• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Ok...not panicing, but I think I may have just completely screwed up my ROOTing effort...help?

First of all, please recognize that I'm a noob to Android in the extreme. The Evo is my first Android phone. So, to the problem....basically, the title of the thread says it all. I think I screwed up my Evo in an attempt to root it. I do believe that I took every precaution possible to get the job done and followed the directions line-by-line on the { [TUTORIAL] IDIOT-PROOF Root Guide! No ADB, no fuss! } thread....but the problem arose toward the end.

Ok, at step 30, that went perfectly fine. I downloaded the ROM and saved it to my desktop (I'm on a Macbook Pro btw, in case that helps at all).

Step 31, this went well. I copied it over to my SD card.

Step 32 is where things started to mess up. I turned on the Evo and went into recovery mode, but the only options I was given were the Stock options, ie:

-reboot system now
-apply sdcard: update.zip
-wipe data/factory reset
-wipe cache partition

I was confused. I read and re-read the instructions over and over from the top and had done them all. Then, I got down to the bottom, and things were just being difficult right when I got here. I was incapable of loading the stock ROM. I booted the phone back up, renamed it to update.zip, and booted back into recovery and tried it again, only to get the same error.

"--install from sdcard...
finding update package...
verifying update package...
E:signature verification failed
installation aborted..."