1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Okay. I need the break down...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by B4tnam, Aug 1, 2013.

  1. B4tnam

    B4tnam Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    160
    14
    38
    Male
    College Student, Skateboarder, Singer, Rapper, and
    Adrian, Michigan
    I dont know if this belongs somewhere else or not. But if it does. Please move it, but this is specific to the N4 :] Anyway, here it goes...

    Hi,
    I'm B4tnam (Batman) or just Justin :]
    I am coming from the LG Motion forums... I am pretty active over there (Check ATLEAST twice a day) I will be receiving my Nexus 4 tomorrow or Saturday... I am VERY excited... Here goes my questions...

    1. Since I am coming from Metro PCS, can I port my number to Net10, if so:

    -Have you done it?
    -How long does it normally take to to fully port the number over?
    -Will BOTH phones be usable? Or will only my Metro phone be active until the port is complete?

    2. What is this about flashing radios, and bootloaders (or is it baseband, I'm new at this step)?

    -Do I have to flash a new radio EVERYTIME I flash a new ROM?
    -Can I go from a newer radio to an older radio as well with the bootloader?
    -What are the CONs of a hybrid version of the radios?

    3. I would like to know what ROM and kernel I should try out first. I know everyone is different with different widgets and such, but what do YOU recommend to start with?

    -I work 9 hours a day, I play games, on break (Two Breaks in a day, each 15 minutes) I also use facebook, twitter, Instagram, Foursquare, along with GetGlue...
    -I also keep my home screen to a BARE minimum... UCCW clock, no status bar, and a few icons.
    -As for installed apps: All the apps listed above plus a few key games they include, but are not limited to: Dead Trigger, Granny Smith, Asphalt 7, Modern Combat 4, Plants Vs. Zombies, and so forth...
    -Based on that, what combo would you recommend?

    4. Where is the BEST place to get ROMs, I know about XDA but is that the BEST place?

    Last but not least.

    5. Did I bother any of you with this questionnaire?
    -If so, sorry.
    -Ignore me :/

    IF I DIDN'T BOTHER YOU

    -Thank me :]
    -Help me get the answers to all my questions in one easy post :]
    -I would do it all, but I feel as if it will take much longer than just posting this...
    -I am NOT a n00b, I have owned an android phone for over 4 years...
    -Like this post AND HELP ME ANSWER MY QUESTIONS INSTEAD OF HATING ON ME!! :]
     

    Advertisement

    jmar likes this.
  2. jmar

    jmar Nexican
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,850
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    4,850
    3,131
    523
    Male
    Sales
    San Jose, CA
    My answers are in green.

    Great to have you in here. :)

    Let us know if you have any questions down the line. Member support is our specialty. :D

    Regards,

    jmar
     
    D-U-R-X and B4tnam like this.
  3. B4tnam

    B4tnam Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    160
    14
    38
    Male
    College Student, Skateboarder, Singer, Rapper, and
    Adrian, Michigan
    Thank you!
    But my last question is. Say I activate my Net10 Service without first porting my number from Metro, will I still be able to do so? Thats what I meant in my question about it. I should have been more specific.. Like if I already have service on my Metro phone (required, i know) but I ALSO want service on my Nexus with Net10 SIM, will both phones be active until the porting process is complete? Because I would REALLY like to use my N4 ASAP! I also have work the day the phone will arrive. My shift is 4PM to 1AM. So I really cant go to long without a phone (Pregnant fiance, potential future employers, etc) I would prefer to use my Nexus 4 throughout the day rather than my Metro PCS phone... Do you know of any complications that would arise?

    THANKS AGAIN FOR BEING SO HELPFUL!!
    I like this community already :D
     
    jmar likes this.
  4. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    If you activate with Net10, they will give you a number and not give you the option to port. However what I did was port my old Verizon number to Google voice and then get a new number from T-Mobile. That way, no one knows my true mobile number which can change if I decide to carrier hop for a better rate, while everyone can still reach me because Google Voice will forward all calls and texts to my T-Mobile number and they'll never know. The one downside is that G-Voice doesn't support MMS.
     
    B4tnam and jmar like this.
  5. hstroph

    hstroph Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #115
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    675
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012

    Oct 18, 2012
    675
    111
    123
    You can port any number under your authority to your new phone. Be advised that Net10 is a "Mobile Virtual Network Operator" (MVNO) and contracts with actual carriers (AT&T and T-Mobile) to provide service at reduced data-throughput rates. When you purchase your SIM card for the N4, you'll have to decide which one to get for the carrier you want to use.

    Porting takes as long as it takes ... when porting is completed, only the new phone will be active.

    Both the Net10 AT&T and T-Mobile SIMs claim "Unlimited Voice, Text and Data", but since 2013 Mar. 01 AT&T limits data to 1.5GB per 30 days. Better coverage with AT&T, but when I pay cheap for "unlimited" I want unlimited, so I switched to the Net10 T-Mobile SIM.

    Net10, Straight Talk and Tracfone are all MVNO subsidiaries of Tracfone Inc.

    One word -- stock.
     
    jmar likes this.
  6. jmar

    jmar Nexican
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,850
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    4,850
    3,131
    523
    Male
    Sales
    San Jose, CA
    While you may not have the up front option to port, porting a number after the fact is still an option. I do that for customers regularly. And yes, Google Voice is an option in this dance as well.
     
  7. SquirrelNuts

    SquirrelNuts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    222
    44
    43
    Male
    I.T.
    Florida
  8. B4tnam

    B4tnam Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    160
    14
    38
    Male
    College Student, Skateboarder, Singer, Rapper, and
    Adrian, Michigan
    How so I go about doing that? Say later down the road I bought a new SIM card, wood I be able to port the number from Google to Net10?
     
  9. B4tnam

    B4tnam Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    160
    14
    38
    Male
    College Student, Skateboarder, Singer, Rapper, and
    Adrian, Michigan
    I've ran stock on many devices before.
     
  10. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    If Net10 does allow porting after activation, then you will be allowed to port it from Google.
     
  11. B4tnam

    B4tnam Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    160
    14
    38
    Male
    College Student, Skateboarder, Singer, Rapper, and
    Adrian, Michigan
    I would use the T-Mobile SIM card. But sadly, I get NO T-Mo service in my area...
     
  12. B4tnam

    B4tnam Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    160
    14
    38
    Male
    College Student, Skateboarder, Singer, Rapper, and
    Adrian, Michigan
    Okay, so I am running pac_mako-milestone.1.RC1 Pacman. I tried to flash the Matr1x kernel, but when I did, I tried to restart my device and it showed google then went to a black screen with my charging indicator on... Help?
     
  13. Prey521

    Prey521 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    466
    40
    43
    It doesn't support it the way a regular mobile # does, but if someone sends you a pic to your GV #, you get the text portion in GV but the pic is attached in an email. But yes, you can't send pics using the GV app, you can only receive.
     
  14. SquirrelNuts

    SquirrelNuts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    222
    44
    43
    Male
    I.T.
    Florida
    To get into Recovery: Hold down power to shut it off, then hold Power + Volume Up + Volume Down, at same time, until Recovery boots up.
     
  15. B4tnam

    B4tnam Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    160
    14
    38
    Male
    College Student, Skateboarder, Singer, Rapper, and
    Adrian, Michigan
    I fixed it a few seconds after I posted that. Thank you though! :D
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...