• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Old PALM user needs assistance

CABGx3

Lurker
Mar 28, 2012
Hi All.....
I've been a Palm PDA user for years and have just recently read about the Samsung Galaxy Player 4.0. Very interesting........seems to do all my old PDA's would do (more or less), plus has the Wifi. Does anyone know if my old Palm PDA Calender data can be ported over to the SGP4.0? Complete Android NOOB here so any guidance would be appreciated.

Vaya con Dios,
Chuck, CABGx3

[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]Hi CABGx3! Yes you can migrate your data. I went through this recently after my TX crapped out. I actually looked into getting my TX fixed until I discovered the Galaxy Player.[/FONT]

[FONT=Arial, sans-serif]I was a long time Palm user, since the original Palm Pilot in 1996, recently ending with a TX. I initially used the Palm Desktop 6.2 and used CompanionLink to sync when I first bought my Galaxy Player 5.0. CompanionLink was the only means I found to work with Palm Desktop They have a 14 day trial if you decide to try it. It's $50 if you like it. It requires DejaOffice to use on the SGP5. It worked well for me with no noticeable data loss. I sync my SGP5 to my Desktop and choose not to use the “cloud”. I played with it for quite a while experimenting with it to learn it's quirks before I did the first sync. It's a lot different than the Palm synchronization days. Without going into a lot of detail, I learned that Android OS has a lot of neat options including integrating gmail, there gCalendar, etc. if you want to, and syncs contacts to the web if set it up that way. I choose to sync PC to device, and it has worked well once I learned how to set everything up. DejaOffice web site is pretty good at teaching the basics, with lots of useful videos and step by step tutorials. I'd suggest checking it out on their web site and others before you decide.[/FONT]