1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General [Official] "I Got My G1" Thread

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rob, Oct 17, 2008.

  1. ericsscion

    ericsscion Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008

    Oct 13, 2008
    34
    0
    35
    NJ
    Ok so I have the phone working via wifi .... and its great
     

    Advertisement

  2. xtina

    xtina Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008

    Oct 18, 2008
    17
    1
    16
    i'm lovingggggggggggg it :)
     
  3. orlandoguy

    orlandoguy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008

    Oct 13, 2008
    46
    1
    16
    Do you have to use the new Sim Card with the G1, or can you just use your old sim?
     
  4. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008

    Oct 20, 2008
    1,012
    72
    128
    what new sim card? There wasn't a card in my phone or the box.
     
  5. orlandoguy

    orlandoguy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008

    Oct 13, 2008
    46
    1
    16
    Its just that nnew phones normally come with sim cards.
     
  6. ronunder

    ronunder Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008

    Oct 21, 2008
    1
    0
    5
    I received my new G1 at 3:46pm Oct 20, 2008 EDT. I placed my order on the first day ordering was available - Sept 23. I'm still exploring all the stuff on the phone and some of the downloaded apps. Really cool!
     
  7. obisununome

    obisununome Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008

    Oct 17, 2008
    16
    0
    15
    Student
    Minnesota
    Finally got mine yesssssssss
     
  8. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,012
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008

    Oct 20, 2008
    1,012
    72
    128
    That's never been the case for me. This is my 6th new phone with T-Mobile in 8 years and they have never sent me a new SIM card. The only time I got a new SIM card was when I moved from Michigan to Illinois and changed my number so it would be local, then I had to get a new SIM because they're locked to regions or something. They couldn't just change the number, the SIM card had to be changed, too.
    Other than that, though, I've had the same card. When I had my phone number changed they said they could not send me a new SIM because they do not have them, that the stores have the SIM cards. That's what I had to do, drop by a store and pick up my new card.
     
  9. blackeyedbrian

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008

    Oct 15, 2008
    11
    0
    15

    That's weird. All the phone's we've gotten had a sim card in the box. Even on corporate accounts.
     
  10. qwalker15

    qwalker15 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008

    Oct 16, 2008
    7
    0
    5
    Student
    Flint, MI
    i just got my g1 and it has a new sim with it
     
  11. jakeasdel

    jakeasdel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008

    Oct 21, 2008
    3
    0
    5
    I got mine today, so hyped!:D
     
  12. coyote121403

    coyote121403 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008

    Oct 17, 2008
    13
    0
    15
    Got mine today, so sweet!
     
  13. medication

    medication Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008

    Oct 21, 2008
    2
    0
    5
    Got mine last night... came via UPS yesterday. I love it but man, location based stuff is a huge battery killer :)

    As my friend said tho, "Why do you need to know that you're at home?"
     
  14. honugirl

    honugirl Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008

    Oct 2, 2008
    43
    0
    35
    San Pedro , Ca
    JUST GOT MINE!!!!!! OPENING IT UP RIGHT NOW :D:rolleyes::D:rolleyes:
     
  15. orlandoguy

    orlandoguy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008

    Oct 13, 2008
    46
    1
    16
    omg OMG, the g1 is at home. UPS finally delivered it at 5:45pm....
     
  16. cNo7

    cNo7 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    i got back from lunch and THEN got the confirmation that it was delivered to the house, so I drove over and picked up it. So far...i'm thoroughly impressed. Very comfortable to work with. Gonna fiddle tonight. I dropped by a few stores in the mall today to find a decent leather holster for the belt...and everyone was like "OMG! DUDE...YOU HAVE THE G1?!?!?!" Yah...I had to gloat. :p
     
  17. Sundog

    Sundog Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008

    Oct 21, 2008
    66
    4
    36
    Mine is here, but it won't connect to Google. What a bummer. I'll give it 24 hours then back it goes.

    EXTREMELY RUDE service people at T-Mobile couldn't help at all.
     
  18. RobPuba

    RobPuba Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008

    Oct 2, 2008
    20
    0
    15
    Brooklyn, New York
    I had the same problem and I called the customer service rep early in the morning, and she just did something with the settings on her end everything was good.
     
  19. aclick02

    aclick02 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008

    Oct 16, 2008
    6
    0
    25
    My fiance and I pre-ordered our phones the same time, I actually did
    Mine 1st. We live in la and she got hers yesterday morning, i'm, still at this
    Hour (6pm pst), am still waiting. Typing this from my fiance's g1.
     
  20. mnswamp

    mnswamp Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008

    Oct 21, 2008
    3
    0
    5
    Mine rolled up about 1:30 this afternoon, and I spent the next hour getting nothing done but play with the phone!
    Hooked right up to gmail, figured out how to pull down my SIM stored contacts, connected wifi, activated bluetooth...
    Oh damn. There's a problem. I was able to activate and pair to my Plantronics 655, but it doesn't seem to work. Can't initiate or receive calls with it. Clues?

    Otherwise, I'm starting to develop my wish list - like a GPS trace, exportable to .gpx, of course; a much better music player. Whatever you think about Apple, iTunes just works.

    BTW, there's a peel ply shipping skin on the display. I'm going to leave it there until I order some additional ones.
     
  21. Sundog

    Sundog Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008

    Oct 21, 2008
    66
    4
    36
    Okay, so I'm an idiot, I admit it.

    If anyone else has the problem I did - can't connect to google servers - put in your OLD SIM, not the one sent with the kit.

    Duh. But wow, this is a nice phone.

    The T-Mobile people are HIDEOUSLY uninformed and RUDE. I am switching my service after the 90 day unlock period for that reason alone.
     
  22. Renge

    Renge Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008

    Oct 21, 2008
    7
    0
    25
    Hollywood, CA
    I got my G1. In fact I'm using it to post this.
     
  23. moe19

    moe19 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008

    Oct 18, 2008
    8
    0
    25
    here are some pictures i took last night and this morning... i'm home and sick with my G1... but its all good..i get to play with my G1..
     

    Attached Files:

  24. OMG!OMG!OMG!

    OMG!OMG!OMG! Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008

    Oct 15, 2008
    24
    0
    35
    Metro NY
    I did an end-run around T-Mobile and their stupid "you didn't order in time so you have to wait until Nov 10" and got one at the store! Haven't really had too much time to play with it, but I did get it set up!
     
  25. FlyerG

    FlyerG Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008

    Oct 15, 2008
    27
    1
    16
    I don't know if I missed it anywhere but I did anyone know that the G1 comes with a 1GB micro SD card installed already? It might be old news but for some reason I didn't remember reading that anywhere.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...