1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Official GSM Hero 2.1 Thread

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Myth, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. richt2000

    richt2000 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I was getting the triangle error so have downloaded and installed the HTC Sync version as suggested. I have not been very successful patching with the rom from the HTC web site though. Most times i get a 170 USB connection error. 2 times, I has been ablet o find the phone and gets to the instlaling boot loader step and sits "waiting for bootloader" for about 70 seconds and then I get 171 USB connection error.

    Any ideas??? Please help.

    I've got a stock G2 on TMobile that seems to have no problem syncing but this small patch appears to be beyond it....

    Thanks

    RichT
     

    Advertisement

  2. RedSkies

    RedSkies Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    82
    4
    16
    UK
    I saw this on Twitter and I was ready to hit the panic button, then I realised it was posted by EuroDroid who had previously posted this:

    HTC issues NEW Hero ROM update – only for those who have already updated EuroDroid

    Basically telling people, wrongly, if they had already received the OTA update they should override it with the old ROM from last September :rolleyes:

    I'm not saying this isn't possibly true, just wait until you hear it from more than once source.
     
  3. MR_COATES

    MR_COATES Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    108
    11
    38
    Glasgow-ish, UK
    They've published a 'story' based on an e-mail conversation with a customer service rep.

    And I'm calling BS on this one cause the beginning of the 'reply' is perfect english, the ending is perfect english and the centre is this mess:

    The second part for the update will fix the issue you having this will be sent out within the next 2 mouths

    1. Issue YOU having?

    2. SENT OUT within the next 2 MOUTHS?


    Ridiculous. The 2.1 ROM already exists and will be released when all handsets are ready for it.

    As already stated by RedSkies, Eurodroid's poor 'reporting' has prompted some users to redo the state that their phone was already at, resulting in a complete wipe of the phone.

    RANT OVER!
     
  4. amnesia

    amnesia Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    72
    1
    36
    IT Manager
    Bournemouth, UK
    I have sorted the problem with my phone having two 'locales' (UK and Ireland)

    I downloaded the updated ROM on the HTC website, installed it and then got the FOTA update - now running the EU build ending in .93 rather than .95 for Greece and Ireland.


    Just gotta wait for the 2.1 now...
     
  5. magicmat

    magicmat Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009

    Sep 13, 2009
    25
    6
    16
    My handset was Orange, I rooted it, am now on O2, and I got the software download prompt. However it failed as per the above post. Do i need to reinstall the official download from the HTC site? Can someone please help/advise me?! Thanks!
     
  6. Randy

    Randy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010

    Jan 3, 2010
    129
    6
    36

    If you`re on Orange then shouldn`t you already be on 1.5 with the latest ROM anyway?:thinking:
     
  7. magicmat

    magicmat Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009

    Sep 13, 2009
    25
    6
    16
    I bought it when first released, and did the rooting so i could use a o2 sim, and to get the latest version before officially released. So what should I do now?!
     
  8. Gardner

    Gardner Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    0
    5
  9. elou75

    elou75 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    58
    0
    35
    childrens services coordinator
    london
    Sorry to ask but I have read through this thread so much that I'm now a bit confused. Lol. I'm on Orange and have tried setting the date forward, which didn't work. I've checked the HTC support site and was wondering if I should down load the e.u update That ends 5.5? Or should I hang on 4 Orange to send the ota update?
    Thanks in advance 4 any advice.
     
  10. jammychap

    jammychap Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    172
    44
    43
    Engineer
    Milton Keynes England.
    Ok really really flipping confused now, i'm on Orange also and have never done any updates what should I be doing ??? do I need to install both the rom updates on the HTC site of just wait for the over the air update ???? :(:(:(

    My current status is

    Firmware 1.5
    Kernal 2.6.27-430
    build number 2.73.61.66
    software1.0.0.a6288
     
  11. jammychap

    jammychap Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    172
    44
    43
    Engineer
    Milton Keynes England.
    OMG you must have posted that the same time as me lol.
     
  12. adam_hilluk

    adam_hilluk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    218
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    218
    17
    58
    Solihull, UK
    And I was about to ask, Orange are being rubbish.
     
  13. ticho

    ticho Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    232
    12
    38
    Slovakia
  14. MR_COATES

    MR_COATES Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    108
    11
    38
    Glasgow-ish, UK
    :D
     
  15. JoHunter

    JoHunter Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    27
    2
    46
    Female
    Northumberland
    I emailed Orange and asked if they could say when the OTA update would be available & this is the reply I received :thinking:

    I would like to advise that Orange customers are not able to obtain firmware updates direct from HTC themselves, this is due to the Orange branding that you have on your phone that allows you to use this on our network.

    Please find below a link to our website on a PC where you are able to check in the future if an update via Orange has been released.

    http://www2.orange.co.uk/servlet/Sa...96364420640&product=Feature&t=Product&tabid=1

    I have also supplied below the required steps that you will need to take in order to organise an update to your phone. Be advised to follow the on-screen instructions as it will give you necessary and required information regarding your phone.

    "your phone's features" > "download software updates" > "how do I download the latest software update" > "HTC Hero update"

    When a new update is made available by a handset manufacturer they will pass a version of this to Orange so that we can run the required tests to confirm that this update they have released will co-exist with the Orange branding that you are required to use on your phone.

    It is possible that the new update that is released may not co-exist with the Orange branding and thus we will not be able to release the update for the HTC Hero, if they can not co-exist and we were to release this to your phone, this could effectively be detrimental to your handset and Orange will not process for this reason.

    If the update version can not co-exist with the Orange branding then we will wait for HTC to release a new update to which we will restart the testing process accordingly.

    Be aware that it is not possible to advise of any estimated timescale for the testing of this update by Orange, furthermore, we can not guarantee that an update will be released at all regarding the HTC Hero as the updates that could be released may never work alongside the Orange branding on the phone.

    Because some of this information is speculative and based on situations regarding the testing of updates that may or may not ever be released by HTC and the time it takes to complete the testing of the new updates, please accept my sincere apologies that we can not be more specific regarding your query.
     
    elou75 likes this.
  16. MR_COATES

    MR_COATES Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    108
    11
    38
    Glasgow-ish, UK
    Anything else?!
     
  17. Manzrif

    Manzrif Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    19
    4
    16
    say if 3 or orange do not release an ota update. can you unlock the phone and use the unbranded hero official rom?
     
  18. amnesia

    amnesia Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    72
    1
    36
    IT Manager
    Bournemouth, UK
    Utter bollocks. The branding doesn't allow you to use the Hero on the Orange network at all. I am on Orange, but with a sim free (unbranded) phone and it works fine...

    What Orange actually mean is that they don't want you to lose the rubbish that they install on top of the standard HTC firmware. Stuff like the call credit check, Orange mail etc.

    For those of you on Orange branded phones, is it worth unbranding them (somehow ?) then installing the standard HTC EU firmware ?
     
  19. aggrodoc

    aggrodoc Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009

    Sep 20, 2009
    38
    0
    15

    I used the above link for Orange HERO updates- HERO is not even mentioned in the list of phones. I am never going to use Ornage and HTC ever.
     
  20. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,024
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,024
    9,694
    1,433
    UK
    You can install non-branded firmware on a branded phone.

    But by the time you've gone to all the trouble you may was well have installed custom firmware.
     
  21. JoHunter

    JoHunter Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    27
    2
    46
    Female
    Northumberland
    So it's not just me that can't find HTC Hero anywhere in the (short) list of phones. I've even tried going right back to the begining of the support pages and can't find anywhere that gives me the options of ....

    "your phone's features" > "download software updates" > "how do I download the latest software update" > "HTC Hero update"

    Typical of Orange support, about as useless as a chocolate fireguard!
     
  22. jammychap

    jammychap Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    172
    44
    43
    Engineer
    Milton Keynes England.
    Oh joy so what we are saying is even if 2.1 does eventually surface it may still never make it onto the Orange network ffs, man I wish I never checked on the latest news on the update now just makes me more n more angry gurrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr :mad:.
     
  23. elou75

    elou75 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    58
    0
    35
    childrens services coordinator
    london
    Also If u click on the link Orange provided you can't even highlight the hero. so we cant check for the update anyway. thanks orange!!! jammychap u and i seemed to be thinking the same thing at the same time. lol

    Sorry for repeating info!
     
  24. 1ceb0x

    1ceb0x Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    73
    6
    16
    game tester E.A
    Bucharest
    Hello Hero users. This is my 1st post in this whole forum but i have read this thread completely for 5 hours now. I have a few question and i hope for some good answers.

    I have a free-sim, nonbranding HERO brought from NORWAY, in april. It was up-dated when i first took it. I was waiting the Eclair for some time now mainly because i want my hero to speed up because sometimes it's a bit laggy or "low fps" to say the least :).
    So, a week ago i made the FOTA update. So far so good, but after that, i start having problems, almost everything i made, the system stopped unexpectedly and i had to click "Force close" but the notification kept coming so the latest thing to do was hit shut down. After 1 week of this FOTA, my hero is running fine now, i think it needed some time to be ok with the update I guess. Is anyone out there with this same problem after this FOTA update?

    I need some tips about how to backup my data, like SMS, or settings (my apps are backed up with linda manager, my contacts are in google, and my music and pics, on sd card). Anyone who can help me with this, thanks in advance.

    Also, when the update to Eclair will be ready, do I need to make a backup of my original ROM of 1.5? And, If this Eclair official release its not very stable (the taiwannese eclair has bugs) like we want to, I will be able to root my phone after I update my Hero to Eclair 2.1? (i didn't root it until now, but if this eclair is a failure, i will want to try some custom ROMs)

    Because hTC will not upgrade the HERO to 2.2 ("HTC have suggested [19] that they will not be updating the device further to version 2.2.") (i heard that this 2.2 is 450x faster) i will want to upgrade in the near future to this froyo release with the custom ROMs. Is there a way to root the official Eclair 2.1 and i can use custom roms? Uhm, or is there a way that i can go back to 1.5 if i upgrade to eclair?

    I hope i didn't bother to much with all my questions and i hope there is someone who could ask all of them. Many thanks guys.
     
  25. Vulpes

    Vulpes Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    UK
    Isn't it odd, that when you (finally - after lots of searching on the Orange support site) find the last Hero ROM update, it gives a link to the HTC site for the download. I wonder IF there is an update, it won't be OTA, but via the old sync method?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...