1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Okay, I was wrong: Launcher Pro > Blur on D3

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rushmore, Nov 16, 2011.

  1. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    For months I touted Blur on the D3 and attributed the sporadic lag to Android rather than Blur. Wrong times infinity. Launcher Pro takes less memory and has more functional features- plus the lag issues I was running into with the UI are gone.

    Seems like a new device with Launcher Pro.
     

    Advertisement

    doogald likes this.
  2. SpecialEd

    SpecialEd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    90
    2
    16
    Columbia, SC
    Can anyone else confirm this experience on their D3?

    I know my OG Droid was super laggy, but I removed nearly all applications and took pics off the SD and it was snappy again (to let kids play Angry Birds on).

    I have not had too much trouble on my D3, but it might be worth a try...
     
  3. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    It is free, so try it yourself.
     
  4. Coho1

    Coho1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011

    Jul 17, 2011
    27
    1
    16
    I never thought about a launcher until I got sick of Blur's sluggishness. Launcher Pro is a huge improvement in the speed and smoothness of the device.
     
  5. rice

    rice Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    27
    0
    15
    Running steeldroid v3 and BLUR is snappy and works without lag
     
  6. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    Simply using Launcher Pro is an easier and safer option than going through the process of getting Steel on the device.

    Still, nice to have the option :)
     
  7. ardchoille

    ardchoille Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,684
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    3,684
    1,940
    333
    Male
    Ordained Minister
    Seattle
  8. Amaroth

    Amaroth Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    380
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    380
    10
    38
    Hilo, HI
    I too have been using Launcher Pro for a while on my D3, but I still keep getting considerable lag and I am always yelling "COME ON, 'DUAL CORE'!!" when it acts up.
    Mostly when I am in an app and I touch the home icon it will just show me my wallpaper and nothing for like 10 seconds and then when everything finally does pop up it takes another 5 just to start reacting to my gestures...
    I love my D3 but lately its been just as laggy as my previous DX.
    not to rant and hate but after 3 motorola droids i'm kinda over motorola :(
     
  9. McJoshvitt

    McJoshvitt Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    7
    0
    25
    The Village
    I just installed ADW ($0.10 in marketplace) and it also seems snappier, but I notice that Blur is still running in the background. Is there anyway to keep it from running in the background too?
     

Share This Page

Loading...