1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Official MetroPCS BYOD discussion thread

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by Gman9831, Jul 9, 2013.

  1. robertcmusic

    robertcmusic Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012

    Sep 8, 2012
    8
    1
    6
    do you guys think that as soon as the Nexus 5 is released it will work with Metros BYOD ?
     

    Advertisement

  2. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    The Nexus 5 is compatible with T-Mobile's network, so it should work. It's just a matter of Metro issuing you the correct SIM card for the device.
     
  3. dportal2006

    dportal2006 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    661
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    661
    89
    78
    Pretty sure it will. If there is one device that will work it is that one. That phone is made to work with pretty much every carrier.
     
  4. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,755
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,755
    452
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX
    Yes, it should, 'cause it will be unlocked and will work with T-Mobile's network. MetroPCS uses T-Mobile's network for it's GSM phones and any (carrier) unlocked phone that will work with T-Mobile will work with metroPCS.

    Edit: I'm really hopeful that after tax refund season I'll be able to get one and I plan on using it on metroPCS's BYOD.
     
  5. robertcmusic

    robertcmusic Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012

    Sep 8, 2012
    8
    1
    6
    Metro Reps just suck huh?
     
  6. kate

    kate Dreaming of Bugdroid.
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    5,721
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    Why? Did they tell you the Nexus 5 would not work with MetroPCS?

    If you buy it unlocked I don't see why it wouldn't work with Metro.
     
  7. nintendo4

    nintendo4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    167
    29
    43
    Male
    Orlando FL
    but not Verizon. Google teaching them a lesson.
     
  8. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    they don't suck, its just like any other job, if its a job and your getting paid just to know what they tell you then bam, thats it. If they actually want to make reasonable money they should know what they are talking about.
     
  9. nintendo4

    nintendo4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    167
    29
    43
    Male
    Orlando FL
    NEXUS 5 is out now.
     
  10. nintendo4

    nintendo4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    167
    29
    43
    Male
    Orlando FL
    Is there a problem that it says LTE band support 4(1700)? but on the GSM bands it only listedGSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz... and it says carrier tmobile will work with this?
     
  11. nintendo4

    nintendo4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    167
    29
    43
    Male
    Orlando FL
    It seems that the band listing is in error, but it DOES support Tmobile band 4 which is band 1700.
     
  12. Goodguyaries

    Goodguyaries Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013

    Oct 31, 2013
    28
    3
    16
    Isn't metro Cdma... And what of reports n5 is going to sprint?
     
  13. nintendo4

    nintendo4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    167
    29
    43
    Male
    Orlando FL
    Not anymore Metro is now GSM. Yes n5 is 4 Sprint and tmobile. Unlocked so the nexus 5 will work with MetroPCS.
     
  14. flakito97

    flakito97 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,029
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011

    Sep 25, 2011
    1,029
    178
    143
    So the nexus is finally released for 349 on the Google website!!!! :) and I must say.... It's a bad boy!! Can you say Christmas gift?? Lolz
     
  15. morgankslade

    morgankslade Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    861
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011

    Aug 9, 2011
    861
    135
    123
    Mens Formalwear
    Southeast, Michigan
    Early Christmas gift.
     
  16. Goodguyaries

    Goodguyaries Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013

    Oct 31, 2013
    28
    3
    16
    Need my mailing address? I'll take the white one
     
  17. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    The GSM bands are referring to 2G which only runs on 1900MHz on tmobile
     
  18. Lunatical

    Lunatical Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012

    Jun 30, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Does anyone know if Metro will let me keep my $55 unlimited plan if I switch to a Nexus 5?

    I have a feeling they will make me get the $60 plan, but I'm not sure. Its probably the only reason I'm on the fence about getting it. I have to get rid of this LG Motion at some point.
     
  19. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    No they won't let you keep it
     
  20. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Merged N5 thread into here
     
  21. mogelijk

    mogelijk Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,904
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012

    Jun 8, 2012
    1,904
    648
    213
    I'm guessing it is that Google and Verizon couldn't make an agreement. I think Google insisted on the "Nexus experience", where Google supplies the Android updates and software build, and Verizon insisted to be able to control those things.
     
  22. mogelijk

    mogelijk Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,904
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012

    Jun 8, 2012
    1,904
    648
    213
    It appears it does not support AWS for 3G, which is T-Mobile's main 3G band, so I'm not sure how it will work on 3G/HSPA+, at least outside of refarmed areas. It will be interesting to get clarification on that.

    As is mentioned, it does support LTE Band 4 (which is the 1700/2100 frequency band), so LTE will work on T-Mobile/MetroPCS.
     
  23. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    It has Band 4 support for WCDMA(HSPA)
     
  24. XtianZark

    XtianZark Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    83
    2
    16
    T-Mobile's stated intention is to move its HSPA+ traffic from the current AWS to the 1900 band and re-purpuse the 1700 band for its LTE.

    quote from another site? Any other info?
     
  25. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    As tmobile rolled out LTE (On AWS) the same equipment they used is capable of 1900MHz HSPA
     

Share This Page

Loading...