1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Official: HTC rolling out Android 2.2 and 720p video capture to unlocked European Desires this weeke

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Magicuk, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. Magicuk

    Magicuk Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    125
    1
    36
    Official: HTC rolling out Android 2.2 and 720p video capture to unlocked European Desires this weekend -- Engadget

    so i have jsut had a look on engadget web site and it saying that froyo 2.2 will be released to users whos desire is not carrier locked.

    my question is how do u tell if your htc desire is carrier locked i got my htc desire for vodafone and it has no sign of it having any vodafone features.

    dose any 1 no how to tell if myn is locked or open to this update that is ment to be coming this weekend.

    Could this be the week i finally get froyo to use on my phone..:p

    Thanks for your help people.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Fatwaz

    Fatwaz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    100
    13
    38
  3. Phenomenological

    Phenomenological Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    782
    186
    93
    Wait, this is legitimate? This I'm looking forward to.
     
  4. nacatomi

    nacatomi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    502
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    502
    82
    78
    Maybe a little premature but................

    WOOHOO!!! :D
     
  5. matttye

    matttye Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,939
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    1,939
    379
    163
    Senior Legal Secretary
    Lincoln, England
    Stick a sim from another network in your phone. If it works, it's unlocked. If your phone complains, then it's locked.
     
  6. cycletrials

    cycletrials Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    12
    8
    16
  7. deek0

    deek0 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    40
    1
    16
    COME ON. Now I am excited.
     
  8. solo170

    solo170 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    42
    4
    36
    Sydney
    one way to tell is when you boot your phone or turn it on, if you get a green htc sign with quietly brilliant written under it then i understand that your phone i unlocked. If your phone is locked to the network you will most likely get the vodafone logo when u boot
     
  9. Magicuk

    Magicuk Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    125
    1
    36
    oh right i jsut get the htc logo with quietly brilliant :D so hopefully i get froyo this weekend :D:p;):eek::):D:D:D:D:D
     
  10. partridge

    partridge Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    558
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    558
    57
    78
    Well.... maybe.

    I'm on VF and although it is not locked to them it does have a VF variant firmware. I'm hoping that all it does is configure MMS, SMS and voicemail stuff - so hopefully not much for them to do. But it's likely we'll have to wait for VF to release 2.2

    That said, I'll be hitting my Software Update button over the weekend just in case :)
     
  11. Magicuk

    Magicuk Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    125
    1
    36
    ye i hope that is jsut for the mms and sms but hopefully there will be a real 2.2 rom relesed for the people with rooted phones so they dont have to wait for there network to say it is ok for them to have it on there devise
     
  12. GrenW

    GrenW Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    799
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    799
    130
    93
    UK
    A green logo and an unlocked phone mean nothing.......Voda handsets (like mine) are just like that - no branding BUT they have Voda specific software numbers. Gotta wait for Voda to pull their finger out..... probably take around a month.
     
  13. reech

    reech Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I got mine from the Carphone Warehouse, but with a Voda contract. I'm on the stock firmware numbers (not the voda one - see the thread elsewhere about these) so I'll be quietly optimistic...
     
  14. AgentK

    AgentK Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    So are the updates rolling out to users from Saturday?

    I've just checked and currently there is no update available but will be checking again tomorrow.
     
  15. Magicuk

    Magicuk Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    125
    1
    36
    so for the users with a rooted htc desire is the official froyo rom avaliable to them as there are many froyo roms floating around on the internet with all diffrent features??
     
  16. Casual Pete

    Casual Pete Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    546
    84
    78
    England
    Whoa,looks like HTC have learned a lesson from the whole Hero debacle.

    Excellent news.:D
     
  17. jamadza

    jamadza Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    38
    3
    16
    wow, they are working during weekends too :) :)
     
  18. OFI

    OFI Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    580
    53
    78
    Well this sucks.. i'm rooted and don't feel like I can be bothered to go through updating and getting everything set up again haha
     
  19. OFI

    OFI Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    580
    53
    78
    I think the ROMs already available are based on a development ROM. Presumably those ROMS will be updated after the weekend with the retail version and the groups tweaks.

    What I don't understand is the difference between the new 2.2 apps2SD and the original that I have from rooting. The 2.2 version requires apps to be compatible right? So the old version is better it seems.. I want to stick to that and easily be able to transfer my apps over hmm

    Sounds like so much work.
     
  20. czechplastik

    czechplastik Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    343
    42
    63
    Belfast, Northern Ireland
    This is good news, looks like HTC have learned some lessons.

    Wonder when exactly the update will make itself available to me.
     
  21. jimbob456

    jimbob456 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    My desire is on vodafone but I just tiered a orange sim card and it worked perfectly so does this mean that my desire its unlocked and I should get this update?

    Thanks
     
  22. glenmcfar

    glenmcfar Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I'd say so. The news articles say 'unlocked' and yours certainly is. I'm pinning my hopes on this, too.
     
  23. jay_kay

    jay_kay Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    606
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    606
    96
    98
    Marketing & Communications
    Essex
    Just tried an Orange SIM in my Vodafone Desire and seems to be working fine.

    Got a feeling I remember VF saying they will not be branding this in any way...Sounds promising for the weekend then :D
     
  24. Selespeed

    Selespeed Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    Dec 23, 2009
    89
    9
    36
    Hampshire UK
    I think it depends if you are running the generic software, 1.21.405.2 that's the software number on my phone, orange, voda etc will have a different number i believe
     
  25. Choronzonix

    Choronzonix Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    77
    2
    16
    Damn this great news!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...