1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Okay. Im freakin tired of this.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ryanbconn, Oct 9, 2011.

  1. ryanbconn

    ryanbconn Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    25
    4
    16
    I cant install clockworkmod 3.0.2.4 to save my life. I do everything all these forums are saying and nothing works. I have no clue what im doing wrong.
     

    Advertisement

  2. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    Check out some recent posts from "Shinyside" here in the ASCEND forum.He gave steps on how to do this using the phone only,no computer needed.
     
  3. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    This is the way I flash 3.0.2.8 Put the recovery.img (rename it to recovery.img if its not just to make it easy) on the root of your sd and Open up the Terminal Emulator and type in:

    su (hit enter)
    flash_image recovery /sdcard/ recovery.img (Hit enter)
    exit (eneter)

    Hit your back button to exit out of the Terminal Emulator. And you are done.Reboot into recovery to just double check it flashed.

    Or I learned this way after I did it the other way from PG

    Install ROM Manager from the market and open it up.
    Press Flash ClockworkMod Recovery
    Pick any of the listed recoveries
    Wait til it finishes downloading
    In a file explorer navigate to clockworkmod/dowload/download.clockworkmod.com/recoveries/
    Rename the recovery you just downloaded and add .bak to it.
    Now rename the recovery.img you wish to install to the name of the recovery you just downloaded exactly. (- the .bak )
    Go back to the main menu
    Press Flash ClockworkMod Recovery again and select the exact same one from the list again. Since its already been downloaded it will just flash it now.
    When its finished it will pop a notice up.
    Now with this method the version # will be of the other device's recovery but wont affect any functions.
     
    MommysDroid and Scur like this.
  4. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    I'm linking this to the downloads sticky.
     
  5. Can0dope

    Can0dope Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    511
    112
    93
    Hospitality
    Phoenix, AZ
    Tried this method, and got "flash_image: not found" as a result...

    Gonna try the other method now...

    This is a no go also... After I flash Recovery in ROM Manager, there is no "clockworkmod/dowload/download.clockworkmod.com/recoveries/", just "clockworkmod/download", which only has 2 files in it: "-2110140792" and "611006109"

    I just can't win... :-/

    Update: Just for shits and giggles... I tried to follow these steps with the 2 files listed above, renaming the original 2 by adding .bak, and renaming the recovery.img what they were named, without the .bak. Still no luck, it says successfully flashed CWM, but when I try to boot into recovery, it just gets stuck at the Huawei screen... If anyone cares to chime in with advise, I won't get mad. ;)
     
  6. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    So are you simply trying to get CWM on your phone, or are you trying to do it without a computer to see if you can? I know you must know how to do it the old fashioned way that Tokenpoke says to, you've been around here too long. :)
     
  7. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    The TE works for me everytime.


    Dont flash the one you download from RM. Just download it and it will put that directory in the cw folder and replace the one you have with the one it downloaded. If you already have a cwr folder rename it to something else so it makes a new one. Then download and replace then flash it in rm
     
  8. Can0dope

    Can0dope Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    511
    112
    93
    Hospitality
    Phoenix, AZ
    I'm trying to get 3.0.2.8 on my phone. I recently had to flash back to stock, and in doing so, noticed that now my SD card is only registering as 13gb, instead of 16. And I can't even access the sd-ext via my computer now... I've read that 3.0.2.8 can read sd-ext and am hoping that will solve my problem.

    Also, on a side note... The old fashioned way doesn't work for me anymore either, my only option that is working is via RM.

    Tried that, and still ends up making the same folders with the same files... I'll try it again though...
     
  9. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Can0dope and KOLIO like this.
  10. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
  11. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    All the CWM dls in the handy downloads sticky are with the fastboot files, maybe I'll note it there or differentiate it or something.
     
  12. Can0dope

    Can0dope Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    511
    112
    93
    Hospitality
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ok. First of all, thank you all (particularly Shinyside) for being patient and helping me through this. I was finally able to install CWM3.0.2.8, all I had to do was use a Windows computer... I had tried every method under the sun over and over again, to no avail. Then I got the bright idea to try the fastboot method on a different computer, being at work, I had several computers to choose from. I loaded the files onto a flash drive, then moved them to the computer of choice, booted into fastboot, plugged in, ran the scripts... DONE. :D

    So I'm not sure if it's just my Linux machine that is the problem, or the Linux scripts, or what else it might be. I'm just happy this is over with, and now I can move on to getting CM7 back on my phone. Stock is terrible.
     
  13. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    lol Indeed it is.
     
    Can0dope likes this.
  14. jrennie

    jrennie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    12
    1
    16
    Software Engineer
    Boston, MA
    I got the same error as Can0dope: "flash_image: not found". My $PATH includes /data/local/bin, /sbin, /system/sbin, /system/bin, /system/xbin. Is "flash_image" a binary or a shell builtin? If binary, could it be hiding in another dir? Is there an alternative way to flash from the phone? The fastboot method hasn't worked for me either...

    Any ideas appreciated!
     
  15. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    what are you trying to do, and also if you are trying to install cwm 3.0.2.8 you can use the pc to install it with the phone hooked up to the pc in fastboot mode.
     
  16. JBAndroid

    JBAndroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012

    Jan 30, 2012
    16
    1
    16
    Housewife
    Altamonte Springs, Fl
    I am receiving the same errors/issues as others above. I know the computer option is there however I have no access to a computer. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. I have 5.0.2.8, however have read that 3.0.2.8 is best for installing cm7, so that's what I'm trying to get installed. Thanks in advance.
     
  17. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    Look up posts by SHINY SIDE,he has a method of flashing recoveries w/o a computer.
     
  18. JBAndroid

    JBAndroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012

    Jan 30, 2012
    16
    1
    16
    Housewife
    Altamonte Springs, Fl
    If I'm not mistaken, this is the thread that contains posts by shiny side about doing w/o a computer, which is why I added my post because I like a few others above have had no success with those methods. I was hoping someone might have another method figured out..

    Of course I do have 5.0.2.8 successfully installed, and at this point am thinking about just using that to get cm7 on my phone, just wanted to get 3.0.2.8 because I've read it's recommended..
     
  19. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    Click on SHINY SIDE'S avatar,then,search all his posts.Or,use the search feature located at the top right section of the desktop version of the forum.
     
  20. Can0dope

    Can0dope Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    511
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    511
    112
    93
    Hospitality
    Phoenix, AZ
    I don't think that's the problem... It seems the commands do not work for some of us. Specifically the "flash image" command. This is the same problem I had. Fortunately for me, I had several computers available, and was able to flash CWM that way (just had to use a computer that hadn't been used for that purpose before). Unfortunately however, that doesn't help those who don't have access to a computer at all... :-\
     
  21. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    My apologies,my misunderstanding the problem.

    Believe me,I do empathize w/those who do not have access to a computer.
    If it weren't for Z4 ROOT,ROM MANAGER,& lots of help from everyone here,I'd slammed my ASCEND into the wall so hard it'd still be stuck in the drywall,& a 2X4 wall stud if it hit it.

    Some may not like ROM MANAGER,or,just prefer to use their desktop for ROMS,etc.,but,as I was w/o a computer when I arrived here w/my ASCEND,ROM MANAGER was a life saver.

    I eventually got a laptop & flashed CWM 3.0.2.8 w/it & never had the need to try SHINY SIDE'S method of flashing a recovery w/o a computer.
    I just didn't realize that,for whatever reason,it doesn't work for all ASCENDS.

    Another weird quirk of this phone,among many. ;)
     
    Can0dope likes this.
  22. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    So I just dug out my Ascend and was using it between phones, and was trying out the whole flash_image (new computer isn't liking my Ascend) and found that I didn't have the flash_image command on stock. Installing busybox now since I can't get ROM Manager on my stock Ascend (anymore? can't remember...)

    edit: Oops, not there. But, found it in an xda thread...

    edit #2: The flash_image in the download link there doesn't work, but I pulled it from CM7.2-0728 /system/bin. That one worked fine with the instructions on the xda page. So, new link below so the computer impaired can get it.

    So, the correct steps to install ClockworkMod 3.0.2.8, with nothing but your trusty rooted stock Ascend (with WiFi or data and a charged battery of course) are as follows...

    • install a terminal emulator from the play store if you haven't got one yet
    • download the flash_image file, stick it in your sdcard's root dir (/sdcard) to keep it simple
    • do the same with the recovery.img file
    • open your terminal emulator and type these commands

    • power down your phone
    • reboot into recovery (call button + vol up + power, remember?)

    Now I know that this is late to the game, but I was genuinely surprised this hadn't been spelled out yet, at least not for the Ascend with the correct files to work.
     
    Gmash likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...