1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Official GSM Hero 2.1 Thread

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Myth, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. mrdagz

    mrdagz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009

    Jun 30, 2009
    95
    0
    15
    the update failed on mine, but i think that might be because i have installed a custom boot loader to install a custom rom.

    any one know how i can get the stock bootloader back?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Timshel

    Timshel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    on 02 uk and set my phone to august and NOTHING so far
    still on 2.73.405.5
     
  3. peterb23

    peterb23 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    80
    12
    18
    UK
    I have two t-mobile heroes and tried the date trick. The first one updated straight away but the second one just won't.

    What makes it really frustrating is that it's the wife's phone that has updated and she couldn't care less about 2.1
     
  4. ticho

    ticho Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    232
    12
    38
    Slovakia
    Get it from http://liveimage.htc.com/OTA_Hero_HTC_WWE_2.73.405.93-2.73.405.5_release7sd65upagwzkrpms.zip, extract the file recovery.img from it and flash that using Recovery Flasher (or is the original name Flashrec? It's one or the other.)
    Or if you made a backup of the original bootloader when installing the custom one, you can use that one. :)
     
  5. magicmat

    magicmat Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009

    Sep 13, 2009
    25
    6
    16
    Hi there! I have an Orange handset, that I rooted and upgraded to....1.5 I think?! I rolled the date forward, and got an instant link to upgrade. When i clicked it, the phone rebooted and stopped at the "Android System Recovery". If i reboot the system, nothing has loaded, and no prompts appear. DOH! Any advice? Do i need to revert to my earlier version? Do i have to use the "bootloader" instructions above? IF so, can i have some slightly more idiot proof instructions. Please help!! Thanks
     
  6. apter

    apter Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    12
    4
    16
    Liverpool, UK
    Has anyone with an Orange UK branded Hero had an update yet?
     
  7. jmfryer1978

    jmfryer1978 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    44
    13
    18
    Both myself and other half are on Orange branded handsets (just with stock 1.5) and neither of us have had the updates yet. Despite me frequently changing the dates backwards and forwards to try and force it.
     
  8. Ashman

    Ashman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    22
    0
    15
    Have you got the firmware update settings set to prompt you before updating? If so try changing your date to the year 2011.

    I was having problems when I moved the month forward by one i wouldn't get any update so I changed the settings to prompt me before downloading an update and then I changed the date by a year.
     
  9. WIBBLA

    WIBBLA Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010

    Jan 15, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    White Van Man
    UK
    3UK here and nothing tried rolling forward month and year still nothing...
     
  10. Vulpes

    Vulpes Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    UK
    I'm on Orange and no update as yet. Don't forget though, there has been no 'official' announcement or update in the UK yet, only in Ireland and Greece etc.
     
  11. apter

    apter Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    12
    4
    16
    Liverpool, UK
    I've just given that a go and still no luck unfortunately :(
     
  12. mpw

    mpw Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,143
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    1,143
    130
    143
    the past
    Yes there has been, the announcement was on the UK page, but included Ireland, Greece and Nordic country codes.
     
  13. Vulpes

    Vulpes Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    UK
  14. the_r_sole

    the_r_sole Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    18
    2
    16

    HTC - Support

    guess it doesn't have it in the download section since its ota update maybe(?)
     
  15. Vulpes

    Vulpes Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    UK
    Copied from the HTC site - I'm still a little confused though, The build is for the ones in red but I'm still not seeing a UK/GB update. or in simple terms - to me this update is ONLY for those regions listed so far?

    Update
     
  16. JJ24

    JJ24 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    Hi

    Has the 2.1 update actually been released yet then as havent had a prompt for an update?!? if it has is there a way to get the download if i have accidently cancelled it or something?? also when i get the update do i lose all the apps i got??
     
  17. Elijah2104

    Elijah2104 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    21
    0
    15
    Does Peep, Footprints and the Stocks programme keep reloading in spite of the number of times you close it???
     
  18. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    Nothing onthe HTC site
     
  19. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    It's posted on the UK support site, so I think it goes without saying that 2.73.405.93 will apply unless your device is one of the other two localised versions. :rolleyes:
     
  20. mpw

    mpw Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,143
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    1,143
    130
    143
    the past
  21. MattW

    MattW Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    68
    2
    16
    IT researcher
    Cheshire, UK
    UK, generic, contract free Hero on O2

    Changing the month didn't have any effect for me, but setting the year forward to 2011 triggered an immediate notification. Update downloaded and installed, Build No. now 2.73.405.93 and I've got the 'check for software updates' option.

    Roll on 2.1 :)
     
  22. rryles

    rryles Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I think the important thing to note with changing the date forward is to go further than you've ever gone before! (So if you've tried going forward a month before you'll need to go further more than that for it to have an effect).
     
  23. Piziil

    Piziil Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Was running villain, going through hell now to get back to official rom... better be worth it :eek:
     
  24. dannywooly

    dannywooly Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    35
    0
    15
    3UK Hero, tried month and year rolled forward and still nothing stuck on 2.73.7771.73 :(
     
  25. amnesia

    amnesia Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    72
    1
    36
    IT Manager
    Bournemouth, UK
    Still want to know why mine has upgraded to the Greece/Ireland version... I have noticed that in Set Locale in Settings I have English (United Kingdom) and English (Ireland) showing. Don't know why both are showing.

    Might try emailing HTC to ask... they might be getting sick on my emails though.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...