1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Official I've got ICS installed thread..

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Sharondippity, Jun 23, 2012.

  1. Sharondippity

    Sharondippity Dismember
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    999
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010


    :ridinghorse:

    Ha ha ha!
     

    Advertisement

  2. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI
    No. They aren't. The don't in anyway distribute updates on a regional basis.

    Actually they want to AVOID doing that. The choke point for the network is going from the individual tower to the phone. If they pushed the update out to every razr in the area at once, they'd saturate the tower and bandwidth would slow to a crawl. They want to push the update to as wide an area as possible, so they can update a large number of phones without any one tower being overused.

    They generally push updates out based on serial number or MEID.
     
  3. nhcyclist

    nhcyclist Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012

    Jun 30, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    How did you get past this? I've been sitting on this screen for 10 minutes or so at this point.
     
  4. rankman

    rankman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    166
    30
    43
    Male
    PA
    Download and install went smooth at around 30 minutes. So far I'm in love with it! Feels like a new phone. Compared to my nexus I like moto's take on it better...
     
  5. rushmore

    rushmore Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    I agree. Moto Blur (or what is left of it) actually works well and is a positive with ICS.
     
  6. Gatman

    Gatman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    278
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    278
    69
    53
    Male
    Bean counter
    Cleveland, OH
    I read somewhere yesterday it would be available for everyone today if you checked for updates on your phone. I did that as soon as I woke up this morning and there it was. 30 minutes later it was done upgrading and I was on my way! Love it so far.

    ~Gary
     
  7. btygte

    btygte Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011

    Jun 9, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Anyone know how to change the 4 icons on the lock screen with ics??? I use handcent. I don't want the stock text app to be one of them and it is now with the update..
     
  8. mach1man

    mach1man Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    857
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    857
    68
    78
    woods of VA
    I've got ICS!!!
     
  9. Lucky Armpit

    Lucky Armpit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    672
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    672
    352
    133
    IT Manager
    Rocky Mount, NC
    Yay, I finally get to post in this thread! First thing I'm doing is updating my apps and disabling the bloat. ;)
     
  10. gloriousnumber1

    gloriousnumber1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010

    Aug 22, 2010
    778
    52
    88
    Male
    Photographer
    Portland, Oregon
    Ok I got it all done this morning. Took a while, but it was the biggest OTA I've ever had. Now to figure out how to change the apps available from the lock screen....
     
  11. chris4x4

    chris4x4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    570
    162
    93
    Arizona
    Ok....ICS is working fine, Email working, everything is smooth, fast, etc. NOW......can I change the unlock feature? make it slide? Like it was?

    AND WTF is with the analog clock??? I need a digital one......NOW, I have to count those silly hash marks on the sides to figure out the time......I hate math.
     
  12. FenwayPhil

    FenwayPhil Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    37
    1
    16
    I got the download. So I did and now when I got to install it it says it failed. So I am downloading it again cause I cant find the download. Should I save it for later so I will have it? I didnt do that before I just went into installing it now? What to do??
     
  13. Sharondippity

    Sharondippity Dismember
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    999
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    I just waited. I think after about 15 minutes I just rebooted the phone
     
  14. leela222

    leela222 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    25
    1
    16
    YAY..I finally got it this morning. Was out last night, came home about 12:30 and checked the update, nothing. Charged my phone overnight and checked it at about 8:00 this morning and there it was!

    Once question I have..How do I remove my facebook contacts from my contacts? I don't want my entire friends in facebook in my contacts.
     
  15. gloriousnumber1

    gloriousnumber1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    778
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010

    Aug 22, 2010
    778
    52
    88
    Male
    Photographer
    Portland, Oregon
    Open the facebook app, go to settings. On the the bottom, below "other settings", it says "Sync Contacts". You can choose "sync all", "sync with existing contacts", and "don't sync". At first I synced with existing, but didn't like it, so I went back and chose "remove all facebook data".
     
  16. chizler

    chizler Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    59
    14
    18
    Male
    I just check this morning about 8:30 and it was there, install took about 30 mins and so far it is pretty sweet, like some one else posted its like having a new phone.
     
  17. PMannone

    PMannone Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012

    Jun 30, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I'm new here, so forgive me if this should go somewhere else, but is anybody running a non-stock launcher? I tried Nova, and though it's for ICS it doesn't seem to be working properly on Razr Maxx with ICS. Also, Beautiful Widgets doesn't seem to be supported. I used GoLauncher prior to the upgrade, but I got rid of it in prep for ICS and don't want to reinstall it and all the widgets if it's not going to work. Thanks!
     
  18. Jimbo_Slice

    Jimbo_Slice Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    113
    11
    38
    got ICS this morning, sometime after midnight. Now I need to figure out what to do with it.. LOL
     
  19. pbf98

    pbf98 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,114
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011

    Oct 16, 2011
    1,114
    182
    143
    Male
    .NET Developer
    MN
    I've got it :)

    Something I have noticed though.. swype got an update with it, and its different, not a fan of it too much now when I make a mistake it takes much longer for me to correct it, plus its (in my opinion) an ugly color scheme vs what it was.
    Is it worth rooting to get rid of "spam" apps? I counted 16 I want gone

    And how do I get my contact picture back? I have myself as a contact and that always worked in the past, but now its an empty picture when I send texts
     
  20. naskron

    naskron Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Robbinsville, NC
    Go launcher works great with ics, never removed when I got the soak, never had an issue. Actually haven't seen the stock ics yet because I like go launcher...lol
     
  21. catiebugx3

    catiebugx3 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012

    Jun 24, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    I got ICS this morning! However now my phone keeps locking up so I'm going to have to do a factory reset. How should I go about backing up all my stuff before hand?
     
  22. Donebrasko

    Donebrasko Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012

    Jun 10, 2012
    32
    0
    15
    If you can root and titanium backup is what i use
     
  23. Donebrasko

    Donebrasko Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012

    Jun 10, 2012
    32
    0
    15

    When i logged in to google + app my picture popped back up
     
  24. leela222

    leela222 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    25
    1
    16
    Thanks....I did figure it out!
     
  25. FussBoss

    FussBoss Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    79
    9
    16
    Male
    ICS broke my phone lol. It is amazingly slow and most apps do not even open, just goes to a black screen and I either get a 'not responding' pop or it just reboots.

    And I notice the keyboard is smaller, which sucks for me and my stubs.
     

Share This Page

Loading...