1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support [Official] OTA update thread

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rxpert83, Mar 9, 2015.

  1. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    38,907
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    38,907
    39,243
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    D or E?
     

    Advertisement

    codesplice likes this.
  2. poorfellow

    poorfellow Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015

    Mar 16, 2015
    2
    0
    15
    Hello,

    Will all Nexus 6 software updates be via Google, and be the same for all devices irrespective of origin? For example, will a T-Mobile-purchased Nexus 6's updates be identical to one purchased through Verizon, and receive Verizon-specific updates (such as "Advanced Calling 1.0")?

    Thanks!
     
  3. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,528
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,528
    4,206
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    The beauty of the Nexus line of products is they get the updates first. Carriers don't step on the updates and that's one of the reasons why many nexus users purchase these products. Well I can't speak on Verizon, but purchasing a nexus product means you get the Android update first. Carriers specific things may get added through the store, but goog is settings things up so you can uninstall carrier bloat.

    So yeah the ota update will be pushed direct from Google. I'm on sprint and got the update yesterday.
     
    codesplice likes this.
  4. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,498
    693
    243
    Given that they have it on the developer images site, I wouldn't be surprised it they merge these variants in the next release. Folks (over on XDA) on non-VZN networks have installed the "E" version and it seems to be working fine so far (no differences noticed by them yet)

    What build was it? LMY47E? or LMY47D?

    Yeah - the Nexus images are for all (corresponding) Nexus devices. In the US, Sprint and Verizon both support Nexus 6, and are CDMA networks. So, they have some provisioning code that is apparently needed on the system partition. So, Google has embedded that code in the factory images itself. (GSM carriers don't need that). All Nexus 6 devices that run the stock images will have this code (specific to Sprint/Verizon) in it. That is just to make the factory images universal for all Nexus 6 devices.
     
    #54 jj14x, Mar 18, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 18, 2015
    poorfellow and codesplice like this.
  5. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,528
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,528
    4,206
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
  6. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,419
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,419
    174
    163
    UK
    Last few updates I've gotten 2 weeks after its gone live OTA
     
  7. SamuraiBigEd

    SamuraiBigEd Under paid Sasquatch!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,181
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    4,181
    2,088
    633
    Male
    Production, Warehouse & Installation Manager
    San Antonio, Texas
    I've been checking for updates repeatedly but still nothing! :(
     
  8. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    38,907
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    38,907
    39,243
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    It usually takes two weeks for it to push out to everybody. I've long since abandoned OTA's for factory images.
     
    SamuraiBigEd likes this.
  9. SamuraiBigEd

    SamuraiBigEd Under paid Sasquatch!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    633
    Posts:
    4,181
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    4,181
    2,088
    633
    Male
    Production, Warehouse & Installation Manager
    San Antonio, Texas
    Yeah, and I'm always at the 2 week mark...;):rolleyes:
     
  10. piscestg

    piscestg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012

    Dec 13, 2012
    61
    15
    28
    Male
    Missouri
    My download was ready when I turned the N6 on last night. I didn't even have to check for it. I bought from Moto and it's only been on wifi so far. I haven't put my Verizon sim in yet. My 5.1 is version D.
     
  11. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,498
    693
    243
    codesplice likes this.
  12. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    8,933
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,933
    10,466
    1,563
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    That's really weird... particularly with Des' comment about "our" (T-Mobile's) builds. :-/
     
  13. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    38,907
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    38,907
    39,243
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    With both D and E (and possibly M) being listed as 5.1.0, all i can think is that these are carrier variants. If the OTA's coming are all D (and they haven't been pulled or stopped) then that's what I'm sticking to for the time being.
     
  14. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    902
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    902
    272
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    T-Mo users, please capture the M build if/when you get it. Pretty please, with sugar on top. Throw a cherry up there too for good measure...
     
  15. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    These are probably patching last minute radio issues with things like HD voice for the various carriers.

    Not necessarily carrier specific. I'd expect its a temporary thing and they'll be unifiedfor the next release
     
    #65 Rxpert83, Mar 19, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2015
    TheAmazingDave likes this.
  16. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,446
    2,754
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    The 'M' build is preparation for T-Mobile's WiFi calling on the N6. WiFi calling is *not* included in the update. It will come later in a separate update. So if you are on T-Mobile and side loaded a D/E build, you'll have to load the M build to get the WiFi calling feature later. If you don't care about WiFi calling and your N6 is running fine then you're good. AFAIK there's no other difference in the D/E and M versions.
     
    codesplice likes this.
  17. stuarta

    stuarta Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    356
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    356
    24
    48
    My wife just got it on hers on EE, although frustratingly my device, same network, purchased same time, hasn't popped up yet. Clearly female favouritism.
     
  18. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    8,933
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,933
    10,466
    1,563
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
  19. tyban

    tyban Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    47
    15
    18
    Still haven't gotten my update yet and I am with Sprint.
     
  20. shalemail

    shalemail Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    3,351
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    3,351
    11,212
    1,453
    Male
    Butcher, Baker, Candlestick Maker
    Under your bed
    Anyone with an AT&T version get the OTA yet? I has not, and I am a skurred to sideload, I ain't nerr done that thur stuff b'fur. :D
    I have seen the factory images, just unsure of the process (yea I have read through and know the A to B to C of it) but since I am inexperienced with it I am hesitant. I figure always safer to wait on the OTA.
     
  21. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    38,907
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    38,907
    39,243
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    AT&T here ... when she went from 5.0 to 5.01 I got it within the first 28 seconds. I didn't see this one, but i was already rooted, so I figured the OTA was going to go all cattywumpus on me anyway. After a week I finally just flashed the factory image.

    When it works, it's easy as pie (Which is a rather inept metaphor if you ask me. Any pastry chef will tell you making a good pie is not that easy. :eek:) The feeling of a wildebeest doing a polka in your gut comes when things don't go exactly right and you see some dire warning about processes failing, files corrupt and Luke turning to the dark side. If you've never been down that road before, you don't know whether to dance with the scarecrow, oil the metal guy, or get in a balloon with a really creepy carny.

    The truth is, it's really next to impossible to truly brick a Nexus following the directions. I will tell you that when I flashed the factory image this last time, the flash-all.bat script kept puking on me so I had to flash the images individually. It wasn't a big deal, but to the flash virgin, it can be a nail biter.

    Want me to put together a step-by-step-by-step-by-step with as many pitfalls as i can think of?

    Oh, no. I always figure a factory image is the safest. OTA's have a way of throwing doohickeys into your thingamabobs (sorry for all the technical jargon). ;)
     
  22. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,498
    693
    243
    It really is hard to brick a Nexus while flashing stock factory images (CM12 caused some recent issues, so I added the "while flashing stock factory images" clause).

    Just make sure you check that fastboot is working (before you flash anything), and that you are using the correct image for your device, and that your phone has over 50-60% battery (I go with over 90% charge). Also, if possible, use a laptop (because unlike a desktop, it has a battery in case of a power failure). Key thing is to let the flash go thru' uninterrupted.
     
    lunatic59 and codesplice like this.
  23. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    902
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    902
    272
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    Not only do I flash from a laptop, but it's on a UPS as well... :D
     
    shalemail and lunatic59 like this.
  24. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    38,907
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    38,907
    39,243
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
  25. shalemail

    shalemail Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,453
    Posts:
    3,351
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    3,351
    11,212
    1,453
    Male
    Butcher, Baker, Candlestick Maker
    Under your bed
    Thanks for all the responses, it's funny, with all the OTA and Soak tests I have done over the years my thingamajigs, doohickies and thingamabobs have never been corrupted. o_O
    That said, lunatic, if you want to PM me the remedial, kindergarten, inept, beginner version of the step by step by step by step by step by step, who am I to argue? :oops:
    But seriously you have to assume I know nothing cause really I know nothing. I have only had stock phones since day one, never rooted, nothing. So that's where I am at. :rolleyes:
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...