1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Official Unrevoked Developers have Froyo on EVO

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by esone1ll, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. LiquidFusion01

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    10
    3
    16
    Orlando
    Updated mine, lost camera function. Re-ran the update, still no camera. Shut down Advanced Task Killer, both Camera and Camcorder came right up.

    Other than that, I suppose I'll stick with this until the OTA. Everything else seems to work for me so far.

    Oh, and if anyone else is getting stuck at the red triangle, what worked for me was holding the volume button, then pressing power got the menu to appear.
     

    Advertisement

    EarlyMon likes this.
  2. VGPOP

    VGPOP Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    588
    64
    78
    By the way I thought we were going to get the stock froyo launcher. I did not get that (including the screen locked window)
     
  3. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    IMPORTANT TROUBLESHOOTING TIP!!!

    Get aLogcat, free from the Market.

    It displays system logs.

    Also Android System Info does the same.

    FOR STARTUP ISSUES:

    Pull the log after startup settles down, Menu->Pause (aLogcat) - then share to yourself in email, see what problems might be showing up in red or with an E/ at the beginning of the line.

    FOR APPLICATION ISSUES:

    Same procedure as above - EXCEPT - clear log, start app, check log - IOW, replace "startup" with "app" in above instructions.


    Hope this helps!!
     
    gabbott, stainlessray and twospirits like this.
  4. GaryColeman

    GaryColeman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    244
    99
    53
    Exactly! What's next? Are people going to claim Apple released an iPhone without testing the antenna!?! ;)
     
  5. jrstinkfish

    jrstinkfish Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    294
    41
    43
    If the stock HTC bookmark has flash on it (and by the animation on it, it looks as if it does), then Flash is working on mine.
     
  6. heavychevy

    heavychevy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    774
    162
    93

    NO!!!!!

    It's like telling a room full of children they will have cookies coming soon and building up their excitement for weeks and months and then putting out some cookies on the side that you KNOW they will find because they've been waiting for them. Then telling them not to eat said cookies because you don't know if there is rubber mixed in with the cookie dough.
     
    stainlessray and GaryColeman like this.
  7. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    226
    28
    43

    yeah i noticed so they broke my flash......
    Dolphin is working fine so i guess i'll stick to that till it gets fixed
    now to hope system panel lite gets fixed soon and i'll be good to go
     
  8. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Yeah, with the noise and excitement, I apologize but some instructions I simply feel are too important to get lost in the noise.

    I already switched to blue on the next big helper issue.

    Plus - I think I'm all done with those kinda posts - there were just a few important ones.

    Your patience appreciated, along with everyone else.
     
  9. hawkijustin

    hawkijustin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    247
    85
    53
    I very highly doubt that was ever ment for the public to see. HTC wouldnt come out and tell everyone to stop downloading it and its not the final release if it was ment for you to download. Something like that is a "Download at own risk" type of thing. Sprint/HTC has no responsibility over any affects it has over your phone or anyone else that downloaded it.

    BTW you downloaded it and now your upset that it isnt the final release and its messing with your phone and im the ignorant one?
     
    hawt, EarlyMon and twospirits like this.
  10. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    354
    73
    53
    still not working....
     
  11. ThatNewAndroidGuy

    ThatNewAndroidGuy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    431
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    431
    103
    68
    Workin at the squeaky mart.
    Residin in Florida
    Maybe your just the ignorant one? Just because its there, and somehow someone got the link to it...maybe a beta tester for HTC gave out the link to a buddy of his, then his buddy was like OHHH gotta tell my friends, friends tell friends, then they tip to tech blogs like Engadget, and then everyone goes crazy. I like the cookie example above. I live in southern Florida, lot of crime happens here. I have a bike out in the front yard with a broken sproket, some *cough* decides to steal my bike and runs off with it. Does that mean he can bring it back and get pissed at me because it was broken? Maybe he shouldn't have touched it in the first place, as there was no notice or say. May not be a good example, but still tells the point.
     
    hawkijustin likes this.
  12. Scott03Z06

    Scott03Z06 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    15
    3
    16
    Flash appears to be working on Dolphin for me. It at least worked for this:
    Full Screen Flash Video Demo
     
  13. takirb

    takirb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    641
    181
    93
    Systems Analyst/Network Admin
    S. Carolina

    Funny, a server hosts a file and people think if its accessible, its theirs to download. I have files hosted in the public folder of
    my dropbox acct but that doesn't mean I told you to download them.
     
  14. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    354
    73
    53
    should i pull the battery? i have been at the 4g load screen for over 40 mins
     
  15. HopeofCarter

    HopeofCarter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    121
    14
    38
    Do you honestly think you can win this argument? I mean really?
     
  16. GaryColeman

    GaryColeman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    244
    99
    53
    Any pron?
     
    stainlessray likes this.
  17. Jordus

    Jordus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    283
    70
    53
    You aren't a company that put out a product and said an update was coming today, either.

    Bottom line is that update should never have seen the light of a publicly accessible folder on HTCs website and whoever published it should be fired, immediately.
     
  18. ThatNewAndroidGuy

    ThatNewAndroidGuy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    431
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    431
    103
    68
    Workin at the squeaky mart.
    Residin in Florida
    I think he can yea. You must be one of the people who steal a lot. People up in PA and other suburban areas where there is practically no crime at all, leave their car doors unlocked. So your saying just because their car doors are unlocked, you can go in and steal the car?
     
  19. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Yes.

    Please go back and check for the right start button instructions - somebuddy else had the same trouble.

    I just can't find it now with the noise and bickering, I'm very sorry.

    Others had this problem and posted how to get past it.

    You may need to re-do the update, not sure.
     
  20. takirb

    takirb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    641
    181
    93
    Systems Analyst/Network Admin
    S. Carolina
    No, not at all. I wanted to be the guy in the background saying "yea, what he said!" but decided to chime in with logic instead lol
     
  21. GaryColeman

    GaryColeman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    244
    99
    53
    Good question
     
  22. hawkijustin

    hawkijustin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    247
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    247
    85
    53
    I tried also. Its not worth it. People will always blame someone else for their problems. If you didnt install this then your lucky and just wait till the 3rd for the ota update.
     
  23. ThatNewAndroidGuy

    ThatNewAndroidGuy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    431
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    431
    103
    68
    Workin at the squeaky mart.
    Residin in Florida
    Try CNN.com, IT WORKS :p, videos didn't work/load previously :D

    Also like how the little icons in camera app swivel into the rotation, rather than the screen change like a slide show :p
     
  24. HopeofCarter

    HopeofCarter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    121
    14
    38
    The update was available on their site, the makers of the phone. What is there to question? Its like a dealership putting out a car on the lot to sell and the consumer bought it. You're honestly going to tell me that its the consumer's fault? Really?


    I honestly can't believe the mentality of some of you folk.


    Btw my update went fine, well I installed a rooted "unoffical/offical" rom >.>
     
  25. Jordus

    Jordus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    283
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    283
    70
    53
    Qik fails too. Its something with how the OS accesses the camera because any app that uses the camera works fine until the point of actually loading the camera.

    Fail HTC, fail.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...