1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Oh-oh!!! Why did I try to fix GPS???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by camevad, Apr 20, 2011.

  1. camevad

    camevad Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    'in-between' see Location above
    Cork, soon to be York!
    I think I've gone and done something stupid :(:(:

    I tried fixing my shite GPS using info from another forum (serves me right I guess) by using the shortcut into lbs test mode and changed the FQDN Type setting to "AUTO Config". I then did a soft reboot and when the phone comes back on I can see the Homescreen but then it does the 'vibrate-once-vibrate-three times' trick like something has stopped working. It then turns off the phone and turns it back on again only to repeat the same thing over and over again. Turn on, vibrate, turn off, turn on, vibrate, turn off etc...

    I've even taken the battery out and done a hard reboot from the recovery screen but this doesn't work either.

    HELP!!!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,279
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    2,279
    263
    163
    Well, sound like you need to flash a new rom. Don't worry, it's not as scary as it sounds. Go to samfirmware.com and download an appropriate firmware for your region, the newest odin and the correct pit file (the table where you select the firmware will tell you which pit file you need.) Open odin, put in the files, then put your phone in download mode. Now plug it in, wait for the drivers to finish installing (you need to have kies installed but not running), and flash away.
     
  3. camevad

    camevad Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    'in-between' see Location above
    Cork, soon to be York!
    I don't know if I've done something wrong: the .pit file installed but only if I ticked the 're-partition' box aswell but the phone won't reboot or even turn on now.
    The only screen i can get into now is the download screen:thinking:

    I think I'm making it worse...:eek:
     
  4. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,279
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    2,279
    263
    163
    Have you tried flashing without ticking repartition? What happens then?

    And how many files does the rom package you downloaded have?
     
  5. Shocky

    Shocky On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,872
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    2,872
    319
    163
    Sometimes you might need to go into the recovery screen the reset factory settings, clear cache etc to get the phone to boot after a flash.

    But if that's not working then you need to re-flash, try flashing the phone again. I find I can only flash with one of my PC's, for some reason this one doesnt always connect properly and would mess up the flash.

    In the future just flash the pda file and don't re-partition, messing around with pit files and re-partitioning is not necessary.
     
  6. camevad

    camevad Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    'in-between' see Location above
    Cork, soon to be York!
    So my PDA file- should it be .rar or .tar because all I can find is a .rar file but Odin doesn't see it.

    I've re-flashed the 512.pit file again and it's only installing if I click re-partition. If I leave it blank it gets as far as <do not touch the device and the top left FAIL or PASS box just says 'Partition' and does nothing for a couple hours. I've unplugged my phone and reset Odin so many times now in frustration but I can't even get into the recovery screen to do a factory reset.

    I think I've gone beyond my knowledge of how Android works.

    Is there a Forum expression for "your eyes were too big for your belly"?:(

    PS: I have a back-up of the complete .efs file on my external hard drive if this is of any consequence

    PPS: You guys must have the patience of saints to be dealing with know all twonks like me:D
     
  7. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,279
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    2,279
    263
    163
    Haha. I think I see the problem now. .rar is a compressed file, much like zip files. It's made be a company called rarlab, and has gained a lot of popularity as a replacement for zip in recent years. Go and download 7zip - it's a open source compression program. Unzip the rar file, that should give you either one tar file or 3. if there's only one, put it in pda. If there are 3, put csc in csc, phone or modem in phone, and the last one in pda. Also put in the pit file, but try flashing without re-partition first.
     
  8. seepage

    seepage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    442
    30
    43
    camevad try this. It takes you back to some version of eclair then to UK Froyo. from then Kies will update you.
    I have used it several times after buggering things up and it always works.
    There are probably better ways but this is very easy.
    One thing, don't unzip the file to go from eclair to froyo.
     
  9. camevad

    camevad Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    'in-between' see Location above
    Cork, soon to be York!
    Ok, Snapperfishes I did this and it unzipped 2 files one of which I think is just the file name: CODE_I9000XFJP7.tar.md5 with a file size of 0kb.
    The other is: MODEM_I9000XXJPP.tar.md5 which I presume is the file itself (12kb). I put this one in PDA and the pit file in PIT, left the Re-Partition box unchecked but checked Auto Reboot and F. Reset Time, flashed and this is exactly what shows in the message box:

    <ID:0/004>Added!!
    <ID:0/004>Odin v.3 engine (ID:4)..
    <ID:0/004>File analysis..
    <ID:0/004>Enter CS for MD5..
    <ID:0/004>Check MD5.. Do not unplug the cable..
    <ID:0/004>Please wait..
    <ID:0/004>Checking MD5 finished Sucessfully..
    <ID:0/004>Leave CS..
    <ID:0/004>SetupConnection..
    <ID:0/004>Initialzation..
    <ID:0/004>Get PIT for mapping..
    <ID:0/004>Firmware update start..
    <ID:0/004>modem.bin
    <ID:0/004>Completed..
    <OSM>All threads completed. (succeed 1 / failed 0)
    <ID:0/004>Removed!!

    Odin now says PASS! in a green box top left of screen, however the phone hasn't rebooted and the screen has gone blank. It looks like it's telling me it's ok but I don't know whether I should unplug the phone and try rebooting or not-kind of in limbo a bit at the moment I guess...
     
  10. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,279
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    2,279
    263
    163
    I went ahead and downloaded XFJP7 from News - www.SamFirmware.com. The file size of the rar file is 152 MB. Unzipping yields 2 files
    • CODE_I9000XFJP7.tar.md5 - 262 MB
    • MODEM_I9000XXJPP.tar.md5 - 12 MB

    So either the downloaded file is corrupted, or something went wrong during decompression. The MODEM file needs to go under phone, and the CODE file needs to go under PDA.
     
  11. camevad

    camevad Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    'in-between' see Location above
    Cork, soon to be York!
    Nice one snapper.fishes!! You were right, for some reason 7zip didn't de-compress properly.
    Flashed and back in action.:D:D

    Er... I should probably leave well enough alone BUT it's hard not to play with these babies. As I have the complete .efs file and all my phone-only apps on my external hard drive is it possible to zip them and flash them back to my phone and then install from sd card in the recovery screen??

    It's going to take me ages to get it back to how I it was. Am I playing with fire?
     
  12. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,279
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    2,279
    263
    163
    Good to know that it works now. Phew~

    You don't need to restore the efs folder unless if your imei was corrupted. Check your phone imei that's hidden behind the battery, and then type *#06# into the dialer. If they are the same, no need to worry about it.

    As for creating update.zip files for your aps, I am afraid I can't help you with that. I usually just use TB or Root explorer for tasks like that. But it shouldn't be too difficult to find instructions of that on the internet. Here's the first link google came up with.

    How to Create Android Update Zip Package | All About Web & Mobile Application Development
     
    camevad likes this.
  13. camevad

    camevad Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    'in-between' see Location above
    Cork, soon to be York!
    Feck that I'll probably only semi brick it again!
    All my apps are listed on Appbrain anyway so I think I'll just start again from that list.;)
    IMEI was fine by the way, cheers fella.

    This is why I will never buy a spIPhone-iOs is tyranny, Open Source is freedom.
     

Share This Page

Loading...