1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Official ZTE Grand X Max + 5.1 Root Achieved!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Mredjay0, Jun 18, 2016.

  1. Mredjay0

    Mredjay0 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015

    Oct 14, 2015
    18
    7
    26
    Male
    The files attached have been verified to be clean.
    I take no responsibility if you break your phone in the process. I know that I have not posted much on this forum, but I really wanted to repost everything that I have come across and put it into ONE nice post that other Z987 owners can find easily.

    This WILL give you Root access.
    This WILL void your Warranty.
    I WILL not be responsible if you break your phone.
    Again...
    I take NO responsibility for finding this method.



    STEP 1.
    -------------------------------------------------------
    "kmt5150"
    -------------------------------------------------------

    Here it goes!
    ROOTING METHOD FOR BUILD Z987V2.3.15, 5.1 LOLLIPOP, CRICKET STOCK SOFTWARE

    I'll be outlining my exact process that gave me this wonderful gift. Toy around with it if you want [​IMG]
    1. Install SRS Root from the Root Files.zip attachment to this post. Run the All Methods option (it will fail, don't worry).
    2. Make sure your Google Play isn't set to auto-update for this next process. It seemed to help me.
    2. Install Kingoroot from the Root Files.zip attachment to this post. Decline the yahoo malware search bar ****. Run Kingoroot. While it's running, make sure Google Play is set to NOT auto-update.
    When Kingoroot reaches 53%, let it sit for about a minute, then reboot the phone. Allow it to start and unlock your screen as soon as you can, to allow continuation. Cover and let simmer until you reach 100% [​IMG]

    [​IMG]Congrats! You've achieved root!




    STEP 2.
    ----------------------------------------------------
    "Masterchief87"
    ----------------------------------------------------
    I used terminal emulator to enter the "reboot disemmcwp" command on my zmax z970 and it has persisted through countless reboots, dirty flashing multiple BrokenOS ROM updates, and clean flashing the latest update last night. I wiped system and did a factory reset before installing the newest update of BrokenOS and once the ROM booted up I still had system rw access without a switcher.

    Running the "reboot disemmcwp" command should disable the system write protection INDEFINITELY until you use the other command to turn it back on. Also, I don't think root is needed for the command to work even with terminal emulator. It certainly wasn't needed in my case.

    All I needed to do was install terminal emulator, open a terminal, and without ever requesting or granting root access, run the "reboot disemmcwp" command. It did not require root and it is still working after several days, dozens of reboots, and a factory reset.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Again, these are NOT my files, nor did I come up with this method for rooting. I am only compiling the information and presenting it to other Z987 owners for easy access.

     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

    #1 Mredjay0, Jun 18, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2016
    HMT Chryssi likes this.
  2. HMT Chryssi

    HMT Chryssi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    May 18, 2014

    May 18, 2014
    79
    32
    33
    Male
    Travis, Texas
    Isn't that the wrong way? Like.. Isn't step 1 supposed to be Step 2 and Step 2 as Step 1..?
     
    Mredjay0 likes this.
  3. Mredjay0

    Mredjay0 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015

    Oct 14, 2015
    18
    7
    26
    Male
    I believe that the error was due to the way I had copy and pasted.
    Will fix it.
     
    HMT Chryssi likes this.
  4. Zte z987 cricket

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016

    Jun 22, 2016
    27
    0
    25
    Male
    broken arrow,oklahoma
    So do step two then Step 1
     
  5. Mredjay0

    Mredjay0 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015

    Oct 14, 2015
    18
    7
    26
    Male
    No no no...it's been edited. It's fixed now
     
  6. Zte z987 cricket

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016

    Jun 22, 2016
    27
    0
    25
    Male
    broken arrow,oklahoma
    So do Step 1 then Step 2
     
  7. Mredjay0

    Mredjay0 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015

    Oct 14, 2015
    18
    7
    26
    Male
    Yeah man. It's been fixed... Do step one and then do step 2.
     
  8. Masterchief87

    Masterchief87 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    2,648
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014

    May 27, 2014
    2,648
    2,256
    533
    Male
    Fort Myers, Fl
    Has anyone tried the mobile version of kingroot lately on 5.1?

    Also I noticed you make no mention of installing twrp recovery or flashing the SuperSU zip.

    The best way to do this would be to do the steps 1 and 2(which give you temp root)that you outlined, then install twrp and boot into twrp and flash the SuperSU zip( which gives you permanent root).
    AFTER flashing the SuperSU zip would be the best time to use the "reboot disemmcwp" command because that way you have SuperSU instead of kingroot (kingroot does some really shady stuff and it is a good idea to delete both kingroot and SRS root from both your phone and your pc as soon as you are done with the rooting process).
    You really don't want to have system rw access until you have deleted kingroot because it is basically malware.
     
  9. RompeCulos69

    RompeCulos69 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016

    Jul 1, 2016
    1
    0
    5
    Male
    tried this method...got it temp root... installed twrp and now phone is stuck on zte grand x max +logo
     
  10. HMT Chryssi

    HMT Chryssi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    May 18, 2014

    May 18, 2014
    79
    32
    33
    Male
    Travis, Texas
    Explain what you have done. Step by Step.
     
  11. Dannydet

    Dannydet Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,384
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    3,384
    1,712
    818
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
    I just tried on mine, but without step 2, which is over my head. It did root, but could not uninstall system files. If someone could spoon feed the details of step 2 I could do it.
     
  12. Mredjay0

    Mredjay0 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015

    Oct 14, 2015
    18
    7
    26
    Male

    No problem.

    Just go to the Play Store and look for a terminal emulator.

    Open the Terminal Emulator and type "su" (without quotes) and press enter.

    This gives you root permissions to execute system commands.
    Now you just need to type "reboot disemmcwp" (without quotes).

    Your phone will reboot and Bobs your uncle...youre now rooted with r/w capability.
     
    Dannydet likes this.
  13. Dannydet

    Dannydet Android Expert
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    3,384
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016

    Jan 16, 2016
    3,384
    1,712
    818
    Male
    Graphics Manager / Sales
    USA
    No luck. It reboots and shows Needs SU binary again. It basically is a no go loop. I'm on 5.1 btw and I'm thinking this is a far fetched idea. I've also tried the newest Kingroot apk with no success. Followed your instructions to the "T"
     
  14. Marilyn_Reznor

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016

    Oct 19, 2016
    2
    0
    15
    Male
    When I type in "su" without the quotes, am I supposed to get a message that says "su: not found"
     
  15. Marilyn_Reznor

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016

    Oct 19, 2016
    2
    0
    15
    Male
    I typed in the command and it says reboot: Permission denied 1| u0_a168@abby:/ $
     
  16. HMT Chryssi

    HMT Chryssi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    May 18, 2014

    May 18, 2014
    79
    32
    33
    Male
    Travis, Texas
    Root. SU does not work under non-rooted ZTEs. Otherwise your root is broken.
     

Share This Page

Loading...