1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General OK Google Voice Command

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by exninja, Jan 9, 2014.

  1. exninja

    exninja Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    298
    94
    63
    AZ
    First, the N5 is an awesome phone, especially compared to my previous phones. However, just one little quirk: the OK Google voice commands are not "learnable" a la Moto X. I like being able to use OK Google, but the prankery gets old. And too tempting for me. Anytime my phone is on the homescreen, my wife can blurt out "OK Google" and now I've got to close it before she tells it to do something else. And the same vice-versa since she has one too. Think there might be anything in the works from Google to allow it to learn my voice? I'm really glad they didn't do something like have it always listening AND not learn my voice. The pranks would be maddening (thinking of the "OK Google Find My Phone" command in particular).
     

    Advertisement

  2. g01851

    g01851 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011

    Jan 14, 2011
    215
    48
    53
    Male
    IT
    just south of Los Angeles, CA, USA
    Working as intended? *ducks*
     
    kylecummins and akmsr like this.
  3. zipred

    zipred Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    970
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013

    Oct 8, 2013
    970
    419
    133
    California USA
    The Nexus 5 can be set to learn your voice, it's default is off.

    To turn it on Select:
    Settings / Personal / Language & Input / Speech / Voice Search
    Check the box "Personalized Recognition"

    Out of the box mine would barely respond, after I chose this option, in less than four days it learned my voice and now works perfectly.
     
  4. MartinS

    MartinS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,109
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009

    I don't seem to have that option.
     
  5. JBentleyR

    JBentleyR Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #151
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    366
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014

    Jan 3, 2014
    366
    65
    83
    Male
    Retired
    Cheshire
    I can't find 'Personalised Recognition' on mine either.
     
  6. renegad3

    renegad3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    May 9, 2013

    May 9, 2013
    115
    42
    83
    Settings > Language & Input > Voice Search > Personalized recognition

    You will need to scroll down to see some of the options.

    You can also turn off the hotword detection if you wish.
     
  7. JBentleyR

    JBentleyR Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #151
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    366
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014

    Jan 3, 2014
    366
    65
    83
    Male
    Retired
    Cheshire
    No, under 'Voice Search' I have:
    Language (English US - apparently proper(!) English doesn't work voice recognition)
    Speech output (On)
    Block offensive words (Unchecked)
    Hotword detection (Checked)
    Offline speech recognition (Manage downloaded languages - English US)*
    Bluetooth headset (Unchecked)

    No 'personalised recognition'!

    (*Edit: I've just downloaded 'proper' English too!)
     
  8. renegad3

    renegad3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    May 9, 2013

    May 9, 2013
    115
    42
    83
    Perhaps it is a localization issue then, have you rebooted since installing the English (US) language pack?

    Are you rooted/custom rom, etc?

    [​IMG]
     
  9. JBentleyR

    JBentleyR Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #151
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    366
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014

    Jan 3, 2014
    366
    65
    83
    Male
    Retired
    Cheshire
    English US was the pre-installed language and, yes, I have rebooted a few times since I bought the phone.

    I notice that 'Google Account dashboard' isn't present in language settings either.

    Perhaps it's a different setup for the UK/European market compared to that for the US?
     
  10. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,419
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,419
    174
    163
    UK
    Do you need to enable Google Now first to get it working on a non US N5?
     
  11. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,419
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,419
    174
    163
    UK
    Seems you change the language to English (US)

    But I still don't see all the options listed above
     
  12. renegad3

    renegad3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    May 9, 2013

    May 9, 2013
    115
    42
    83
    Well, I guess its possible that Google has made it location based.

    The feature is supposedly USA only, and its possible they have added physical location as a requirement now. That is speculation on my part, but seems entirely feasible.

    There are articles on enabling it in the UK for example, but that doesnt seem to be possible in your case.

    Cult of Android MobileEnable The Nexus 5's ‘Ok Google’ Feature Outside Of The U.S. [Tip] | Cult of Android

    Also what version of 4.4 are you currently on ?
     
  13. MartinS

    MartinS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,109
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009

    Definitely don't have it.
    I wonder if the problem is using US English out of locale or the option is for US only since it relies on Google's servers.
     
  14. exninja

    exninja Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    298
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    298
    94
    63
    AZ
    I've had that checked since day 1. Either it takes over a month to learn or it is useless.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...