1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Offical Moment Update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by numus, Jan 14, 2010.

  1. jeffdlb

    jeffdlb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    273
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    273
    20
    38
    Maryland, USA
    I've been on the sidelines without a Samsung Moment yet, waiting for the phone to get updated and planning my migration strategy from Palm OS. I have two questions:

    (1) Does the Moment browser work well with the http://androidforums.com/ site? This forum doesn't have a mobile version, and it does not display well on the stock Palm OS browser on a small screen.

    (2) If I buy a new Moment from a store that knows how to do the upgrade, would they do it on the spot before I loaded anything on? Would this be standard procedure so I wouldn't even have to ask about it, or do they normally sell their existing inventory with whatever software was loaded?
     

    Advertisement

  2. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,863
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,863
    554
    213
    Cary, NC
    Especially since everything is wiped anyways.:rolleyes:



    So, I've been meaning to ask a few questions to the people that have gotten the update.
    1) Does the camera app open quickly now? Or does it still take about 10 secs?
    2) Does the screen respond better when you receive a phone call? (i.e. does the screen turn on during the first ring?)
    3) Does the proximity sensor work any better? If you pull it away from your ear on a phone call does it immediately react? Or does it still take 2-3 seconds?
    4) Does the Calendar still look the same? Or does it have a black background on it?
    5) What's the new update for Sprint TV look like? What's the difference?

    Thanks in advance!!
     
  3. globalninja

    globalninja Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    131
    3
    36
    1) the camera takes about 5 seconds to open for me

    2) I couldn't tell you, have not gotten a call yet.

    3) same answer

    4) yes, the calendar is black with white font.

    5) I never really used Sprint tv so I couldn't tell you this either
     
  4. globalninja

    globalninja Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    131
    3
    36
    1) the moment does render this website very well, I use my moment all the time to get on this website (even right now) though it works best with wifi

    2) try calling a store and asking them, maybe they can tell you
     
  5. kalel3038

    kalel3038 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    32
    0
    15
    MODESTO CA
    Only got a answer for the first question yes it works great just like a cp not 100 percent like a pc but 99.8 and this is comming from a guy who doesnt have a pc and his moment is his pc!! Reply to you from it now lol

     
  6. satinkzo

    satinkzo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    144
    0
    35
    Took about 4-6 seconds for me
    I never watched my screen before as I never knew when I had a call coming in. My phone still vibrates before the screen turns on however. Screen lights up on 2nd vibration.
    mmm, I think it works as it should, not immediate, but well within my acceptable time limit
    The days not in the current month are black for me. Current month days are light gray
    Never used sprint TV before update.
     
  7. Johnny Cakes

    Johnny Cakes Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    348
    69
    53
    Dude, ya gotta read the words. "Suspect" means to question the reliability of the statement. The only person who said "lying" is you.

    But I did call the Sprint Store on Bay Area Blvd at (281) 332-2800 and spoke to the service manager. She said that no phones have been bricked during upgrade nor have they had to give out a new phone for problems during an upgrade.

    Maybe she just didn't hear of the incident -- what was the name of your tech?
     
  8. marcusb

    marcusb Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    48
    0
    15
    I called them and they asked for my SS#, mothers maiden name and my CC#. What kinda scam is this?



    J/K.. I believe that they told you that it was bricking phones.. but it was probably just a lazy tech who didn't want to do one.
     
  9. jasonamd

    jasonamd Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    84
    18
    18
    Never got the tech's name and I don't recall the name of the person helping out front. I had wrote his name down on my reciept for dropping my phone off but must have thrown it away. I do remember his nametag said he was a "lead" on it though.

    They showed me my phone after they had tried to update it. It was on the "downloading" screen and had a bunch of red text all over it which I couldn't read from where I was.

    Not sure who you would have talked to at the store. They don't open till noon today.

    As far as the email they said they had about not updating the phones...I'm just repeating what they told me. They had 2 other people waiting for updates after mine and they just gave their phones back and told me they weren't going to try to update my new one to the new version.

    They definitely did something wrong on my original phone because I saw it and I now have a new phone. At least they gave me all the accessories too...so now I have 2 batteries and 2 chargers.
     
  10. Th3sandm4n

    Th3sandm4n Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    33
    2
    36
    1) Takes about 4-6 seconds to open up.
    2) It turned on pretty instantly for me, at least at the first not of my ringer (which may have a slight delay at the actual start), but a lot better than before.
    3) don't know yet
    4) current month -light gray, other months - black, current day -white
    5) Sprint TV looks the same, I only used it once to check it out before the update though (to find out ABC mobile under "Live" is not really live :( )
     
  11. stuyacht

    stuyacht Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    3
    0
    25
    Best Buy
    Lincoln
    Hey Everyone just letting people know that i'm heading into my sprint store tomorrow to get the update. I asked them if they have had success with the update and the assured me that they haven't had any problems...we'll see how it goes!
     
  12. SlyFerret

    SlyFerret Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    395
    25
    43
    The tech that did my update told me that the documentation that was released to them had two of the steps flip-flopped out of order. They realized this while working with techs from other stores in the area.

    They said once they figured it out, the updates worked just fine.

    I don't know if this was in addition to the initial issue with the drivers for the Moment on their workstation not working right, of if the steps that were flip-flopped caused the drives to not install right.

    Either way... I would expect that after the initial couple days of the update being available, things will go much more smoothly.

    If you're that fussy... just wait a couple more days and try it in the middle of the week. No point in getting all bent out of shape.

    -SF
     
  13. eyebeam

    eyebeam Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,412
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    I took my wife's phone in to the Edina MN store yesteday. After calling to check, they said to bring it in, should take about 1 hour. When I went back, I was told they could not do it and had failed on other Moments as well. They sent me to the Apple Valley store who did the update in 15 minutes, no prob. Everything's running well for her after getting it all set back up.

    Heads-Up to fellow Minnesotans - Go to
    Sprint Store - Google Maps
     
  14. zikronix

    zikronix Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009

    Sep 21, 2009
    13
    0
    15
    bah my store is closed today and im sure they will be closed tomorrow for mlk day and the rapidshare link sucks
     
  15. kobuu

    kobuu Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

     
  16. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,312
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    2,312
    329
    163
    Resource Consumer
    San Diego
    I just called my store.... may have been a f#ck-nut (it was a woman who answered)... but they told me they 'might' have the update in 3-5 weeks. Wtf is this? No love for Tallahassee? I'll probably stop by the store later today. Gonna go down town anyways, may as well show up in person and ask an actual tech. person, though I've had a bad experience (or 6) with them. With this phone, the first one I put the cases that were sold @ the store on mine, and the screen was loose and rattled. I took it in there, and they said, 'Yea, we can fix it. It'll be about an hour.' About 45 min. later, to my disbelief, they had taken the guts of my phone, and put them in another Moment case, that was worse in other ways than my loose-screened one. There were DENTS on the side and back. There were SLASHES on the sides and screen. The center track pad rattled and was loose. I said heck no, put it back in the other, and got a new one, which should have happened in the first place. So yea.... I don't like them.... and don't get me started on our old Nextel walky-talky phones. (PTT)
     
  17. satinkzo

    satinkzo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    144
    0
    35
    Hmm, my reports earlier of the battery meter being better might need to be rescinded. Just noticed that my phone dropped from 50% to 5% after picking it up and getting on the web for 10 minutes. Doing a restart into the diag mode, battery capacity is reported at 40%, boot back into android and phone meter shows 50%, then quickly to 40% then even quicker to 15% then a few minutes later to 5%.

    Gonna be harder go gauge since I am used to the meter being whacked, but above 50%, the meter seemed pretty accurate. Either way, it still seems that I'll have plenty of time left even when it reports 15%. I'm used to it, but it's still disheartening that they have not appeared to have completely remedied this.

    I'm not willing to capitulate, but the really important updates (aGPS, keyboard lag, etc) are working and every moment user here knows the battery meter issue, but I would have to think this should have been fixed this time around.
    Anyone else add anything now that some of us have had the "official" update for a couple days now.
     
  18. Th3sandm4n

    Th3sandm4n Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    33
    2
    36
    Battery update: From a full charge I have had it on 13 hours so far and just got to 15%. Granted, I have had GPS/Satellite stuff on the entire time I was asleep and while I woke up also (it was at full charge while I slept for about 8 hours). I'm just using the gps on for this first run to get the extreme case since GPS is a power hog, normally I would be toggling this on/off as needed.
     
  19. Robfactory

    Robfactory Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009

    Sep 24, 2009
    246
    2
    56
    Writer.
    East Coast
    I went to the one in Miami by the Falls Mall and they looked up the update in their intranet n did not see it.
    When I called Sprint from there they told me there wasn't an update.
    Sprint ftw.
     
  20. gblinckmann

    gblinckmann Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    47
    2
    16
    Male
    Albany, NY
    I got my update in Crossgates Mall around Albany, NY. No problems with it so far. They'd even done some already!
     
  21. sboggus

    sboggus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    55
    5
    16
    Went to the store in Southlake, Texas to have my Moment updated. Not a soul in the store due to the Cowboy game. Told them I needed the update installed and they said no problem. Handed my phone back to me all of 7 minutes later and said all done. I looked at the phone and it hadn't been wiped, so I knew they hadn't done it. He literally clicked on system updates and gave the phone back. I had to convince him that I wanted the update that only Sprint could do in the store that was announced on Friday. Then it was, 'ooooooohhhh'. Gave my phone back to me about 45 minutes later and it appears to be updated. Playing with it now.

    Proves you definitely have to go into the store knowing what you are talking about.
     
  22. Johnny Cakes

    Johnny Cakes Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    348
    69
    53
     
  23. sboggus

    sboggus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    55
    5
    16

    I am not showing any difference in battery....
     
  24. kencrudup

    kencrudup Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    297
    45
    43
    Android Hardware Dev
    Los Angeles, CA
    ... yeah. ... sorry about that. :D

    (Not so much that I like the Vikes, but Old Guys Rule! :))
     
  25. marcusb

    marcusb Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    48
    0
    15
     

Samsung Moment

The Samsung Moment was one of the first Android Phones with a slideout keyboard.

Share This Page

Loading...