1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root omnirom new ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Scorpion7867, Dec 27, 2013.

  1. Scorpion7867

    Scorpion7867 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    135
    20
    38
    Don't know if I can link to it from here, but Google it. So far its snaper than cm11, at least for me.... Also its a nightly and I find it more stable than cm11 nightlys.
     

    Advertisement

    funkylogik likes this.
  2. Scorpion7867

    Scorpion7867 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    135
    20
    38
    Go to xda for info on installing
     
    argedion likes this.
  3. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    I ran it on my s3. Its nice and snappy but a bit buggy and very bare still (on the s3) plus no theme engine. Couple of top name devs behind it though :thumbup:
     
  4. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,294
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    You are a member of the site with over a hundred post you may link :) Generally we want you to have about 25 it think it is before we allow links.

    I'll have to check this ROM out though.
     
    Scorpion7867 and funkylogik like this.
  5. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Think Chainfire and the dev behind the Focal app are heavily involved in it mate so it definately shows promise as an alternative to CM :thumbup:
     
    Scorpion7867 likes this.
  6. fullbloodedmut

    fullbloodedmut Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    516
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    516
    119
    103
    Male
    pro-bono 2nd hand at home i.t
    Florida
    well i was trying to install cm installer with computer and nexus and twice ive got hung up where it states to check everything,then i do it and it leaves my nexus with the blue man stuck on screen,and cant hold volume button,power to get to recovery screen,or any of it,,i was lucky once and wugs got me out of it but this time no adb,or fastboot could be found,but this morning i finally got it,but back to this rom u mention,i used cm because barnacle would allow tethering with my fone n tablet,no other apps would work,do you know if barnacle will work,and a quick question,does the kernel have anything todo with tethering? right now i had to start alover and im on 4.4.2 android version rooted,i was wondering if i flashed a diff kernel would itmaks diff in tethering,as of now stock rooted i cant? sorry so long of a post :thinking:
     
  7. Scorpion7867

    Scorpion7867 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    135
    20
    38
    I have a LG motion that I use tether the Wi-Fi to my N7....This room works fine for me... I don't think the kernel has anything to do with tethering... but I'm no room builder either...
     
  8. jlede

    jlede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012

    Jul 11, 2012
    905
    84
    78
    Male
    N/A
    Bardwell,Texas
    Only thing that kills it for me no native root
     
  9. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Isnt root in dev options?
     
  10. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,909
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,909
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    If not, Just flash the SU files after you flash the ROM ;)
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  11. Scorpion7867

    Scorpion7867 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    135
    20
    38
    Yes you have to flash su binary after install... and update....it's a bit of a pain... maybe I'll ask them to include su like cm11....
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  12. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,909
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,909
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    You should only need to do that for the first flash though right?. After that you can just update using their delta system
     
  13. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    I think you have to put the superSU zip into that folder (cant remember its name) where you put any mods that you want to use so that they get flashed with each update.
    Think i read an easier way though.. something about telling supersu to protect itself or something(?)
     
  14. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,909
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,909
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    If you guys are currently running this ROM, have you tried updating via the delta system?

    The reason you have to flash SU each time is because system gets wiped when you flash a ROM. If you update using their delta system for OTA updates it won't wipe system. It will only download and flash the pieces of the ROM that have changed (which greatly decreases download size as well)

    Simply go into your "about phone" settings and check for a system update
     
  15. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Yeah the system is really cool. Its like getting a normal update. When i used it though there was a folder where you had to put the su zip so that it got included in the update. Sounds like thats changed though :)
    Do they have a theme engine yet? And does Xposed work?
    cheers :beer:
     
  16. Scorpion7867

    Scorpion7867 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    135
    20
    38
    Yeah that's how I update it, unlike cm11 though it formats the /system partition...
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  17. Scorpion7867

    Scorpion7867 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Jan 26, 2011
    135
    20
    38
    I just left a thread over on xda asking to include su as in CM11. Wait a and see.....
     

Share This Page

Loading...