1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General [Official Discussion] Huawei Ascend 2.1 - 2.2 Firmware Upgrade (Info updated as received!)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by floweringmind, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. ShinySide

    ShinySide Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,502
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,502
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Seriously Google/Android made that shutter sound default to where you cant turn it off from 2.2 and 2.3 for, no joke, Anti-pervert reasons.
     

    Advertisement

  2. starxpilot

    starxpilot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    536
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    536
    61
    98
    Loss Prevention Agent
    Garland
    Not working properly? Mind explaining what is working and what isn't?

    Since you just upgraded, I'm assuming that maybe something went wrong during the installation, you may need to flash the stock Froyo again.
     
  3. Gmash

    Gmash Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,912
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,912
    3,197
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    You seem to know just a little bit too much about this subject lol. j/k:p
     
  4. ShinySide

    ShinySide Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,502
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,502
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Why do you think I know how to turn it off? LOL :D
     
  5. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,330
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,330
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State


    lmao
     
  6. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,330
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,330
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    if all fails, go tostore or call them and request for a data reset...
     
  7. starry1048

    starry1048 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Hiya , I finally install 2.2 on my Huawei Ascend
    and notice , its different , the 9 screens is gone ?
    its 5 now ? and some stuffs from the org 2.1 ascend are gone ?
    so i was wondering , am i missing some files ?
    or install it wrong ?
    I download the 2.2 from metro App from my phone
    also , when i had teh 2.1 , I have all the app , like z root , tium bkup , etc
    will it work with 2.2 as well ?
    Thank you
     
  8. Can0dope

    Can0dope Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    511
    112
    93
    Hospitality
    Phoenix, AZ

    Yes. If you want more homescreens you can try different launchers. And of course, upgrading to 2.2 most likely erased all your user apps. Just go to the market on your computer and reinstall from there.
     
  9. ShinySide

    ShinySide Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,502
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,502
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida

    No that's how its suppose to be. And yes all that will work except z4root. Use gingerbreak to root
     
  10. swtnss

    swtnss Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011

    Aug 6, 2011
    166
    10
    48
    Female
    Business owner
    parts unknown
    i can send and recieve text messages but i cany send or receive mms pictures. I called metro and they did a data reset but it didnt work. Any other suggwations.
     
  11. starry1048

    starry1048 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    thanks cuz i know some of my app dont work anymore

    BTW , 2.2 I can use Flash ?
    how do i put app in my sd card ?
    cuz they are still downloading to my phone
     
  12. Can0dope

    Can0dope Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    511
    112
    93
    Hospitality
    Phoenix, AZ

    No... flash will not work on the ascend... ever.

    To move apps, go to settings,applications, manage applications, go to each app, and click move to sd. Some apps will not move, and Widgets will not work from sd.
     
  13. ray1126

    ray1126 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    103
    11
    38
    Construction, Building Maintenance
    Santa Ana, CA
    what is it and is there any benefits to using it? I notice GOD with his 9132011 has included the GUI for a2sd by the way thank you GOD for fixing the lights.
    back to me question is a2sd is that apps to the sd card or the android OS to sd card if I use it will it make things faster or slower because on broad mem is usually faster than flash mem. but if someone who has used a2sd can answer my long drawn out ??? I wound be grateful. :D
     
  14. starry1048

    starry1048 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Hiya Every1 ,
    when my Huawei was running on 2.1
    I had everything , but its been awhile
    I forgot what App to use
    Mainly cuz there are alot of Junk App on 2.2
    like My Extra Keep popping up ,
    also My Wi-Fi keep turning off ,
    which App do I use to uninstall all the Junk app ?
    do i have to root the phone again ?
    i know z4 root dont work anymore ,
    which app is compatible to z4 root ?
    Just wanted to deleted the start up screen ,
    junk app like , M studio , Loopt , MyExtras , Virtual Card , Etc
    Thank You :D
     
  15. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    On 2.2 use Gingerbreak to root. Then use something like Titanium Backup to freeze or remove bloatware.
     
  16. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,157
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL

    Actually the metropcs apps are locked away from titanium backup.

    I explain how to get at them in my guide (link is in my signature)
     
  17. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    lol Metro is weird about everything, it seems.
     
  18. slashdotjeo

    slashdotjeo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011

    Sep 18, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Is the market version of Netflix working on the ascend running 2.2? It runs for me but when i play a movie it just attempts, but never actually plays. I'd really like confirmation. Maybe i have to mod the phone? Has someone actually seen Netflix play the movie not just the app running.
     
  19. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA
    yes, netflix update has all devices ability.
    so yes
     
  20. ShinySide

    ShinySide Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,502
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,502
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    A few people have told me this after I told them Netflix now "supports" all versions. That it starts to play then crashes and takes you back to the movie list. So as far as I know no.
     
  21. kevinrubio

    kevinrubio Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    1,029
    111
    143
    Student
    Atlanta, GA
    mine works perfect
     
  22. BILL88STANG

    BILL88STANG Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    196
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    196
    3
    36
    mine did work until recently, will load the movie then just sit at the screen with the play button then i get a netflix not responding error
     
  23. Can0dope

    Can0dope Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    511
    112
    93
    Hospitality
    Phoenix, AZ
    A2SD allows you to move apps to SD card. With PG's builds, it's built in. The new build has the GUI. Benefits of A2SD include: more free internal memory, easy access to your apps when flashing new ROMs, etc. You might have issues running widgets from SD, but otherwise, yes, it will make things faster.
     
    ray1126 likes this.
  24. ray1126

    ray1126 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    103
    11
    38
    Construction, Building Maintenance
    Santa Ana, CA
    CanOdope
    when partitioning the SD card how many should I create and what size should each partition be also how big should each swap be as of last night I created 1 partition on the sd 500megs and a swap of 100megs thank for your fast response to my last question in the forum.
     
  25. Can0dope

    Can0dope Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    511
    112
    93
    Hospitality
    Phoenix, AZ
    Check you inbox...

    512 partition
    32 swap

    Thats what I did.
     

Share This Page

Loading...