1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Official GSM Hero 2.1 Thread

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Myth, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,021
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,021
    9,686
    1,433
    UK
    Is your phone/network orange?
     

    Advertisement

  2. eddysd

    eddysd Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    32
    1
    16
    Student
    London
    Yes
     
  3. 1ceb0x

    1ceb0x Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    73
    6
    16
    game tester E.A
    Bucharest
    Seems that the users on Branded orange network Hero, cannot debrand and put wwe roms to upgrade to 2.1 because if they do so, the sim will be then locked and you will have to revert. Luckily i have a gsm version of my hero :D happy
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,021
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,021
    9,686
    1,433
    UK
    Ok, it would seem that the generic OTA update isn't compatible with orange branded phones. I take it you're using an unlocked orange phone on another network?

    You should try reinstalling the orange 1.5 ROM using a goldcard the same way you installed the generic 1.5. Hopefully this should cure it. Please tell us how it goes, I'm sure other people will have done the same thing.
     
  5. eddysd

    eddysd Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    32
    1
    16
    Student
    London
    @Xyro

    Using a normal orange phone on orange network, but for some reason it still locked the network. Will reinstall stock orange rom and see what happens, but tomorrow as i'm off to bed now!
     
  6. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,433
    Posts:
    13,021
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    13,021
    9,686
    1,433
    UK
    So it's rejecting even Orange SIM cards then? That's even worse...
     
  7. Xile

    Xile Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    Yep, looks like you can't debrand Orange phones and successfully update to 2.1, it's been nearly 8 hours since I debranded my phone and I haven't even received the first update yet!

    Do you think it would be worth trying another generic ROM or just revert back to Orange and wait for the OTA update?

    Very disappointed :(
     
  8. Captain Stu

    Captain Stu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009

    Sep 10, 2009
    110
    3
    36
    Broadband Data Repair Agent
    Manchester, England
    nooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!! Crapcrapcrapcrapcrap!!!! :(
     
  9. Vypr

    Vypr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Hi everyone, first post here.

    I followed the instructions and debranded my 3 Hero phone and updated to 2.1
    Everything went very smoothly, thanks for the great step-by-step instructions.

    Only problem is that the phone will no longer sync. I've made sure USB debugging is turned on, removed and reinstalled HTC Sync and made sure that HTC Sync is allowed on my firewall, but the phone refuses to detect the PC. The PC can see the phone and I can access the SD Card when it's mounted.

    Any suggestions?
     
  10. Captain Stu

    Captain Stu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009

    Sep 10, 2009
    110
    3
    36
    Broadband Data Repair Agent
    Manchester, England
    What are you using the sync for? I personally find it much easier to sync contacts via Google.
     
  11. Moko76

    Moko76 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    45
    32
    43
    Shoe Repairer / Engraver
    Norwich, Uk
    Hi! Have you checked that you're definitely using the latest version of HTC sync? Should be version 2.0.33 which is here on the HTC forums. HTC Hero - Software Download

    Please note that htc recommends that you remove any previously installed versions of HTC sync before installing the newest version.
     
  12. mouseyflash

    mouseyflash Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    31
    0
    15
    So much for the Orange update at midnight tonight, did anyone else get it?
     
  13. Xile

    Xile Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    No, it was just a vicious rumor :mad:
     
  14. ckoan

    ckoan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    i try creating goldcard and install the RUU provided in the link but it failed any idea wat is happening. BTW, i cant boot into Home+Power! currently i am running official 2.1 Build no 3.34.707.1 CL194466 release-keys
     
  15. sean.ellingham

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Hi Xile,

    You need to flash the 2.73.405.5 ROM, then you will get the update. I originally flashed the ROM you did, then realised my mistake when checking the OTA details on the HTC support site.
     
  16. sean.ellingham

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    The update worked fine for me on my Orange branded Hero (after debranding and flashing 2.73.405.5) - I haven't unlocked it though
     
  17. Xile

    Xile Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    Cheers Sean,

    So are you saying that you have successfully updated an Orange branded phone to 2.1 by flashing the 2.73.405.5 ROM?

    Thanks again!
     
  18. mouseyflash

    mouseyflash Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    31
    0
    15
    Just to confirm 2.73.61.66 is the correct update for orange uk? Before android 2.1?
     
  19. Captain Stu

    Captain Stu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009

    Sep 10, 2009
    110
    3
    36
    Broadband Data Repair Agent
    Manchester, England
    All these damn version numbers are confusing the crap out of me. :(

    Mine is 2.73.61.5 and I just wanna debrand it!
     
  20. emhaslam

    emhaslam Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    i selected to 'download later' so i could back up my phone using Wavesecure/Astro which i have now done. How do i get the update now? I've tried changing the date forward... but nothing.
     
  21. ToeCutter

    ToeCutter Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    35
    3
    16
    The way I see it is this (for branded Orange customers):

    The current stable version 1.5 build number is 2.73.61.66.
    After the first part of the OTA release (which will not actually change anything noticeable) the build number is 2.73.405.5
    Then, after the full version 2.1 OTA release, that number will probably not change (although I can't get clear evidence of this).

    Mind, I've been wrong before.


    Edit: The HTC support website informs me that a ROM update for Orange customers is available (don't get excited, this is the one from February) but the installation instructions are odd. All it says is; "Installation Instructions: ROM Version:2.73.61.66 for Orange". Now, does this mean the version that is required in order to install the update or the version that will be apparent after the update? Clarity. Obviously not a big thing in this case. :p
     
  22. mouseyflash

    mouseyflash Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    31
    0
    15
    I have the latest orange update off the htc site and still no update, iv'e heard some people say 3rd of july!
     
  23. sean.ellingham

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Yep, that's exactly what I'm saying! (you'll need to follow Moko76's guide from the previous page)
     
  24. emhaslam

    emhaslam Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    got the update again - had to change the date to a new month...
     
  25. Moko76

    Moko76 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    45
    32
    43
    Shoe Repairer / Engraver
    Norwich, Uk
    Has reverting to the original orange stock Rom solved your issue now? I appreciate that you'd rather have 2.1 running, but making sure the phone returns back to working order when it is re-flashed is the main priority I guess.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...