1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root One Click Lagfix. Wow.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NZtechfreak, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,825
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    1,825
    763
    213
    Medical Doctor
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Here is the reason you want to Root your Galaxy S. I was just starting to tire of the slow downs, even though none of them on their own were showstoppers, when I decided to give this a go.

    My quandrant benchmark went from 844 to 2099, and even better than the amazing benchmarks is the actual increase in operating speed. Seriously flies now. So easy to apply this fix I can think of no reason to put it off any longer.
     

    Advertisement

    arno1002, Saesan, _wolf_ and 23 others like this.
  2. stockfeed

    stockfeed Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010

    Feb 20, 2010
    24
    2
    16
    somewhere in that rather large thread (more towards the end) is an update.zip file someone has compiled to run at recovery as you would a custom rom, so, its very easy to do now.
    edit: post 370 something i think from memory.. not going to read the whole thing again
     
  3. adambrooks015

    adambrooks015 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I got 2250 after this. Amazing speed from the phone its unbelievable.
     
  4. bobtodd

    bobtodd Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    40
    6
    16
    Just done the same thing using the update.zip technique which now comes with superuser built in.

    2125. The phone's like greased bloody lightning now. Amazing
     
  5. Josh1a1h

    Josh1a1h Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    38
    0
    15
    so this fix really works in solving all the lagging issues? i just had a skim over the instructions... is there anything that could go seriously wrong if implemented incorrectly?
     
  6. dekela

    dekela Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    9
    2
    26
    OMG!!! Finally!!!
    Got 2233 on the benchmark results!!!
     
  7. bobtodd

    bobtodd Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    40
    6
    16
    Things could always go wrong, I suppose. Make sure you've got a backup and you know how to flash your phone should you need to. There are instructions on the thread at the top.

    I can only speak from personal experience, of course, but following the instructions on post #417 in that thread worked perfectly for me.

    My phone wasn't really all that bad - the occasional lag, which seemed no worse that what I'd previously experienced on my Blackberry and iPod touch. But following the lag fix it's a completely different experience.
     
    swamprat96 likes this.
  8. Josh1a1h

    Josh1a1h Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    38
    0
    15
    this fix sounds amazing... im going to read into it properly before attempting it. Rooting the phone is compulsory in order to do this lag fix right? i didnt want to root, but if necessary then ill go for it
     
  9. bobtodd

    bobtodd Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    40
    6
    16
    Yes, you need to root. However, if you use the new update.zip posted in the latter pages of that thread, the entire rooting process is done automatically. All you then have to do is run the script on your phone and you're done.
     
  10. Josh1a1h

    Josh1a1h Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    38
    0
    15
    nice1 thanks a lot... when i get home ill read through it and hopefully ill be running silky smooth tonight :)
    appreciated!
     
  11. stockfeed

    stockfeed Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010

    Feb 20, 2010
    24
    2
    16
    There is an issue with the file system that the fix uses, ext2, it is apparently prone to data loss, so if your phone shuts down unexpectedly, or you yank the battery out, you might run into some problems. theres a heap of info on it in that thread nztechfreak linked in his 1st post.
     
    NZtechfreak likes this.
  12. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,825
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    1,825
    763
    213
    Medical Doctor
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Overall I think its pretty safe, but like all the fixes comes with some smallprint risks.
     
    morts52 likes this.
  13. Bearly

    Bearly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    1,011
    78
    128
    Will this work on the Vibrant? I know they are technically the same phone, but I'm worried about it being a slightly different software stack since the carrier is different.

    I'd like to do this for my girlfriend who is complaining about lag.
     
  14. daveleather

    daveleather Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    49
    3
    16
    This has transformed my Galaxy S. It feels so much more responsive and there is zero lag! I was getting a bit fed up with blank black screens, slow apps .. all those problems have disappeared. :)
     
  15. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,825
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    1,825
    763
    213
    Medical Doctor
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Great!

    ...there is this little thing called the Thanks button daveleather...
     
  16. daveleather

    daveleather Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    49
    3
    16
    Thanked, but not for the patronising 'tone' of your reply. ;)
     
    Pantaleao and NZtechfreak like this.
  17. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,825
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    1,825
    763
    213
    Medical Doctor
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Sorry daveleather, just trying to get people actually showing a little community spirit here :)
     
  18. swamprat96

    swamprat96 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    44
    8
    16
    I tried to run glockyboots method on the original Optus jg3. The script started to run then the screen went blank. Left it for 10 minutes- frozen. Had to reload generic JG3 firmware

    Phone is now up and running and I tried again. However the superuser.app is not installed even though I used the beta update.zip

    Now I've read you can't use both methods. I'm wondering can I uninstall the stuff that update.zip has done?

    EDIT: reformatted and started again. Used this method and working fine now
     
  19. ndame09

    ndame09 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    6
    2
    6
  20. mohnishism

    mohnishism Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    69
    0
    15
    wen i removed dis fix..my fone literally became the slowest fone in da world..plus all my data is gone now...thanks god i had backed up my files..
    it does seem to have its disadvantages...
     
  21. mohnishism

    mohnishism Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    69
    0
    15
    restarted da fone its workin fine now...but it did scare me..
     
  22. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,825
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010

    Apr 23, 2010
    1,825
    763
    213
    Medical Doctor
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Good point, I would always recommend getting clockworkmod recovery on there and a nandroid backup :)
     
  23. Bearly

    Bearly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    1,011
    78
    128
    Will the one-click root method and the lag fix work on a Vibrant?

    I know they are the same phones, but hoping the same root method can be used and then the lag fix applied.

    Someone please let me know.
     
  24. mohnishism

    mohnishism Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    69
    0
    15
    i think dis fix is a bit overrated...all my games nd apps r openin in the jg4 firmware without the fix almos at the same rate as dey were wid da fix inthe jm2......cnt realy c da diff...
     
  25. gerberman

    gerberman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    112
    9
    56
    Body Armour maker
    UK
    mi datr rites lik dat whn she txts
     
    Sulfur, Pantaleao, stockfeed and 2 others like this.

Share This Page

Loading...