coverage :)
     
  10. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Yeah... I would have thought that they are just rebranding everyone as EE... makes sense really :)
     
  11. dnapro

    dnapro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Strange that it should drop your Orange signal and then lookup a T-Mo one, in the early phases of the network share rollout there was a drop in signal before the T-Mo would kick in but now you should be enjoying a seamless handover.

    If you wanna PM me your mobile or a/c number I can have a look at your a/c if you like?? ;)
     
  12. dnapro

    dnapro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Although your phone now shows EE as your network provider, nothing has really changed in terms of what network your on to be honest. We are renaming our stores and company EE but we will be keeping the Orange and T-Mobile brands and adding a 3rd which of course is EE. :)

    Not sure if and when this will change but for the forseeable future there will still be Orange and T-Mo. Even though I now work for EE I still am only trained in the Orange brand and the same applies for T-Mo staff. EE will have seperately trained staff in the EE brand. ;)
     
  13. Craigie

    Craigie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    May just be me being a bit of an idiot then, though I'm pretty sure sometimes it shows up as Orange T-Mobile and others it shows up as Orange (though obviously now showing up as EE :)).




    I was wondering does anyone have any idea of how much LTE is going to be costing on EE in comparison to 3G? Maybe from experience of this sort of thing going live elsewhere in the world? Is it likely to be
     
  14. balders

    balders Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    245
    33
    63
    Hampshire, England
    Taking into account oranges history with dodgy 3g coverage I would hold off a bit to see how well it rolls out and what prices they give it.

    As ee is going to be the only company offering 4gee for a while I would wait to see if some competition changes their prices and how their coverage fairs.

    Saying all that though, if my contract was up soon I'm pretty sure I would jump blindly in with both feet and hope for the best.

    I'm going out on a limb here but I think the 4gee contracts will be with limited data amounts. The same way original 3g data plans were......here, have a faster connection so you can download more but I'm going to cap it so you can't download much?

    Rant over.
     
  15. dnapro

    dnapro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

     
  16. dnapro

    dnapro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Not sure what happened there but my answers/opinions are in blue! LOL
     
  17. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Bit gutted... just had a look on the coverage checker and it looks like there won't be coverage for my part of Sheffield when it rolls out here :( I realize that it will come eventually, but it would have been nice to have it straight away!
     
  18. dnapro

    dnapro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    PM your postcode ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...