1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General ok, CAn I unlock a Sprint GS4?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by timbre, Oct 14, 2013.

  1. timbre

    timbre Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    78
    3
    16
    Question is in Title, stemming from the fact that I cannot access APN settings with my sprint gs4, can I unlock it without going thru sprint?
     

    Advertisement

  2. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
    nope, laws changed this year and the only legal way you can unlock a phone is if you contact the carrier. (until the law changes )
     
    jhawkkw likes this.
  3. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,893
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    "Unlock" refers to disabling the SIM-lock, allowing other carriers' SIMs to be used. Since your phone doesn't use a SIM (CDMA phones don't), it can't be unlocked (it's not locked).

    As far as the APN settings, try the APN Settings Shortcut at the Play store. You can edit the current settings (press the current one) or add a new one (Menu/New APN). No guarantee that it works on an S4, but it works on my older Samsung on Sprint, and if it won't work, you won't be able to damage anything. (And it's free, so try it.)
     
  4. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
     
  5. Darnell0216

    Darnell0216 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    I'm afraid you've been misinformed. The S4 design as a whole includes a SIM slot. Just the frequencies vary by region. With Sprint, the S4 SIM is locked nationally and internationally, with calling Sprint being the only unlock method. However I've heard getting any of the US carriers to unlock the S4 is almost impossible.

    At least with my previous phone, the SIM lock was only to the US carriers and it was unlocked internationally out of the box.
     
    KJohns likes this.
  6. timbre

    timbre Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    78
    3
    16
    It does use a sim, and supports 4g and 4g lte. I have been told I cannot access the APN settings on sprints verion unless it is unlocked, and they have to give me the code to do that. I can't believe it's illegal to unlock a phone, that's ridiculous. I am rooted, and figured there must be a way to unlock, guess I'm out of luck. In my searching I have come across sites trying to sell unlock codes, can that be legit?
     
  7. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
    ---> What the DMCA cell phone unlock ban means to you (FAQ) | Mobile - CNET News

    they used the DMCA to make it illegal/(?) to unlock the phone without the carriers permission. For example, you buy a subsidized handset for 99 bucks down with abc carrier, and then unlock to to use with def carrier who has cheaper service. the cost of the handset is offset by the service/usage fees you pay every month.

    if you own the device you are trying to unlock (like you paid in full for it.) They are REQUIRED to provide a sim unlock code if you meet certain criteria:

    1) you bought the device outright
    2) are a current customer and
    3) Have had the device for a period of time,not sure for sprint but tmobile is
    like 30 days.

    Dunno about buying unlock codes online, it may work for you but why pay for something you can get for free? Ive got my s4 unlocked from tmobile, as well as two htc ones.


    also --->

    Sprintcast May 11, 2013 9:22 AM (in response to MASTERPERU)
    Thanks for reaching out to us. We would be glad to assist you with this. First we will need to verify what model phone you're using, and whether or not it is capable of international roaming. Second, in order to qualify to have your phone unlocked, your account must not have an account spending limit (ASL), the phone must be active on your phone number for 90 days or more, your account balance must be current, and you are only allowed to unlock one unlocked device per subscriber Service Agreement.

    If you have met the above requirements, you can either chat with our international department at Live Chat or give them a call at 888-226-7212 to see about unlocking your phone for international use with another carrier abroad.
     
  8. timbre

    timbre Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011

    May 22, 2011
    78
    3
    16
    Well, I didn't buy it outright and I am under contract with them so I guess they have me but the gonads.
     

Share This Page

Loading...