1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Official Unrevoked Developers have Froyo on EVO

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by esone1ll, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. VGPOP

    VGPOP Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    588
    64
    78
    I am still at this phone and red triangle for about 5 mins now. I don't want to take out my battery and something happens to it.

    Do I need to do something else?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    300
    33
    43
    Still on a pic of the phone with a Red triangle with a ! in the middle.
     
  3. sh4o8kid

    sh4o8kid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    176
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    176
    93
    53
    when i hit apply sdcard:update.zip it keeps saying it failed cause theres no such file or directory. any help? i already renamed the winrar file to update.zip
     
  4. aznmode

    aznmode Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    424
    38
    43

    Power + volume up then update from zip
     
  5. aclark414

    aclark414 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    151
    13
    38
    Ohio
    IT WORKED!!!!!!!!!! Fully booted into new 2.2 Froyo!!!!!
     
    Zameus likes this.
  6. nahpungnome

    nahpungnome Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    187
    29
    43
    Software Developer
    Los Angeles, CA
    You mean if I don't follow someone else's instructions on how to root my phone I'm a poser? :)
     
  7. stas333

    stas333 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    24
    8
    16
    me too
     
  8. EasyEEE

    EasyEEE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    466
    176
    68
    Military Pilot
    Mobile, AL
    Wait.. you had it as update.zip and it didn't work, and then you renamed it update (no suffix) and it worked?

    And when it says "Up button while booting" - I assume they mean the up volume button?

    EdIT: I see about volume up.

    Hotel downloading at 24kbs FTW! :\

    That's ok - let you guys figure shiznit out first :p
     
  9. iboombastic

    iboombastic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    May 24, 2009

    May 24, 2009
    105
    4
    36
    Its probably update.zip.zip
    just rename update
     
  10. VGPOP

    VGPOP Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    588
    64
    78
    Thanks.

    I just applied update.

    Was getting nervous for a moment there.

    It started at 7:35pm
     
  11. aclark414

    aclark414 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    151
    13
    38
    Ohio
    It takes a LONG time (several minutes) at several different screens along the way. Just when you think it bricked, it boots into another update screen. Just be patient.
     
  12. dimfeld

    dimfeld Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    5
    3
    6
    Hit the power button and the up button at the same time. That should bring up a menu. I had to mess around with the buttons a bit to get it to work.
     
  13. teky

    teky Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    433
    120
    68
    What winrar file? I think you need to stop right now, and re-read the instructions.
     
  14. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    300
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    300
    33
    43
    Ok, false alarm for me. I guess I need to rename the file.
     
  15. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Be VERY careful and VERY sure that you do not have your Windows file browser set to hide file extensions.

    Otherwise, you'll name it update.zip.zip and not know it.

    The correct file name is update.zip - do not deviate.

    Verify it with your built-in Evo file browser, such as ASTRO File Manager, free from the market. Looking with ASTRO, it should be directly inside the folder /sdcard - nowhere else.
     
  16. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    473
    255
    88
    Los Angeles
    Anybody install over unrevoked 3?
     
  17. bigddybn

    bigddybn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    76
    15
    18
    Stuart, FL
    Okay I'm rooted. Or I should say I *was* rooted.

    Turned off my phone.

    Held volume down and the power button.

    Selected recovery

    Did nandroid backup

    DID NOT WIPE PHONE

    Selected update from SD card. I didn't change name.

    It filled a status bar and rebooted.

    Got a box thing with an arrow and the little green guy for a few minutes where I was worried but it rebooted

    got a phone with red triangle for a few minutes but it rebooted.

    Finally booted for real and got an HTC indicator with a percentage that slowly counted up to 100%

    it told me grats upgrade was done. All my old stuff is still there and phone is working perfectly.
     
  18. RichboyJhae

    RichboyJhae Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    439
    262
    88
    Texas
    Omg this is so crazy. Waiting for someone other than the Unrevoked guys to say that they've had success with it.
     
  19. aznmode

    aznmode Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    424
    38
    43
    I think all this excitement is confusing you guys lol. Just breathe....relax and just be patience and follow the instruction.
     
  20. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    While holding the volume up button, hit the power button.

    Like a shift key, first one, then the other.
     
  21. DeafWhisperer

    DeafWhisperer Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Applications Developer
    Cary, NC
    I think I may have done something wrong. I'm stuck at a black screen with a phone image and red rectangle that is upside down with and a red exclamation point. What's that? What should I do?
     
  22. snapbox

    snapbox Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    54
    29
    23
    News Media - [I work for NAVTEQ and these are my
    South Florida
    IT WORKS! Got 2.2 on mine. BE PATIENT. It'll reboot quite a few times showing the phone and the green arrows before it finally loads.
     
  23. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Wait.
     
  24. Aldo Junior Ao2

    Aldo Junior Ao2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009

    Sep 28, 2009
    398
    65
    53
    Earlymon did you notice we got H.264 hehe in almost the exact setting i made
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  25. aznmode

    aznmode Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    424
    38
    43
    I know right. I'm like going from one browser to the next...refresh paging is making my index finger sore lol.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...