1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Official Unrevoked Developers have Froyo on EVO

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by esone1ll, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. kkwus74

    kkwus74 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    97
    16
    18
    try the down key and power too......i had to keep trying both till a screen pop up
     

    Advertisement

  2. EasyEEE

    EasyEEE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    466
    176
    68
    Military Pilot
    Mobile, AL
    EEEEP - Anyone else with 2.2 with working camera!??
     
  3. aclark414

    aclark414 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    151
    13
    38
    Ohio
    Agreed, it takes quite a while. Just be patient. There are a lot of different update screens and sequences. Good luck!
     
  4. Linx

    Linx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    151
    7
    36
    I'm lost here. From my phone I scanned the barcode that one of the posters posted up. It downloaded thed file. When I go to downloads and click on it, I get three things (opened with ES zip viewer). First being checkspace-firmware.zip-fotaboot. Those are the three in order. What do I do from here? How do I put it to my sd card? How do i rename it? Do I have to do this on a pc or can it all be done on my phone? Please help!!!!
     
  5. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    226
    28
    43
    once its all done.... can you remove/delete that zipfile?
     
  6. GaryColeman

    GaryColeman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    244
    99
    53
    Tye it
     
  7. wado1

    wado1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    31
    4
    16
    Fully updated. Worked for me. Camera works. Camcorder works, has flash now. Also, if you have Handcent u have to turn off the Notifications on Messages because the double notification is back.
     
  8. mrkauffman

    mrkauffman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    22
    1
    16
    yaaaayyyyy im officially 2.2.
     
  9. Scott03Z06

    Scott03Z06 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    15
    3
    16
    Got the same message.

    I'm now at the screen with the the green htc logo. 90% so far
     
  10. teky

    teky Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    433
    120
    68
    Mine works. Try a hard reset.
     
  11. hperry

    hperry Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    76
    14
    18
     
  12. Lorak

    Lorak Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    203
    62
    53
    ITS
    well justin.tv is working for me. so thats a bonus.
     
  13. teky

    teky Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    433
    120
    68
    I couldn't find the zip file after it was done. Looks like it cleans up after itself.
     
  14. ThatNewAndroidGuy

    ThatNewAndroidGuy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    431
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    431
    103
    68
    Workin at the squeaky mart.
    Residin in Florida
    Ahh that sucks.

    8:05 started. 8:17 finished.

    Phone is kind of hot lol. No charger in. Camera works for me. Wifi bars seem to be more accurate now? Full bars with Wifi now vs before update.
     
  15. aclark414

    aclark414 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    151
    13
    38
    Ohio
    *I just did this a second time on my wife's phone and was successful again! Here is the edited step-by-step instruction guide.

    Download link: http://bit.ly/cCiIQu

    1. Turn your phone off
    2. While holding volume up, press power
    3. At the prompt, choose bootloader
    4. At the next prompt, choose recovery
    5. You will eventually get to a black screen with a phone and triangle
    6. Press power and volume up at the same time
    7. Some blue writing will appear at the top of the screen. Select "Apply update. zip" (I renamed mine "update" without the quotation marks)
    8. Yellow typed info will scroll on the screen. Once the update has finished it will tell you, "Reboot to finish installation."
    9. Select the proper instructions for the reboot and use the power key to enter, as instructed. A weird phone with an arrow will show up and turn on and off a few times. WAIT for this to finish. It acts like your phone bricked, but it will eventually boot up correctly.
    10. Once the phone boots, it will go through 2 more update screens. The last one takes the longest - about 5 minutes.


    Your Evo will reboot and that's IT!!

    *This is assuming you already copied it to your SD card
     
    twospirits and ez2bgman like this.
  16. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Please see above post for not hiding the file extension.
     
  17. wase4711

    wase4711 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    799
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    799
    157
    93
    outside chicaago
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  18. Tony2110

    Tony2110 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    I got the exact same problem. I renamed it update and I still get the message.
     
  19. teky

    teky Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    433
    120
    68
    Several new apps get included with the update (like that flashlight). I wonder if that's what is eating your memory up?
     
  20. Jordus

    Jordus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    283
    70
    53
    What good is h.264 when the update broke the damn camcorder app. WTF?!?!

    EDIT: Regular camera app isnt working either. They both open and immediately close.
     
  21. EasyEEE

    EasyEEE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    466
    176
    68
    Military Pilot
    Mobile, AL
    No, you don't want to click on it.

    Plug the phone into your computer.

    When it's charging, pull down the notification bar and select DISC DRIVE.

    Now, using your computer, path to your phone's SD Card and find where that file is. It's probably in your Download folder.

    Select it and MOVE it to your main (root, base, etc) folder of your SD Card (phone drive).

    Rename it update.zip - not update.zip.zip.

    Once you're sure you've done that, slide down your notification bar, select CHARGE ONLY, then disconnect from computer.

    Then follow install instructions from here.

    Think that will get you on track.
     
  22. wado1

    wado1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    31
    4
    16
    Instead of 6 recent apps, there are now 8.
    There is a Dock section in the Settings
    Display is now its own separate section in Settings.
    Launcher Pro seems slightly faster. This EVO was already has as hell, lol.

    Task OS doesn't work now. It opens and shows you the programs running but you can't swipe them up to delete. They go up but don't disappear.
     
  23. kkwus74

    kkwus74 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    97
    16
    18
    anyone having problems accessing datat after the update?
     
  24. BenChase7

    BenChase7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,229
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    2,229
    874
    213
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix
    from engadget, for what is worth

    Update: HTC just shot us a message to clarify that this is not the final ROM version and that the company is strongly recommending not to install this. Additionally, a request has been put in to remove the file from the server, so if you still want to try at your own risk, better download now while it's still available.
     
  25. EasyEEE

    EasyEEE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    466
    176
    68
    Military Pilot
    Mobile, AL
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...