1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General **** OFFICIAL **** ICS COMING SOON thread... Post all questions and info here!!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xXSK8AGRXx, Mar 4, 2012.

  1. sciullo779

    sciullo779 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    44
    2
    16
    Currently unemployed
    Pittsburgh

    would you reset it, then update, or update it then reset?

    or doesnt it matter?

    i hate restoring apps and widgets...
    oh, would you have to do a battery "calibration" again discharge it until it shuts off and recharge back to 100%?
     

    Advertisement

  2. BigBruDa3rd

    BigBruDa3rd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Running ICS right now! Man it's fast and smooth still has all the Bloatware and blur but it really works perfect. Blur adds some of the functions and cosmetic accents that ICS doesn't have but should making it unique. I liked blur on GB so I luv it on ICS.

    This phone was already bad ass now its perfect. No phone can touch it now, iPhone, Gnex, SGS2 can't compare to the RAZR.
     
    jroc likes this.
  3. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY

    Personally, I am going to wipe everything, then update. I've never really had issues like others with my battery and have never felt the need for the battery calibration. The setup will help more than calibrating, in my opinion. I know many will not agree but I've done it in the past and it was never helpful for me. Ymmv.
     
  4. emburybrett

    emburybrett Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    192
    22
    38
    RadYOacTiVe likes this.
  5. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI
    They just want to make sure any problems that come up in the soak test are actually problems with their software, and not caused by something getting borked in the update. Still, it is always a good idea to do a factory reset after every major update.
     
  6. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Lol "do not post any information about this on public forums"
     
  7. emburybrett

    emburybrett Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    192
    22
    38
    yeah i know but im not the first... and someone already posted a leak of the rom over on droidrzr.com and if i dont hear back from them then i only have three days till the real update.
     
  8. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Oh I know and to me it's no big deal, I'm glad you shared. I just find it funny to think that they expect everyone to keep mum... :)
     
  9. emburybrett

    emburybrett Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    192
    22
    38
    yeah and when you give them your info they really check every thing i have had the same (329) call my max and home phone number. im just hate waiting for the email saying im it
     
  10. jroc

    jroc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    363
    Posts:
    2,614
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    2,614
    358
    363
    ^I agree. Moto added some stuff to ics that makes it a lil better imo. The lock screen is one, and a screen shot I saw showed the phone and data reception in the about screen. I don't know if stock ics does that.
     
  11. TexterTot

    TexterTot Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    For those only smart enough to turn the phone on, I have a question. I ordered my phone on Fri and hope to have it next week. If this ICS is a reality, then should I install it on my phone before I take it to Verizon to have all my info moved over from my Thunderbolt? Thanks
     
  12. emburybrett

    emburybrett Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    192
    22
    38
    That is what I would do as many people do a hard reset after updates.
     
  13. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    April fools!
     
  14. sciullo779

    sciullo779 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    44
    2
    16
    Currently unemployed
    Pittsburgh

    This is probably a dumb question, but im assuming by wipe everything you mean your doing a factory reset then doing the update from the settings menu?
     
  15. bcltoys

    bcltoys Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    704
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    704
    47
    68
    Male
    Marine tech
    Maryland
    I do believe so.
     
  16. BigBruDa3rd

    BigBruDa3rd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010


    Nope! ICS is on its way and it's so delicious!
     
  17. emburybrett

    emburybrett Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    192
    22
    38
    Yes that is one of the best ways i know how to reset to 100% stock.
     
  18. DrDiff

    DrDiff Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    210
    4
    56
    Maintence
    Valparaiso, IN
    But is there a root exploit?
     
  19. emburybrett

    emburybrett Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    192
    22
    38
    people have said root keeper has worked for them others have had no luck.
     
  20. emburybrett

    emburybrett Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    192
    22
    38
    With some help from XDA forums and Cheesecake you can get ICS NOW. As you can see from my screen shot. I would try downloading this and post pics as I go but right now i dont have any wifi near me to download the 458.5 MB update:mad:

    [​IMG]
     
  21. hasbrobot

    hasbrobot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    286
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    286
    15
    38
    EMT
    Florida
    Hey guys,

    I have a quick question for you. I'm 100% stock and rooted. I've never uninstalled or froze any system apps. I do however have bootstrap installed. I've uninstalled it before on my droid x before any system update occurred but recently researched doing so on the razr. It was then I discovered individuals having problems with bootloops after doing so. I presume its the same process as the x, will the ics update take if i do not uninstall it? Thanks very much for sharing your aquired wisdom.

    :D
     
  22. emburybrett

    emburybrett Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    192
    22
    38
    I just backed up all my app and was going to do a hard reset then reroot so its 100% stock then see if i can keep the root with root keeper from the play store. If it keeps my root then I would restore my apps from titanium backup
     
  23. arparaspolo

    arparaspolo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    410
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010

    I have had better success with doing a factory reset before a major update. I left my phone as is and did the update only to have many many problems. The next phone I had I did a factory reset then updated and had no issues. May be a coincidence but why risk it? Know what I mean. I have unrooted already(everything was still stock but unrooted non the less) and will factory reset before taking the update.
     
  24. Markus729

    Markus729 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    305
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    305
    31
    43
    Male
    Digital Design Strategy
    Mile High City
    My own personal experience (updating to Gingerbread on my Incredible, and updating to v.2.3.6 on my Maxx) I've had sluggish performance after updating, and greatly improved performance all around AFTER doing a factory reset after a major update.

    Again, just my experience.
     
    jroc likes this.
  25. jroc

    jroc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    363
    Posts:
    2,614
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    2,614
    358
    363
    Bottom line....at some point...do a factory reset....lol.
     

Share This Page

Loading...