1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root **Official GB leak 2 thread** (was Anyone get OTA 4.5.588? Possibly Gingerbread OTA?)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ECFfighter7232, Apr 12, 2011.

  1. ultradroid

    ultradroid So many android phones...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    472
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    472
    71
    53
    Title Insurance Underwriter
    Cleveland, Ohio - the North Coast!
    Steven - been there/done that. I bought their apk from the market, even though I didn't want to play with Gingerbread right now, because I feel that it's important to support these talented guys who are a tremendous asset to the entire Android community.

    BTW, it's good to see you back as Yoda. :)

    -Mike
     

    Advertisement

    Steven58 likes this.
  2. not2shabby

    not2shabby Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    47
    3
    16
    lab tech
    Columbus, Oh
    Ok, if I'm rooted and have some bloat frozen with Ti backup but running froyo, will the update come through if I just 'unfreeze' the bloat?

    Maybe I'll wait till they have the OTA GB root figured out.
     
  3. trophynuts

    trophynuts Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    based on those pics that p3 put up the 3G symbol is different than the one on the leak.
     
  4. Notluk

    Notluk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    103
    9
    56
    Student
    Northeast OH
    It looks more like the 3G from Moto's Froyo ROM. I was actually surprised by the icon in the original leaked GB when it was first released, guess it didn't last.
     
  5. woodstorm

    woodstorm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    475
    157
    68
    I do "stuff" for "acquaintances"...
    NOLA
  6. Thats

    Thats That guy is This
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    1,169
    383
    183
    Male
    Air Force
    Fargo, ND
    *Waiting Patiently for P3 to drop us the root*

    Edit: EVERYONE of you should toss them donations for the TBH App. They save your phones. ;)
     
  7. urwrstfear

    urwrstfear Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011

    Apr 12, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Guys android central just posted that Verizon said that they are not pushing any gb update for the droidx. This would explain why no one else on the planet has recievedthis ota. Something is very fishy about this. Especially since the bootlaoder hasn't been changed or the kernel. Im not saying it isn't from motorola. It has to be to be flashed in stock recovery. But I think this is still an early test version that someone yanked and is playing a big joke on the droidx peeps.
     
  8. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,482
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    That could be true. Very surprising our 'experts' didn't catch on if this turns out to be the case. No need to sbf and take this if it isn't the official ota update.
     
  9. scraptacular

    scraptacular Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011

    Apr 12, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I manually installed this earlier and my battery life suh-ucks now. :( Suggestions? Thanks! Should we start a new thread for Fixes and Findings for OTA GB Non-Rooted?
     
  10. Steven58

    Steven58 "The Unqualified Moderator!"
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,973
    Posts:
    33,668
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    33,668
    26,557
    3,973
    Male
    New Jersey, US of A

    why not? Go ahead! ;)
     
  11. C0n57an71n3

    C0n57an71n3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    287
    26
    43
    Give it a day or so, man. It's gotta sort itself.
     
  12. rswan814

    rswan814 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I downloaded the zip file, renamed it to "update", and placed it on the root of my sd card.

    But when I boot into recovery, and hit "apply sdcard:update.zip" it says "E: Can't open /cache/recover/command" at the top. Then it starts going through the process (opening,verifying, ect) and says "E:Error in /sdcard/update.zip (status 7) installation aborted."

    Also, from the last time I had my phone rooted, it still boots into the clock work recovery. I never installed any roms, still on stock froyo, i only played around with things like drocap.

    If anyone could provide any insight I'd appreciate it, thanks.
     
  13. FAUguy

    FAUguy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    The update.zip file installed on my X and after it was done I rebooted the phone. Now all I get is the red circle with the white M logo in the center. I waited 30 minutes and nothing happened. Pulled the battery and turned the phone back on, same thing again. I also now can't get into the boot menu.
     
  14. AshG

    AshG Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    82
    24
    18
    Have you tried the following?

    1. Pull and replace the battery
    2. When turning the phone on, hold the Power and Home keys.
    3. When the Triangle/! page comes up, press both volume keys simultaneously.
    4. Wipe data/cache. I do this two or three times, just for good measure.
    5. Reboot.
     
  15. greenless

    greenless Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010

    Oct 14, 2010
    223
    18
    38
    Did they change the colors of the new blur at all? I've seen a screenshot with a black notification bar and another one with the same navy blue bar from the GB leak. Which made the final cut?
     
  16. AshG

    AshG Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    82
    24
    18
    At this point, it's almost best to say neither has made the final cut. Based on P3 and CellZealot's comments, I think this may have been a premature release caused by a sleepy engineer with an itchy trigger finger. I don't think we'll know which is the final color until VZW figures out which way is up in this situation.
     
  17. z0mb13m4n

    z0mb13m4n Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    289
    40
    43
    Male
    Salt Lake City
    ok, so reading through this, I started to get excited. but the last page bummed me out. So is there any clarification as to whether or not this is the official OTA? And if this is official, will I not get it since I'm running a ROM? I don't want it until its rooted.
     
  18. AshG

    AshG Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    82
    24
    18
    Verizon has been playing catch-up with this situation. They've stated several places that this is not an official OTA update, while other people have posted pictures of the OTA install script on their phones. I'd assume at this point that a very recent dev build was accidentally pushed out to a small (but random) set of phones.

    In order to make use of any OTA wireless-pushed upgrade, you must be on the most recent stock image. ROMs change parts of the system that the OTA checks prior to installation, so it will fail on your device.
     
    z0mb13m4n likes this.
  19. FAUguy

    FAUguy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Thanks, cellzealot was able to get my phone back to android 2.2.1 with sbf.
     
  20. FAUguy

    FAUguy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    I tried the update.zip file, and this time in worked.
    Says "Android 2.3.3" and "System 4.5.588", "Build 4.5.1_57_DX5-18"
     
  21. thefnshow66

    thefnshow66 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    91
    3
    16
    Anyone having issues connecting to a wifi with the new update? Everything seems to look good for me but whenever I connect to my wifi, it shows that it's connected but it acts like I'm not connected to anything.
     
  22. theineffablebob

    theineffablebob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    359
    51
    53
    With all ROMs--custom ROMs and stock ROMs--I've found that it takes a couple days for battery life to stabilize itself.
     
  23. alprazolam

    alprazolam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    1,722
    194
    143
    Conspiracy theory time. Either what AshG said

    or

    Someone close to Moto or VZ released anonymously to give us the latest build but not lose their job.

    or

    Moto released on purpose in order to make US the testers.

    The last is always widely believed but refuted. I go with the first or second "or".
     
  24. staypuft

    staypuft Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008

    Nov 25, 2008
    43
    3
    36
    chicago
    just tried the update and now i just get the red circled moto logo and it takes me to a screen that says
    bootloader
    30.04
    err:a5,69,35,00,27

    battery ok
    ok to program
    connect usb
    data cable

    did i just brick my phone?

    was rooted and used masderstcok340 to go back and downloaded op mirror to update to gingerbread. how can i get phone to boot again? i cant get into stock bootloader
     
  25. FAUguy

    FAUguy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    One issues I've found after installing it is that some picture and videos in the Gallery will not load. Also, when changing Home Screen Profiles, it doesn't load the save wallpaper.
     

Share This Page

Loading...