1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General "Ok Google" from any screen disappeared

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rjcpgh, Apr 16, 2015.

  1. rjcpgh

    rjcpgh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011

    Dec 16, 2011
    10
    4
    16
    I swear that my new S6 Edge had the ability to verbally recognize "Ok Google" from any screen. However, now I can only do it from the Google app. When I go into the app to change my Settings > Voice > "Ok Google" Detection, my only choice is "From the Google app".

    Where did my other options go? I swear that I had "From any screen" earlier this week when I got the phone.

    Am I mistaken, or did I inadvertently turn off or hide my option for "From any screen"?

    Thanks for the help.

     

    Advertisement

    drea411, mobius006 and M0F0 like this.
  2. Hightech

    Hightech Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    173
    26
    53
    go to Google Settings>Search and now>voice>OK Google detection

    cheers....



     
  3. rjcpgh

    rjcpgh Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011

    Dec 16, 2011
    10
    4
    16
    Thanks, Hightech, but that is my problem. I go exactly to where you point and the OK Google detection choices ONLY has one option, "From the Google app".

    I do not have a "From any screen" option.
     
    mobius006 likes this.
  4. M0F0

    M0F0 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015

    Apr 16, 2015
    9
    0
    5
    I'm getting the same thing on a normal Galaxy S6. Can't even retrain my voice model. The only option is "from the Google Search app".
    It was working fine yesterday morning as I use it to start playing music in the car every day.
     
  5. Hightech

    Hightech Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    173
    26
    53
    Strange......try this just for kicks...
    1. Make sure you have the latest version of the Google app. (To get the latest version, go to the Google app page on the Play Store and touch Update).
    2. Update your phone to the newest operating system. Some of the "Ok Google" settings only work if you're using 4.4 or higher. (but if you have the s6 you probably have android 5.0.x
    Something else to try.....

    They shouldn’t be incompatible, but some people have had success here by turning off Voice wake-up in the Settings menu of S Voice. Others report the opposite (that S Voice must be on for “OK Google” to work).
     
    #5 Hightech, Apr 17, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2015
  6. wareynolds

    wareynolds Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012

    Sep 18, 2012
    6
    3
    6
    It is running 5.0.2. I tried to uninstall updates and re update and it is still only allowing from the Google app.

    I have disabled S-Voice all together. The option that should be there to enable on any screen is just missing.
     
  7. Hightech

    Hightech Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    173
    26
    53

    Sorry I can't help you more....you might try the XDA forums. This doesn't seem to be a common problem as I cannot find anthing about it anywhere on the web.
     
  8. Asimsin

    Asimsin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015

    Apr 17, 2015
    2
    0
    15
    Same here. Hope this will be fixed.
     
  9. Asimsin

    Asimsin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015

    Apr 17, 2015
    2
    0
    15
    You can install google now launcher.
     
  10. Hightech

    Hightech Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    173
    26
    53
    I am a little more motivated to find your answer. While fooling around trying to find your answer...the same thing happened to my S6. Now only the "open from google search app" is showing! Arghhhhhh!!
     
  11. mobius006

    mobius006 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015

    Apr 17, 2015
    2
    2
    26
    Male
    Same here! I did a factory reset thinking it was some option I killed of getting rid of the bloatware.

    Searching Missing Google Now option on Galaxy S 6 wasnt bring up a lot of results.

    This has been beyond upsetting coming from a N5.

    I feel better knowing I'm not alone. Now I can update my phone as normal and I guess wait for Samsung / Google to comment / fix it.

    Using the google launcher doesn't add the option as well.
     
    #11 mobius006, Apr 17, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2015
  12. Hightech

    Hightech Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    173
    26
    53
    I posted it on the XDA developers forum as well.......
     
  13. GeneJockey

    GeneJockey Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015

    Apr 16, 2015
    7
    1
    6
    Male
    I can add my voice (no pun intended) to the list. Yesterday I had the "from any screen" option on my Galaxy S6 and today no matter what I do it is just not available. And I have tried it with TouchWiz, Nova launcher and Google Now launcher.

    Yesterday when it was "working" I definitely saw that the function was sporadic, sometimes worked, sometimes not. But now I can't even select that option.

    Makes me think that someone rolled out some sort of update and broke it....
     
  14. M0F0

    M0F0 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015

    Apr 16, 2015
    9
    0
    5
  15. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,888
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,888
    6,121
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    You can turn it on to work on the homescreen with Nova, but it doesn't work in apps.
     
    davoid likes this.
  16. stevez444

    stevez444 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    52
    1
    16
    Add me to the list.
    AT&T S6 - Same on my wife's S6 Edge
    Disappeared yesterday
    One post I found blames a minor update that was pushed out to help with battery life
    Makes the most sense so far from everything I'm reading
    I'm hoping it returns pronto
    For now I put the Google Search widget on my home screen and am using Ok Google from there
     
  17. Hightech

    Hightech Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    173
    26
    53
    Can someone let us know who/where is the best place to get in touch with Google on this?
     
  18. juxt417

    juxt417 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015

    Apr 18, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    Me thinks it has something to do with that push update to fix battery consumption. As it seemed to happen after this. Anyone else notice this?

    Also I've noticed that in the smart manager It Says I need to scan for malware but I do not have the option to do so. I've went through the walk through online and the scan device option is just not there
     
  19. sal mafi

    sal mafi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015

    Apr 19, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    I'm having the same issue with my S6 Edge. It disappeared yesterday. I miss her.
     
  20. tha bull

    tha bull Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015

    Apr 19, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Male
     
  21. skizer4351

    skizer4351 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015

    Apr 19, 2015
    2
    0
    15
    Male
    Ok I thought I lost my mind! I got my S6 on Wednesday and set up Google now and selected the "from and screen" and used it several times. Then went to use it yesterday and it was gone. I'm not a expert on these phones and thought I did something to disable it.
     
  22. CallMeMerk

    CallMeMerk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015

    Apr 19, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    I have a Galaxy S6 Edge and have T-Mobile and I have experienced the same exact issue. It is driving me crazy!!!!! Screenshot_2015-04-19-22-08-06.png
     
  23. caanda45

    caanda45 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    You guys are not crazy at all, I got my S6 today and set it up before I did the small battery update. After that update, it was gone....It drove me crazy till I found this thread on it....So it is the update that fixed one thing or two and broke others...so typical, but one aspect of google now that worked....
     
  24. Staxed

    Staxed Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015

    Apr 20, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    You can add me to the list as well :(.
     
    #24 Staxed, Apr 20, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2015
  25. Redmo33

    Redmo33 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015

    Apr 20, 2015
    2
    0
    15
    Male
    Grrrr!!! Wish I wasn't on this list as well. I use ok Google so oooo much!!! =(
     
  26. Hightech

    Hightech Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    173
    26
    53
    Just contacted Google customer service per the phone number listed above (thanks).

    Of course the rep hadn't heard of the problem.....and I pointed him to the androidforums-s6 thread. Wow!

    He promised to escalate the information. We'll see what happens.
     

Samsung Galaxy S6

The Samsung Galaxy S6 launched in 2015 as the company's flagship. It features a 5.1-inch screen with 2560 x 1440 resolution, 3GB of RAM, 32GB of storage, and an impressive 16 megapixel camera.

Share This Page

Loading...