1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support On screen keyborad?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by leadbyxampl, Sep 24, 2008.

  1. leadbyxampl

    leadbyxampl Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008

    Sep 24, 2008
    2
    0
    5
    I noticed in all the demos and pics, no on screen software keyboard. Is that for real?

    Also I noticed that the screen does not rotate automatically when held sideways view, unless the hardware keyboard is exposed...

    I cant believe these simple things were missed considering the Iphone and others have been around with some good examples of that.
     

    Advertisement

  2. DreamcastDC

    DreamcastDC Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008

    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    0
    15
    The G1 does have a Accelerometer, but I dont think the Android OS itself doesn't support it yet, but I did see a video of the third party video player that support it, and Pacman support it also. And as for the touch screen software keyboard, Android OS probably doesn't support it yet.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8mxm7IJC76U
     
  3. JedEye

    JedEye Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008

    Sep 22, 2008
    36
    0
    35
    Good first step. It looks a bit slow though.
     
  4. N3TWORK BURN3R

    N3TWORK BURN3R Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    554
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008

    Sep 24, 2008
    554
    7
    61
    Graphic Design/Help Desk
    Long Beach, CA
    The Android OS does support it, but its being held back due to copyright (apple multi touch) problems. Im sure once it gets sorted out, it will be included in some kind of update.
     
  5. McHale

    McHale Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008

    Jul 4, 2008
    7
    2
    6
    BFE Illinois
    There's one in the SDK. I have it installed at work and can post a pic of it tomorrow if you're curious to what it looks like. But there is one there...

    EDIT: This is the keyboard in the SDK.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. leadbyxampl

    leadbyxampl Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008

    Sep 24, 2008
    2
    0
    5
    thanks. just unfortunate that it was not included... i hope the future is better for the next round of devices
     
  7. Golden

    Golden Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008

    Sep 30, 2008
    6
    0
    5
    Anyone know if the G1 will support the use of a stylus. I know it does not come with one. Thanks
     
  8. OrganizedFellow

    OrganizedFellow Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008

    Aug 18, 2008
    130
    0
    35
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...