1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Official MetroPCS BYOD discussion thread

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by Gman9831, Jul 9, 2013.

  1. dportal2006

    dportal2006 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    662
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    662
    89
    78
    Unlocked yes. On the old crappy metro 4g
     

    Advertisement

  2. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,418
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,418
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    Now that's the thing they say its a 2way you can go gsm and cdma and many choose st but if i unlock can the bionic be used on the new tmobile fast or metro fast
     
  3. dportal2006

    dportal2006 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    662
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011

    Dec 3, 2011
    662
    89
    78
    Nope. CDMA for you = slow and unreliable metro speeds not the gsm T-Mobile network. Sorry. I get better cell phone coverage on the gsm network too. I talk in places i couldn't before.
     
  4. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,418
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,418
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    So change it to all gsm which would only be straight talk only cause this is a Verizon bionic
     
  5. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    443
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    when I don't have the right switcher, I go to the metro page otherwise they either don't know or don't care.
     
    akmsr likes this.
  6. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    443
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    Can you add apns I heard verrizion region locked their phones apn so it couldn't be used on usa gsm carriers.
     
  7. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    you can root the gsm hybrids of the s3 and note 2 of verizon and get them to work on metro, i have one picking up HSPA right now.
     
  8. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    443
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    That makes the Verizon phones more desriable at low cost due to that maybe the Butterfly can be used on metro
     
  9. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    if you can get the droid dna unlocked go for it, I had the butterfly J(straight from Japan) and couldn't do it(get it unlocked properly that is)
     
  10. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    443
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    You go thru quite a few high end phones wish you I could do the same...so how was the butterfly
     
  11. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    lol thanks, phones used to be my vice, so if I wanted it, I just bought it, the butterfly was pretty awesome, I liked it more then my s4, but I just couldn't get the Japanese branded model to unlock or I would have kept it. Now that I have a defender case on my note 3, unless someone offers me more then what I have into it, I don't plan on getting rid of it for quite a while.
     
  12. elcocho852

    elcocho852 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    282
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011

    Feb 2, 2011
    282
    37
    43
    Male
    College Student
    CA
    If I travel to Mexico will my phones internet work since tmobile is saying that international data is free?
     
  13. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    nope
     
  14. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,755
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,755
    452
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX
    So, here's a question concerning the Moto G. The spec sheet on Motorola's website says it's only a HSPA+21 phone. I understand that practical world speeds would only be ~15 meg +/- a little. With T-Mobile/Metro adding all the LTE into the mix, are they going to be getting rid of HSPA+ any time soon, or will this be a viable phone for a couple of years.

    I've been watching the used adds on Swappa for N4's (that can get HSPA+42 and also LTE if you flash the right radios) lately (as well as GNex's, but I think I'll skip the GNex 'cause it's 2 year old technology while the N4 is only one year old tech). They can be had for $210 and up (16Gig); the Moto G is $200 for a 16Gig model. And, it's newer technology.

    What are some thoughts/ideas that you all have. Will T-Mobile/Metro be keeping the HSPA+ around long enough to make it worth getting a Moto G? Is it worth getting one even though it doesn't have LTE? Is it worth getting a used N4 that can get LTE/HSPA+42 for a price that is more than a new Moto G?

    Thanks all.
     
  15. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    T-Mobile will keep HSPA+ running on the 1900PCS band for the foreseeable future. The 1700/2100AWS band not so much.

    They'll be making PCS their main HSPA band then AWS and whatever spectrum they acquire from now will be LTE
     
    alfick3 likes this.
  16. lokat

    lokat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013

    Oct 31, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    Hello all,

    I finally received my nexus 5 ( to replace my sony mini international ) and I intended to process like I did when I first received my sim : put the sim in and dial *228.

    Problem is when i put the sim card in the phone says "restricted access changed" and no mobile network is available. Tried it with another phone and it's ok. Tried the phone with another sim and it's ok as well. Did I miss something ?
     
  17. the hulk

    the hulk Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    690
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011

    Mar 11, 2011
    690
    186
    93
    Male
    Evil Genius, Jokers Apprentice
    Florida
    your imei has to be tied to the sim on metro for it to work.
     
  18. lokat

    lokat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013

    Oct 31, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    That is correct :p
    Had to call them ( 1 888 8metro8 ) from a different phone to switch the imei and now my nexus 5 is working like a charm :D
     
  19. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,418
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,418
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    I am having the same problem but its with tmobile i flashed changed everything but this sucker keep picking up at&t when i ping it tmobile flops in for a second and goes back is this the imei needs to be attached
     
  20. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,418
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,418
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    Can someone post a screen shot of the metro pcs gsm card for the BYOD . If it is the same as what the esteem has i am about to snap .
     
  21. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    What exactly are you talking about. The Esteem has a UICC. If you're talking about Sizes the kit has 1 sim card that goes from regular to micro to nano
     
  22. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,418
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,418
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    The card this ding bat metro pcs worker said that that the card i said it was a card just for lte only called it a uicc but she said it no such thing . That this bulls**t was the gsm card . So i want someone to post the card so i can return . This was also confirmed from bestbuy as a uicc card .
     
  23. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,458
    413
    Jax Fl
    ok let me ask you this, for clarification only, are you trying to get LTE on a LG Esteem? or on any other cdma/lte metro phone?

    Or are you trying to use the GSM BYOD?
     
  24. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,418
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012

    Feb 21, 2012
    6,418
    1,204
    353
    Male
    MECHANIC OBDII. NOS. FUEL INJECTION. Saving a Life
    Park Ave., HELL
    No i want to use the byod its a gsm phone not the esteem i know that's dead and can't be used .
     
  25. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,458
    413
    Jax Fl
    Ok I do not have a metro gsm sim but this is what the micro lte card for the cdma galaxy s3 looks like next to a t mobile sim, the coloring on all the cdma/lte cards should be the same.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...