1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root OK....I ROYALLLLLYYY messed up i think

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Madster09, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. Madster09

    Madster09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    I HARD reset and went to upgrade my firmware to 2.2 and it says there is no update available?
     

    Advertisement

  2. One Beast

    One Beast Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    557
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    557
    75
    78
    If you On 2.1 and its saying that your gonna have to download and install the ROM yourself after your rooted......Or Wait for another OTA to be released:(
     
  3. One Beast

    One Beast Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    557
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    557
    75
    78
    I'm not sure if HTC has a thing about not letting a device get the same update twice
     
  4. Madster09

    Madster09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    IT'S A different device since the update....i had my phone replaced
     
  5. jcheney10

    jcheney10 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    43
    5
    16
    Temple, TX
    Go under settings and about phone and look up your software version. And post it here it asl your friend did was what you said and tried to root your stock froyo phone with 1 click root, than it would not work and you are still on 2.2 he couldn't magically make your phone go to 2.1 without doing a long process involving running a ruu.
     
  6. One Beast

    One Beast Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    557
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    557
    75
    78

    When you had your phone replaced did it come with 2.1 or 2.2?

    Regardless even if it was updated at the Store it may no let you update again since Downgrading isnt allowed
     
  7. One Beast

    One Beast Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    557
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    557
    75
    78
    Im still trying to understand how your friend downgraded you using simple root:thinking::thinking::thinking:
     
  8. Madster09

    Madster09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    25
    0
    15

    FIRMWARE VERSION: 2.1-update 1
    Baseband Version: 1.39.00.04.26
    Kernal Version: 2.6.29-a2443432 htc-kernal@and18-2#1
    Build number: 1.32.651.1 CL171253 test-keys
    Software Number: 1.32.651.1
    Browser Version: Webkit 3.1
    PRI Version: 1.40_003
    PRL Version: 60670

    I have no clue what any of this means...when i go to my SD card total space and available space say "Unavailable"
     
  9. exBBuser

    exBBuser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    921
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    921
    123
    93
    Miami,FL
    That's is just ur typical software info some needs to be updated but what I still don't get if why u have no space at all on ur SD/card. Ur friend totally ****ed u up.
     
  10. Madster09

    Madster09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    do you think i can go to a sprint store and play dumb? is there a way to fix this?
     
  11. exBBuser

    exBBuser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    921
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    921
    123
    93
    Miami,FL
    Try that. U have nothing to loose at this point.
     
  12. KewlKat007

    KewlKat007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    19
    0
    15
    IT
    Boston, MA
    I think I know what happened...I got my phone back from Assurance 2 days ago(evo was dipped in water) and was able to root with 2.2(phone came as). I did that 2.2 root method but somehow NAND was not unlocked.

    I could not flash to a Custom rom and my phone was stuck at 2.1 and if you tried to update to 2.2 it would download but freeze at installation and just wouldn't pass that.

    Seems like you'll have to Unlock NAND and proceed with custom ROM at this point. That's if your able to get to any Recovery screens?

    I may be Wrong but I was stuck at 2.1 rom and someone stated to upgrade to 2.2 to unlock NAND which wasn't the case.
     
  13. Madster09

    Madster09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    thanx for the info Kewl Kat....but that was all a different language to me lol...
     
  14. Madster09

    Madster09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    they want me to go into the store.....what should i do?
     
  15. exBBuser

    exBBuser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    921
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    921
    123
    93
    Miami,FL
    Just go
     
  16. Madster09

    Madster09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    i was also told they stopped the 2.2 updates cause they were having problems
     
  17. KewlKat007

    KewlKat007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    19
    0
    15
    IT
    Boston, MA
    hey I know you asked your friend to help but I rooted my phone following the simple root method then unlocked nand.

    Seems like your not willing to learn much about the process..it's hard to help someone after they are up a creek with no paddle if they don't want to try much to learn about the process.

    There is a lot of help on these forums and people are great on here but you have to be willing to learn a little.
     
  18. exBBuser

    exBBuser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    921
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    921
    123
    93
    Miami,FL
    If rooted successfully I'm gonna say that u followed the proper procedure. But in his case while looking at the info he gave us here seems like his buddy went straight with Simple Root to root Froyo which is a no go. Unless his friend has done the process to revert 2.2 to 2.1 Simple Root was not an option in the first place.
     
  19. Madster09

    Madster09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    Im willing to learn....wat would i have to do to recpver 2.2 and continue the rooting process?
     
  20. kast107

    kast107 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    27
    2
    16
    I'll be the first to say that I'm a noob here and did the 2.2 reversion method as described in the "2.2 rooted" thread on this site.

    My problem was that I tried to get creative by using simpleroot instead of unrevoked, and while I was able to flash a rom, I broke my 4G/Wimax.

    I tried unlocking nand to update the radio, but no dice. Long story short. I ended up flashing an image to my card that gave me the 1.17 software version (not a typo, it was 1.17). Still, I could not get out of bootloader.

    I searched for "1.36 RUU" and downloaded that, ran it and now I'm back at factory stock.

    Like I said, I'm a noob, so please don't flame me but:

    1. Would running a 1.47 RUU on the OP's phone fix the problem?
    2. My system is now unrooted after running the 1.36 RUU. So I get the $ when I run adb shell command. Could I root again using simpleroot (the right way) without screwing up the 4G and/or the entire phone?\

    I intended on helping the OP by having him run the 1.47 RUU, but I don't want to give bad advice, so I'll make that suggestion and let the experts in here make that determination.

    Like I said, I am a noob, but willing to learn (just hopefully not the hard way).

    Thanks for the sharing the knowledge!
     
  21. Madster09

    Madster09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    theres no way to return the phone back to stock?!?!?
     
  22. woofermazing

    woofermazing Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    177
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    177
    42
    43
    An HTC RUU should return the phone to stock.

    Index of /shipped/Supersonic

    The newest one should be froyo, download it, run it from your PC, and follow the directions.
     
    Madster09 likes this.
  23. Madster09

    Madster09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    gonna do that now...hopefully i get my 2.2 back
     
  24. Madster09

    Madster09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    ive been sitting at 1 sec. for the last 20 minutes....wtf?
     
  25. Madster09

    Madster09 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    woofer ur the man!!!!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...