1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Ok, have the Verizon GN, my experience, seeking advice

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cam86john, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. cam86john

    cam86john Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012

    Mar 26, 2012
    23
    1
    16
    I like the phone. I'm coming from the Tmobile GS2. I have to say right off the bat, that I miss my GS2, I'm actually thinking of going back to it if I can't resolve these problems.

    1.) My battery drained 95% in 6 hours after being plugged in for 10 hours. Even with Juice Defender turning off the data and wifi while the screen was off. I worked for 4 of those hours, which means I really only had the screen open for a extended period of time for the first 2 hours. This is with the "extended" battery 2100 mAh that Verizon sells.

    2.) Connection to wifi is terrible. It's not my router and my other 6 devices connect to my router just fine. It does connect, but speeds are like we're in 1995. My GS2 would download a 500 MB movie in 5 minutes, my GN wont even stay connected.

    These are the two bigger issues, and both together are definite deal breakers for me.

    They might not be as bad as I'm making them out to be, but for a $750 retail phone, I'm expecting a little more quality.

    What do you guys think? Are their solutions? Faulty phone?

    If I can't figure this out, the only thing I can think of is cancelling Verizon before the 14 days and go to Sprint for the SG2.
     

    Advertisement

  2. charliecc

    charliecc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    424
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011

    Oct 12, 2011
    424
    184
    68
    I've not had any of those problems, but I do have the GSM version. The wi-fi thing seems strange, what software version are you running? Might be worth asking to swap it out for a new model see if that makes any difference.

    As far as battery is concerned, what are the main drains when looking at the usage?

    My battery is at 47% after 23.5 hrs since last charge. This is with light/moderate usage and the standard battery.
     
  3. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,888
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,888
    6,121
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    It's quite possible it is a faulty phone. Couple questions.
    What version of ICS are you on? Once you upgrade to 4.0.4 and flash the latest radios, it really helps with signal strength. But, it does require rooting and I wouldn't recommend it if you are planning to return.
    With the extended battery, that sounds insane how little life you're getting. Are you in a strong LTE area? Do you notice the signal bouncing between 3G and 4G? That's a big battery hog. Do you have a lot of constant syncing going on like Gmail, FB, Twitter etc?
     
  4. Dubbin1

    Dubbin1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,525
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    1,525
    969
    233
    N/W Ohio
    The wifi issues sound strange and may be a problem with the phone. Since its a new phone to you I wouldn't judge the battery just yet. I can easily get through a work day even when I'm playing music in the cloud.
     
  5. viebroccoli

    viebroccoli Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    125
    9
    36
    Automation Intern
    Harrisburg, PA
    First, let's address the battery issue. The first thing I would do is check your battery performance by going to "Battery" in Settings. There you will find a breakdown of which aspects are using what percentage of your battery. Then, by touching the line graph, you'll see 4 different categories under the line graph, labeled "Mobile network signal", "Awake", "Screen On", and "Charging". Note if your Mobile Network Signal is not completely green, this means your phone doesn't always have a strong signal, which is indicative of switching networks or dropping a signal altogether. Unless you're listening to music with your phone on standby, your Awake and Screen On status bars should be roughly identical. If you see Awake has much more of it's status bar filled than Screen On, this is one of the most common issues for unnecessary battery draining. Essentially, your phone is still processing data when you lock the screen, which is undesired. A good habit to develop is to swipe all tasks off the screen by hitting the windows button in the main dock (far left button). And of course, when your Charging bar is green, you should notice your battery level increase. Unless of course, you are streaming HD movies while listening to Pandora also while playing Angry Birds, somehow.

    I can't give any advice in terms of the WiFi, because I barely use it. I have unlimited data and notice significantly higher data speeds on 4G than WiFi, so I don't really have a reason to. Of course, that means I have to charge my phone more often.

    Hope this helps!
     
  6. trophynuts

    trophynuts Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    could be a defective unit. I would return it for another one.


    You're going to get slammed with suggestions on here of people telling you to root and do this and that. I will say that i enjoy rooting and i've been doing it for a while now. However you should not have to "root and mod" your phone to fix the issues you've described.

    I've rooted and tried many roms/kernels/radios and none of it fixed my issues with my G Nex....my replacement device should be here today.
     
    quiklives likes this.
  7. Tim K

    Tim K Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,649
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,649
    471
    183
    Male
    Phila, PA
    I am pretty certain that your battery issues are related to the wifi issues. If you can't get Wifi working right out of the box its probably a hardware issue. Getting your phone working on wifi is a huge benefit to battery life.
     
  8. quiklives

    quiklives Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    421
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    421
    195
    68
    I'm a big advocate of rooting, but trophy is absolutely right - root shouldn't be required to fix such basic problems.

    However, it is possible that you have some kind of runaway app or something that is creating the battery issue, so +1 on looking at the battery stats to see what they tell you.

    The Wifi issue I have no idea about. I have the LTE version as well, and (with the exception of one day, which may have been a problem with my router) I don't have any Wifi issues - I've had the phone since December.
     
    trophynuts likes this.
  9. Turdbogls

    Turdbogls Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    817
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    817
    150
    103
    Designer/Drafter
    O-town Florida
    neither one of those issues is normal.
    i would uninstall juicedefender. it MAY be keeping the phone awake and draining the battery.

    FWIW, i have no issues with wifi, and my phone will drop about 2%/hour with the screen off on LTE....1% or less per hour if i am on Wifi.
     
  10. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,010
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,010
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    I would agree and say the wifi issue isn't normal and there might be a defect.
     
  11. cam86john

    cam86john Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012

    Mar 26, 2012
    23
    1
    16
    Thanks guys for all your input. I went to another forum, and one particular user thought I was bashing the phone, and I didn't get anywhere.

    From what you've said, it's potentially a default in the phone. I think at this point, with Google selling it for retail unlocked at $400, that I'm going to cancel my Verizon before the ETF, and pick up the GN retail, and then go back to Verizon no contract until the GS3 comes out.

    Sound good to you guys?

    Thanks again.
     
  12. jkc120

    jkc120 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    2,266
    1,107
    313
    Senior Software Engineer
    El Dorado Hills, CA
    Google is only selling the GSM version, so that won't work.
     
  13. thawkth

    thawkth Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012

    Apr 15, 2012
    9
    10
    8
    The retail GN is unlocked and will NOT work on Verizon :)

    Different networks and such
     
  14. rivera02

    rivera02 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    588
    164
    93
    Male
    Yea wifi range is awesome on this phone. It maintains a constant connection in certain parts of the building i work in where my razr and evo 3d would drop the signal.
     
  15. cam86john

    cam86john Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012

    Mar 26, 2012
    23
    1
    16
    So only Sprint?
     
  16. Sandroidfan

    Sandroidfan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,150
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011

    Jul 11, 2011
    2,150
    483
    163
    Male
    Engineer
    Central TX
    Yeah, I'm also very happy with Wifi on my Gnex. It's the best performing Wifi that I saw on any phone. When I get into parking lot of my company, it already picks up wifi from about 100fts away from building.

    As for OP's issue, I guess there must be something wrong with wifi setup or some app. If not, it's probably a defective unit.
     
  17. rivera02

    rivera02 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    588
    164
    93
    Male
    No, only tmobile and att use gsm networks. Sprint uses cdma like Verizon
     
  18. Brother Shrike

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011

    Nov 2, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    No, Verizon and Sprint are CDMA networks and their phones won't work on other networks. The unlocked Nexus is GSM, which will work on AT&T, T-Mobile, lots of smaller prepaid networks, and most international networks.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...