1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General OK Google DOES NOT work from lockscreen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rich_NY, Mar 31, 2016.

  1. Rich_NY

    Rich_NY Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011

    Apr 21, 2011
    118
    9
    36
    I have the correct settings, changed them NUMEROUS times. It might work once or twice after I redo settings and voice training, then it wont work again. Miss my Moto Assist. I thought they dropped that because of "android capabilites"...this sucks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    782
    215
    113
    Male
    Ok google is blocked from the lock screen deliberately for "security" reasons in Marshmallow.
     
  3. Rich_NY

    Rich_NY Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011

    Apr 21, 2011
    118
    9
    36
    Thats ridiculous Blo.....and why doesnt Samsung tech support know that, he took control of phone and tried to "fix" it.
     
  4. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    782
    215
    113
    Male
    I know, i agree, i'm just the messenger lol Samsung support desk "techs" don't have a clue that's why.
     
  5. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,025
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,025
    2,052
    693
    Male
    USA
    Ok Google (from any screen feature) hasn't worked properly since last year. So many updates. It worked. Didn't work. Worked again for some phones, not all.
     
  6. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    782
    215
    113
    Male
    It works fine when the phone is unlocked under Marshmallow.
     
  7. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,025
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,025
    2,052
    693
    Male
    USA
    Same for me. I am on a different phone but it works great with marshmallow.

    Problem is, it doesn't work properly for every phone. This forum and others are full with people complaining that it does not work....it's been on and off for me since an update in April 2015.
     
  8. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    782
    215
    113
    Male
    Does s-voice work when its locked? I've not tried, if it doesn't then you can be pretty sure its a Marshmallow "feature" due to the lawyers sticking their elbows in again.
     
  9. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    782
    215
    113
    Male
    No it does not, just tried. It's by design end of.
     
  10. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,025
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,025
    2,052
    693
    Male
    USA
    Yeah, I had issues with S-Voice interfering with OK Google last year on my previous phones. I just deleted it (my phones are/were rooted)
     
  11. Khayman999

    Khayman999 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    24
    10
    28
    Male
    Italy
    my s-voice works flawlessly from locked screen and I have both s-voice and ok google active simultaneously...
     
  12. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    782
    215
    113
    Male
    orly, what network/carrier are you on?
     
  13. Khayman999

    Khayman999 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    24
    10
    28
    Male
    Italy
    Yeah, about that. I'm actually on H3G in Italy; however, I don't think that makes any difference, to be honest.... do you?
     
  14. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    782
    215
    113
    Male
    Well yes it may, because each carrier has their own tweaks to the standard firmware/software, plus it does not work at all for a lot of us from the lock screen, that's either s-voice or ok google.
     
  15. Khayman999

    Khayman999 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    24
    10
    28
    Male
    Italy
    Hang on... no, my phone is unbranded.....H3G is just my carrier..
     
    #15 Khayman999, Apr 1, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2016
  16. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    782
    215
    113
    Male
    yep ok, that makes sense now then :)
     
  17. Khayman999

    Khayman999 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    24
    10
    28
    Male
    Italy
    Well, it doesn't really... it should always work... but you know what Sammy are like, they like sending out their devices as quickly as possible with their lovely customised interfaces which, almost invariably, are flawed... :-(
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  18. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    782
    215
    113
    Male
  19. Khayman999

    Khayman999 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    24
    10
    28
    Male
    Italy
    It's a real shame though, because this phone along with this OS make for a pretty impressive combination, regardless of the competition and regardless of antutu's scores which tend to favour other UIs. I'm telling you, there's no better device in the world at the moment than this slick piece of work that Samsung have managed to concoct, no matter the SoC...
    I have the Exynos version which keeps all open apps cached in the ram but still runs smoothly all the time....
     
    bIOforger likes this.
  20. bIOforger

    bIOforger Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014

    Jun 19, 2014
    782
    215
    113
    Male
    Yup same CPU as mine, all the global/european ones come with the Exynos CPU, it is an awesome phone.
     
  21. Khayman999

    Khayman999 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016

    Mar 26, 2016
    24
    10
    28
    Male
    Italy
    I couldn't agree more. If you want to get technical though, Adreno 530 is most likely/definitely more powerful a GPU than Mali T-880 MP12 but, for the majority of users it changes nothing. I mean, come on, who's ever gonna claim to be a gamer on a mobile platform? If you ask me, it sounds ridiculous...
     
    bIOforger likes this.

Samsung Galaxy S7

The Samsung Galaxy S7 was launched in 2016 and was one of two devices in the lineup. The device features a 5.1-inch display with a resolution of 2560 x 1440, 4GB of RAM, 32GB of storage, and a 12MP rear camera.

Share This Page

Loading...