• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Okay! Tired of waiting.

bloatedcow

Jul 20, 2010
Here's the deal:

I've read several ways of rooting, but there are certain words that I don't get such as: ROM, Goldcard, etc.

I'm a noob, not just a noob, but a very stupid noob. I found the one-click unrevoked rooting thing, and I want to try it.

I ask of you guys is to give me step-by-step instruction, that is so simple in words and in instructions, that even a 10 year old can understand it.

I've been jealous with the people that have Froyo on their Desires. I want to try it.

Questions:
1. Can I unroot it after I root it? (I can go back to the generic Desire)
2. Any precautionary measures that I should be aware of?
3. Does the hype in Rooting, really worth the time?

Note: I'm using a MacBook. I don't have any knowledge regarding computer stuffs, so please keep it simple.

Thank you so much to those who will reply, you've helped a helpless individual.

Here's the deal:

I've read several ways of rooting, but there are certain words that I don't get such as: ROM, Goldcard, etc.

I'm a noob, not just a noob, but a very stupid noob. I found the one-click unrevoked rooting thing, and I want to try it.

I ask of you guys is to give me step-by-step instruction, that is so simple in words and in instructions, that even a 10 year old can understand it.

I've been jealous with the people that have Froyo on their Desires. I want to try it.

Questions:
1. Can I unroot it after I root it? (I can go back to the generic Desire)
2. Any precautionary measures that I should be aware of?
3. Does the hype in Rooting, really worth the time?

Note: I'm using a MacBook. I don't have any knowledge regarding computer stuffs, so please keep it simple.

Thank you so much to those who will reply, you've helped a helpless individual.

The actual guide that is written here is probably as simple as it can be written.