1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Official GSM Hero 2.1 Thread

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Myth, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. Roxolid

    Roxolid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    167
    20
    38
    Technology Academy technician
    hillingdon,just east of ireland
    Ok, kick me if this has already been answered, But, my hero is an unlocked T-mobile with a vodafone sim, how will this affect getting the update,cos as yet.nothing, not even the pre update OTA.
     

    Advertisement

  2. eddysd

    eddysd Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    32
    1
    16
    Student
    London
    From what I've read in this thread, an unlocked phone doesn't affect the branding of the phone, i.e. you still have to wait for t-mobile to release the ota update, which as of yet, I believe, they haven't done, neither have orange, so you're not alone :D
     
  3. wave

    wave Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Have you had to configure internet connection again? Also does skype work on 2.1?

    thanks
     
  4. TheBrit

    TheBrit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,187
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009

    Aug 25, 2009
    1,187
    114
    143
    UK
    T-Mobile HAVE released part 1.

    Try rolling the date forward and see if that provokes it into getting the update.
     
  5. SlightlyJack

    SlightlyJack Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    24
    0
    15
    If I'm right, I believe they took it down?
     
  6. TheBrit

    TheBrit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,187
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009

    Aug 25, 2009
    1,187
    114
    143
    UK
    They put it back up
     
  7. markmccallum77

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Today, I have received a software update from Orange. It didn't come through as a text message, but as an on-screen prompt to download software. Software has now been installed...... and after checking my Software Information, my Hero is now running firmware '2.1-update1'.
     
  8. android1230

    android1230 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    27
    7
    16
    I take it you have an un branded handset, because Orange have yet to release any updates.
     
  9. nileshgh

    nileshgh Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    First I want to thank Moko67 for his outstanding step by step guide to debrand hero. I have a Hero on contract direct from Orange. I had previously unlocked it using unlock code from htccode.com. My rom was orange rom 2.73.61.66 which was the ROM the phone came with when i bought it in february from orange..

    I followed the steps given by Moko67 and took probably 1hr over dinner to do it. The ROM I used to to downgrade was 2.73.405.5. There were no issues at all, no network unlock nothing. just a smooth update. The build number now after update is 3.32.405.1 C191507 - release-keys..

    Hope this gives other orange owners who have unlocked their phone some hope to go to android 2.1. I got fed up of waiting and am glad I gave it a try
     
  10. android1230

    android1230 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    27
    7
    16
    Ok I am going to have a go tomorrow, got my phone direct from Orange with the same build as you

    I will let you know how i get on.....fingers crossed!

    If it dosn't work I hope its easy to go back to my original 1.5. rom
     
  11. android1230

    android1230 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    27
    7
    16
    Just a thought

    Do you think unlocking your Orange phone before installing the above makes any difference ie. Radio not working?

    It seems that people with unlocked branded Orange Hero's don't get the "NETWORK LOCK" message
     
  12. rainmanne

    rainmanne Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009

    Dec 22, 2009
    47
    1
    16
    I have given up and unbranded my T-Mobile G2 Touch to install 2.1 using Moko67's excellent guide. Everything worked like a charm!
     
  13. rachelisadog

    rachelisadog Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    48
    10
    18
    Hi, in terms of my mobile internet no, surprisingly. It found them itself and it does work, the settings are exactly the same as DexKen posted for me, see DexKen's Post
    As for Skype, sorry, don't know, never used it
     
  14. Roxolid

    Roxolid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    167
    20
    38
    Technology Academy technician
    hillingdon,just east of ireland
    It's all well and fine saying T-mobile will/have released whatever. but if i'm using a vodafone sim, the T-mobile ota wont get to the phone, if/when vodafone release all this, what if anything will upset things, i.e., are the two brands software compatible?.
     
  15. justinclarke

    justinclarke Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    Unless you have a T-Mobile pay as you go or contract SIM to insert to check for the 1st update then I guess you will have to wait for HTC to publish the download here.

    I guess if you manage to get the 1st update you can download the other one with whatever SIM card you have inserted by using the Software Update feature from the 1st update.
     
  16. SlightlyJack

    SlightlyJack Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    24
    0
    15
    I'v got a T'Mobile phone on Orange. I got the first update fine by changing the date forward one year, exiting the settings by clicking 'Home', then if you wait for a bit the message should come up. Make sure WiFi or 3G/HSDPA is connected!
     
  17. sconir

    sconir Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Having managed to use an XP laptop to update my T-mobile Hero phone with the "Guide" posted on the forum, I tried to do my wifes phone today, all went well untill the reboot, it downloaded and installed the first update fine, but there has been no prompt to update to the large 2.1 download, I have tried to check via the phones software updater too, but nothing comes up, I have re-flashed twice and still the same. :mad:

    Any ideas on where i'm going wrong with this phone ? ,or if I can force the second part another way.

    Cheers
     
  18. sconir

    sconir Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    I moved the date two weeks forward and that worked, funny as I tried moving it a month then a year ahead before and none of those worked, hope this may help others.
     
  19. brittas

    brittas Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009

    Aug 27, 2009
    57
    2
    16
    I don't think Tmobile have released the 2nd part yet?? Mid July has been quoted.
     
  20. justinclarke

    justinclarke Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    That's interesting (and good news), so it obviously isn't sent out by the carrier (T-Mobile) if you have an Orange SIM in there. The updates must be sent back to HTC after the operators have modified them and the download comes from HTC OTA?
     
  21. rdelfin

    rdelfin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009

    Aug 30, 2009
    54
    0
    15
    ATLANTA
    Once you get the first part of the update (the "preparation update"), with that preliminary update your phone should have gotten a new "check for updates" button in the phone settings.

    Just press that button and your phone will check and find a new update which will be the new androind 2.1 firmware. That easy.
     
  22. Marshal

    Marshal Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    Dec 23, 2009
    12
    1
    16
    Hey guys,
    I got HTC Hero GSM . 3 days ago got a promt on phone screen that an update available. Accepted and updated over the air. with no problem no data lose etc. working fine evrything. now it reads

    Firmware Version
    2.1- update1

    Baseband Version
    63.18.55.06PU_6.35.15.11

    Kernel Version
    2.6.29-063c4d18-2 1

    Build number
    3.32.405.1 CL191507 release keys

    Software number
    3.32.405.1

    Browser version
    webkit 3.1

    May be some body try to findout how to get it over the air or a direct link for update (To be honest I do not know... It prompted byself )
     
  23. eddysd

    eddysd Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    32
    1
    16
    Student
    London
    Does anyone ever read a thread before posting in it?
     
  24. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Actually it's probably my fault. I merged another couple of 2.1-related threads in to this one in an attempt to keep some sort of order.
     
  25. heronaddict

    heronaddict Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    14
    0
    35
    London UK
    Hey, what happened to my post ?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...